We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the CSM for three weeks in March of this year. This was our fourth year at the hotel and can honestly say that the CSM is about the best you can get for location (2 minute walk to the beach) and cleanliness & service. We stayed in block 13 this year and the room was excellent, cleaned every day, clean sheets every day and plenty of tea, coffee & toiletries replenished every day.
I would like to say a thank you to Vijay the manager who helped to make our stay at the hotel perfect.
We have booked to go Goa again in December this year and will be staying at the CSM again.
we have noticed a few people saying that the food in the restaurant was a little bit over priced and not up to standard, well all I can say is that they must have being staying in a different CSM because on each occasion we ate there the food was of the highest standard and reasonably priced as well.
As for the breakfast, this was again excellent (Buffet style) plenty of it both Goan & European and plenty of it!
Especially when you factor in that you get a voucher for three meals a week during your stay here per person.
We ate out a lot and would recommend "Under The Stars" & "Fire & Ice"
If you're travelling with a tour operator don't bother with there trips out, just tell the taxi driver where you want to go and see and it will cost you a fraction of the tour operators charges.
We used Vinney (On the corner next to Pinto's bar as our taxi driver) and found him to be excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are very large & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davetheplumber59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Dave,
It w was a pleasure to welcome you back at your home away from home - Colonia Santa Maria.
Team CSM is most grateful to you for your Review that goes a long way to boost our morale that we have been to serve our guests properly. We look forward to your visit during December and assure you of our very best efforts.
Best regardss
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 740 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fantastic location , awesome staff and great food. A perfect holiday. Situated right at baga beach and stones throw distance from Titos lane. This place is a marvel. The architecture is simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AjaySingh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Ajay ji,
It is so pleasing to read your review which goes a long way in encouraging Team CSM to continue to do it's best to make our honoured guests comfortable and relaxed during their stay with us. Yes, indeed Colonia Santa Maria is built on classic Portuguese architecture style and the architect was no less a person than Mr. Mario Miranda. We wil indeed look forwards to the pleasure of serving you again hopefully in the not too distant a future and in the meanwhile look forward to receiving your other friends.
Assuring you of our best services
Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just come back from a holiday in CSM and must say how everyone: receptionist, restaurant staff and rooms were all excellent. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Also- the lovely new swimming pool (the pool boy was very helpful and worked very hard-- despite our language barrier he made all the effort to enhance our stay) and lovely beds and clean towels everyday helped to make our stay comfortable. We will definitely return to this hotel again, in fact, we have already booked our next holiday! Looking forward to going back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

It is so pleasing for the team CSM to read that you enjoyed your holiday and stay with us. At Colonia Santa Maria, we try and make all out effort as a team to ensure that our valued guests who come from far off places, enjoy their stay and return home fully relaxed and rejuvenated. It will indeed be our honour and pleasure to serve you again when you return for your next holiday with us.

Best regards
Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The C.S.M had been recommended by a family member so we decided to book.We were not disappointed.The properties were lovely,the staff were helpful and friendly and the general feel of the place was relaxing but fun.We were three ladies on our own and we never felt intimidated or concerned.The beach was so alive with traders and the shacks were the most amazing places to eat.We have already booked to return next year and cant wait.People have to remember not to judge their experience against what they are used to in the U.K.This is India and if you embrace the cultural differences you will have an amazing time at the C.S.M just as we did.Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking a pleasant garden.The room was very large and the bathroom was equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Pauline,
It is so pleasing for the Team CSM to read that you all were satisfied with your stay at Colonia Santa Maria and are planning to be with us next year. Thank you. It is our motto and effort to that our guests who give us the honour of service come from across continents go back home fully relaxed and rejuvenated after their holiday.
Wishing you a great summer in the UK
Sanjay Kalungatker
General MNager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

the cottages here are osum i love the location very close to the beach the rooms are very clean and food is okayy the stay here was very osum i stayed here with my family the check-in, check-out was fast!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhathc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Sir,
It is so gratifying for the team CSM that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria, that we call Goan Haven on Baga beach. May I thank you for taking your precious time in writing the review. We look forward to the pleaure of serving you again, I hope in the not too distant a future.
Best regards
Sanjay Kalugaker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have not expected a hotel property to be so big, clean and so close to beach at Baga beach, which is one of the most crowded beach in Goa. We were like 6 people and were overwhelmed with the rooms, pool and overall ambience. Only thing that requires attention is the humility of the waiters, which is a bit low and they are not that warm as u expect in such a nice place. But overall total positive recommendation to anyone who wants to visit Baga to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankit_KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Sir,
It was our honour and pleasure to host and serve you and your friends during you stay with us. I am so grateful to you for encouraging team CSM with your Review. I wish you had pointed out to me the issue of the waiters while you were here. I appreciate and thank you for letting us know now. At Colonia Santa Maria , it is out effort to ensure that our guests go back thoroughly relaxed and rejuvenated after their holiday and stay with us.
Best regards
Sanjay Kalugatker
Genl. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

fantastic location,lazy mananger and staff was not upto the mark,pathetic wifi connectivity,pool table chargeble for in house guest sounds like quite funny,limited quality of food in breakfast..better to find different option in this price..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shekhar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSMGoa, Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Mr.Shekhar,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Our dometic guests enjoy their stay with us as much as any one coming from foreign lands. They all enjoy the ambience of Colonia Santa Maruia Resort a unique Colonial style Portuguese layout with villas surrounded by gardens. Our complimentaty breakfast has a wide choice with facility to guests to order any special dietary requirement.
As for nominal charge on the pool table, it has to be done, to keep amateurs and non players away who can damage the table.
Assuring you of our best services always,
Sanjay Kalungatker
Genl. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
3.2 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Address: Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
#2 Spa Hotel in Baga
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baga
Price Range: $101 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Beach Resort, also known as CSM Hotel or CSM Beach resort, is the premier Four Star resort on Baga beach of Calangute. The silver sand Baga beach is rightly touching the property. You do not have to go onto the main beach itself for the sun deck of the hotel is the rising green dune from where you get magnificent view of the Arabian sea and sun bathe without being hassled by the vendors on the beach. Our sea facing rooms and suites give you magnificent views from your balcony. The resort spread over four acres of spacious gardens is built in Portuguese style villas, each having six suites/rooms. Main beach is just couple of minutes walk even from the farthest room from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Santa Maria Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Goa
Colonia Santa Maria Baga Beach
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing