We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took a Beach Front Deluxe Suite (top left); absolutely well thought and well maintained property you can find, 2 mid size pool and great restaurant ambiance.
Had very small tiny balcony, the waves we visible though.
Room was small to medium sized (for the price).
Decent bathroom with Orange fragrant toiletries - that i liked (which they refill in 3 days only).
Reception decorated my room with rose petals and made heart with the towels.
Reception staff were helpful and great but a sub standard house keeping service - example i asked for towel change but they don't do that instead used the same wet beach-sandy towel for making decoration on the bed which was a TURN OFF.
Very average breakfast buffet (which was included in our package)
Overall -- CSM has amazing beautiful location - that's all they have :(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    281
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
167
310
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

SCM is on baga beach, right amidst the busiest road in goa. YET, it's hidden away from the madness... Retains an old world charm. Clean, green... Kid friendly... Food was so-so, but with hundreds if good eating joints around, that's never a bother...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarrfess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here in Feb this year for two weeks. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were great , cleaned every day and towels replaced every day too. And we would come back to lovely towel art everyday. The food at the hotel was 5 star and a wide variety , and entertainment was provided 3-4 times over the week. This hotel is right on Baga beach , so ideal location for the beach lover , also a very clean well maintained pool with plenty of sun beds round the pool. Also close to restaurants and the local shops, the Sat night market is about 20 mins in a taxi and other markets in close proximity

A totally relaxing enjoyable break , the boys at the beach shack are on hand for your every need, and cannot do enough for you. They do become a bit annoying with the selling tactics, but you just need to be firm in telling them you do not want to buy, I did however buy quite a bit of lovely souvenirs to bring home with me.

Thoroughly enjoyed my two weeks here at the CSM and will be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went during the monsoons. A beautiful property. Full of small villas, each housing 4 rooms. We stayed in the last villa, where we got a direct view of the sea from our balcony.
A 15 minute walk on the beach to Brittos, 15 mins to Infantaria. Yet once in the hotel, all you can hear is the sea.
I was a bit concerned about the negative reviews at trip advisor but we went ahead anyways.
We had a really good experience. Rooms were spic and span. The Air Con was perfect. Spacious rooms.
Breakfast was disappointing, with an Indian dish and 1 egg preparation with toast available. Perhaps during season time they have a more lavish breakfast.
Service was prompt. Food ordered was good. The room service charge per order was a bit
a bit irritating.
They have a nice Kerala ayurvedic spa, which is very nice. Prices charged there are similar to centres on rest of Baga.
The staff was very courteous and polite, be it the room service or at the reception. There was a security guard near the beach, who would come running to open the gate of our villa be it day or night.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room. If with kids, stay in a villa near the pool. if not, stay closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great Location on Baga Beach. Unfortunately, service standards were very poor, everything was a problem for the staff, and the answer was No for any request, breakfast was very limited consisting of cornflakes, white bread, scramble eggs or an omelette with one indian option. We were told the kettle was only available in the room during season time, also there is a full breakfast service only during season time. The pool was not very clean. All in all, the location is great, but the hotel and the staff seriously need to take some lessons in guest relations and service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpa2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

For the price you are getting a good spot. If you want to be close to the beach, you are literally on the beach! This was the best part. The breakfast isn't bad at all. We had a selection of cereal, toasts, Indian curries, bread, omelets and plenty of tea and coffee. The rooms were fairly nice and well cleaned. The rooms also have AC which seems to be rare in India. We went during June, so it was the off season. We didn't mind, the beaches were fine, a bit of rain and no tourists. We rented scooters right from the hotel, it was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonedeff500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had booked this hotel based on ONLINE reviews. Trust me it didn't disappointed us. CSM as it famously known is a landmark in itself right from taxi driver at airport to scooter hire guys all know abt it. It is one of the oldest properties around and that's also the only sour point , CSM seriously need renovation and upgrade. But the location is to die for as it is bang on the beach, very close to night life goa (tito's, britto's, baga market is walking distance...anjuna and arpora Saturday nite market a scooter ride away). Despite being so close to busy district of baga it is still away from hustle and bustle...pretty peaceful. Staff is helpful and service standards are above average...overall Paisa Wasool ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#6 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
2.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Property: Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Address: Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baga
#2 Spa Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Beach Resort, also known as CSM Hotel or CSM Beach resort, is the premier Four Star resort on Baga beach of Calangute. The silver sand Baga beach is rightly touching the property. You do not have to go onto the main beach itself for the sun deck of the hotel is the rising green dune from where you get magnificent view of the Arabian sea and sun bathe without being hassled by the vendors on the beach. Our sea facing rooms and suites give you magnificent views from your balcony. The resort spread over four acres of spacious gardens is built in Portuguese style villas, each having six suites/rooms. Main beach is just couple of minutes walk even from the farthest room from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Santa Maria Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Baga Beach
Colonia Santa Maria Goa
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing