We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franks Open Air Restaurant

Ranked #55 of 105 Restaurants in Baga
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Goa and again visited Franks on a few occasions and had fantastic meals with fantastic service. It's in beautiful surroundings, what a great restaurant. Never once have had a bad meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellie-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Frank needs to change the name to get more reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am amazed that there are so few reviews for this restaurant. The simple reason is that Frank's business card shows a different spelling (with an apostrophe) and the address is shown as Calangute, although it is definitely closer to Baga. It took me three goes to find the restaurant on Trip Adviser.
It is not easy to find. I used to turn down a lane opposite the Subway restaurant but the Subway has since closed. After about 200 yards down the lane, look out for parked busses. There is a narrow lane with a hessian carpet down the middle on the right that leads down to the restaurant which is in a tropical garden.
I always have at least one meal at Frank's when I visit Goa. The food is fantastic. The best steak I have eaten in Goa. If there are two of you, go for the Chateau Briand which is outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrandyCoveRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent Food. I enjoyed the fillet steaks. Prepared how you want it. Lovely sauces.Tried various seafood dishes, out of this world. Also great for breakfast. Lovely staff all very friendly. More than the value you pay. Frank and Sima are great hosts and that's why one goes back. They also own the Big Banana Beach Shack.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_in_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My partner heard such great reviews on this restaurant that we decided to pay a visit so glad we did. Franks is tucked away in beautiful surroundings. The service was absolutely fantastic as was the food, great choice as well as daily specials and very very reasonable. The restaurant is spotless. We also met Frank on one of the nights we visited (we ate here a lot In the 2 weeks as we enjoyed it so much) what a lovey man. I would definitely recommend a visit here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franks Open Air Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Franks Open Air Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing