We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay despite the electricity problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had a great time here over Christmas and New Year. Nice bungalows, great staff and wonderfully slow service! Get used to it. You are on Tanzanian time here. Major problem was the electricity cutting out. Plan your shower before it gets dark. The guests staying were great fun. Lots of Scandinavians enjoying the extra daylight before going back to their SAD winter existence; The Yorkshire idiots who made sure the beers never went warm or that kidney beans would be served with fruit at breakfast ever again. Remember, UV rays at this time of the year are 11, extreme. Lots of very burnt people about..

Room Tip: Rooms at front are much bigger, but get well windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 267 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with my husband. It was the end of our 2 weeks trip, and we just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun.

Service was nice, room was clean and cute, food was quite basic but good, breakfast was a positive surprise compared to other 2 start places. The beach is beautiful but not good for swimming (it did not matter much because there was a pool). If you want to walk to Paje or Jambiani, it takes more than 30 minutes. For henna tattoos I can recommend Sofia, she did beautiful job! Overall this place really offered good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_tre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the place for 3 nights. at th Upendo House. At first it didnt reach what i had in mind so we paid for only 2 nights. however afterwards we added an extra night coz the place was just super relaxing and good. The beach is clean and the pool though small still good and clean. same applies to the rooams. they were clean. we would have done a 4th night if they allowed visa card payment, would recommend management to consider having visa card payment option. if i happen to be in Zanzibar again i would definately go back there. Thumbs up to the staff and managment of Mbuyuni Beech village.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msadventure_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The beach front was beautiful (although at low tide it's difficult to walk across the rocks to get to the ocean), the rooms were clean, the showers were warm, the place was quiet, the pool was clean and refreshing, the food was consistent. Given the price, it was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarzanJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

we had a nice room directly on the beach, very quite, you can hear the ocean from your room. very good value for money.
there is also a restaurant with a terrace on the beach, the food is nice, you have to order it in advance, like many other places in Jambiani.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cris1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This resort is a very good solution to get the most from Zanzibar. It's very cheap (I have spent about 30€ per day, including food and room -- and I've eaten a whole lot of fish!) and the location is very good.

The problem that I have found is with the management. I mean, the staff is extremely charmy and nice, but the resort should go under a major rejuvenation. For example, they have table tennis facilities or billiards which are completely broken (and not very good to see in the surrounding). The restaurant is very good, because the raw material is very good. There is nothing pre-prepared, so if you order one thing they really prepare it on the fly. Yet... the service is the slowest on Earth! Prepare to wait more than one hour if you order even only a grilled fish... Otherwise you can go there before, order and then go around.

The staff is somewhat annoying, always repeating you "everything is good? ok? hakuna matata" every time they meet you. Maybe they think it's funny for people to listen to the 2 most famous Swahili words the whole day...

They offer a good pick up service from airport, which is less expensive than the tariffs proposed at the airport. Nevertheless, if you are (very) good at negotiating, you might end up with a tariff half the one proposed by the resort. Note that for doing this you need some time to spend at the airport.

They have a good selection of cocktails, which are cheap, and good enough.
When they figure out the bill, check the calculations yourself, as they make a lot of mistakes when summing up.

Rooms are very large, and cleaned daily and carefully! There are no windows (only nets to prevent bugs from entering) and the night is very windy, so it can become a noisy place to sleep.

Overall, I would recommend this resort and I think if I will go back to Zanzibar I will go back there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is an extremely pretty resort and great value for money; a place to just relax and enjoy the sun and scenery.

Even for a solo traveller, $45 a night, including breakfast, is pretty good value for a good sized, clean, comfortable and well-ventilated room with private bathroom looking straight onto the beach. The view is lovely - I enjoyed relaxing on the patio, in the hammock or sitting on the bench, reading or just gazing out to sea. I was in Banda 1 and there was enough of a breeze through the thatched roof so I didn't need to use the fan at all.

The room was spotlessly clean on my arrival but I'm not sure what the arrangement is for cleaning rooms - it wasn't mentioned and since I was only there for 3 nights I didn't ask about this. I think perhaps you're supposed to leave your key at reception and mention if you want your room cleaned. I was one day approached by a lady asking if I wanted my room cleaned, so I agreed and she hung around for a tip there and then (I was going to leave a tip in the room before I left) so I guess that worked out OK.

The restaurant and bar overlooking the beach is lovely. The food is plentiful, and reasonably good, though not spectacular - I like spicy food and, since the food is a little under-spiced in my opinion, I asked for chopped fresh chillies with most meals, which the waiters happily brought . There is a long wait for food but I wasn't in a hurry so that was no problem. Drinks are reasonably priced with a fair selection for such a small, out of the way resort.

The pool is small but clean and nice for a short, relaxing swim.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort and would certainly go back myself.

Room Tip: Banda 1 and 2 are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
26.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#16 of 33 in Stone Town
181 reviews
5.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
8.5 mi away
La Madrugada Beach Resort
La Madrugada Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: $44 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing