We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's moved”
Review of J&A's Little Italy

J&A's Little Italy
Ranked #14 of 134 Restaurants in Baga
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the tranquil Arpora-Baga creek road, J&A's Little Italy has built up a formidable reputation for producing quality Italian cuisine day after day, year after year, since 1995. A one hundred and forty year old fisherman's cottage, restored and set under coconut palms in a beautiful tropical garden. A well-stocked bar with imported and Indian spirits and wines, J&A's is the perfect setting for a romantic evening out with your partner or a fabulous evening out with a bunch of friends. This is after all, the first specialty cuisine restaurant to have opened up in Goa. Listed in the Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Footprint Guide and other European guides, J&A's has bagged the best Italian Restaurant North Goa Award by the Times Good Food Guide, Food Awards , three years running.
Reviewed February 12, 2015

This was a great little place down by Baga creek but it's moved and i don't know where too.Nothing more to say, it was one of the best about.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank goofey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 152 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2014

The ambience, the service & most impoetantly the food was terrific! High standards & authentic italian cuisine. Wine selection is top notch. Location is an added benefit, we were lucky enough to have very pleasant weather. Valentines day was made very special, with live music & extra details like the rose for every lady!! Loved it & will keep going back for more.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank NilambariK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2014

Was one of the best restaurants in the Baga district, but appears to have closed down. Visited a couple of times between 1st - 14th December, but no signs of life.

Date of visit: December 2014
3  Thank daveww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsbmad, Owner at J&A's Little Italy, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

Hi there. In my opening line to you I would like to say that J&A's hasn't closed down. We've been around for twenty years (this year) and it's time for a change. A time to couple a new venture with the restaurant this year and evolve it into something better and more exciting. And what might that be? .....you may ask! And all I'm going to say is .....surprise!!
So yes, even though we are closed through the season this year, we will reopen after renovation in about six months. After which, we will be open through the year for twelve months serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. I look forward to seeing you in the coming year, at the same venue.
J&A's will still live on and we will not disappoint you. That's a promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014

Had visited in Mar 2014. Setting is great - by the Baga river. The restaurant has limited choices especially vegetarian. It is overpriced and for the rates they charge, food is average.
They have live music on one of the days and then its good to hang out.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank SlvrFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014

I was invited by a couple of British friends to have a meal at this restaurant so off we went, they said it was the best Italian food they'd ever eaten even though they'd not eaten much in the way of Italian food and considering they live in a fairly remote village in Northern England i left an open mind. Well all i can say is i still beileve the majority of people who go on holiday will eat anything in the belief that what they are eating is roughly authentic, in this case the idea that we were eating "Italian" food was at a very vivid stretch of the imagination and leaves me to think the only other Italian food my friends could possibly have eaten was a can of Buitoni ravioli or Heinz spaghetti. This was in someway confirmed when one of them said they could reccommend the "Italian" hummus with bacon which left me confused as i always thought hummus came from the other side of the Med but mostly Greece, the Middle East and parts of North Africa but you never know it could be a Milanese specialty. Anyhow i ate for my friends sake but wouldn't have bothered otherwise. But I have to say the whole experience had given me a new found confidence in my idea of opening up a roughly authentic "Indian" curry house because if you've never been to India you would'nt know what you were eating.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AffectiPraefectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&A's Little Italy also viewed

Baga, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Vagator, North Goa District
 

Been to J&A's Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing