We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice location...good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mbuyuni Beach Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice location...good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited mbuyuni in june for 4 days as part of our honeymoon. The accomodation is clean and offers good value for money being right on the beach. The staff are friendly and the food is also good value. There is a different menu everyday for lunch and dinner,very nice calamari and octopus..we also liked the swings to relax on the beach.
All in all we would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap but nice alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jullie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    97
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
38
114
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for a few days and even that we knew that this wasn't a 3 star accomodation we expected a litte bit more. At first our room wasn't properly cleaned. When we arrived the stuff from the former guests like water and wrapping papers where still on the floor and after 15 minutes it was possible for us to go in our room well I do not know how people clean there house but when I clean my bathroom it will take more than 15 minutes so a bungalow will take at least more than one hour for properly cleaning. There is a lack of maintenance on the whole estate which I found a real pitty because it has a lot of possibilities if you do it correctly and I surely think that they can make a lot more money if they will do some more maintenance for the whole estate. Even plant some more flower plants to give it a more romantic feeling. During our stay there was no light on whole zanzibar which gave it a certaine feeling because I always travel with candles it was no problem for us but I can imagine that some people can feel a bit unsafe. There is no possibility to swim on the beach. If you walk a little bit north you will find a good beach to swim. The swimming pool is nice but not so big. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpfull. I really hope that the owner will do some more maintenance and make Mbuyuni a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a family stay here in early September, 2012 and loved it. The rooms were clean and appealing, the food was great, nice salt-water pool, gorgeous sunrises and the staff was friendly and eager to help. We rented bicycles for a trip in to Jambiani and that was and adventure in itself. We enjoyed playing in the surf but do take flipflops or water shoes because the bottom is rocky in places.

Room Tip: We had the room right at the end near the beach - it was great to go to sleep and wake up to the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llynrimsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a long overdue review, as we spent several days there back in October 2011... We really loved this place and would definitely recommend it to others. We ended up staying there having seen some of the other establishments in the area.
From what we saw, Mbuyuni seemed to offer the best value for money so we went for it and we didn’t regret. It has an absolute beachfront location, with beautiful white sandy beach, a couple of beach chairs to chill out on, and even a swing! There’s alsa o pool table and a swimming pool. The only downside, if anything, was that it’s about 20 minutes walk from the main village (Jambiani) but that didn’t bother us at all. The rooms were clean and spacious, and not expensive for Zanzibar (at $40 per room including breakfast). The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The food was typical local-tourist mix and was OK, only sometimes you needed to wait a bit for you order to arrive. But again, that’s not a problem – remember, you’re on holiday in such a beautiful part of the world so ‘pole, pole’ as the locals say, and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julita_i_Wojtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. This place is about half way between Paje and Jambiani beaches which makes it an ideal budget option if you enjoy long strolls along the beach as the white sand and turquoise sea are much more impressive once you get to these locations. The rooms are basic but cleaned everyday if you hand the key in early enough! Don't lose the key as they don't have spares. The breakfasts are more than adequate and include a delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. I loved the hammocks and sun loungers. The medium sized swimming pool is a fantastic respite from the heat and it is well-maintained. The food needs to be ordered in advance as it is prepared on demand and for dinner it is served in a specific time period. However, the meals I ate - prawns, king fish, lobster, cigale - were all worth the wait. Be sure to remember to cost of your food as the menu is erased from the blackboard while you eat and they ask you what you had and what it cost when they prepare the bill!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011. We found it to be clean and exceptional value for the money. We got a bungalow for the three of us for a cost USD $20 per person per night including a more than reasonable breakfast. the place is located right on a natural white sand beach and also has a small, well kept swimming pool that overlooks the beach.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged our scuba and fishing trips as well as spice tour. The power outages (normal for Zanzibar) we're supplemented by a generator in the restaurant area and hurricane lamps int the rooms. They only lasted an hour or so.

There is no nightlife or fancy restaurants nearby but for what you pay it's great. I wasn't with my wife on this trip but it would make a really secluded romantic getaway location. I hope to go back another time with her.

Nothing too fancy, just a great place to relax and soak up the sun, can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Small bungalows all close to beach. Wouldn't matter much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amour100, Manager at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks very much for the feedbacks, We do appreciate to have taken your time to let people know the experience of your stay at Mbuyuni Beach Village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, there had been a mix up in our booking (our mistake to be fair), we ended up with a double instead of a twin room. The management assured us they would sort out a solution.. all day we asked for towels and another mattress, eventually at 7..30 pm we were advised there were no mattresses or spare sheets to assist us. the manager then got very cranky when asked to come up with a solution, eventually mattress and sheets arrived. We then waited two hours for dinner, our room was not attended to the next day, then on our check out day there was no hot water and we waited over an hour for breakfast.
The food was poor ans staff unfriendly.
Stay and eat elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amour100, Owner at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks very much for the feedbacks! We honestly kind expected to get this negative review , Firstly the guests booked a double room that we provided to them as requested by agent, but once the guests got at our place ,they changed their mind and asked for a twin room, that we did not have in the first place and on our the booking system We had Zero availability for Twin room before they even made their booking but they decided to book a double room then to change it, to a twin room after arrival at hotel ,so once we mentioned to them that We did not have any Twin room for them,they got confused and asking us for a spare mattress and bed cover that we did not have at our hotel for that time but eventually We did try our best and we provided to them , Regarding the breakfast being taking a long time to be serviced , as i do remember very well the Guests turned up for breakfast before 07:30 am, and we only start serving the breakfast at 07:30 am, unless we receive a special request from Guests for an early breakfast arrangement, that we never received from the guests, Regarding the food being bad at restaurant We can honestly say that People have different tastes and expectation all time but i can assure that many of our guests have been dinning at our restaurant and been enjoying our services,
Lastly We do suprise how come the guests failed to mention that They left our place without paying for 3 Drinks, 2 Sodas and 1 Water ? took the drinks and never looked back without paying for them.
On this case We did not meet your expection during your stay at our place, but We do assure all potential future guests of Mbuyuni beach village , We will keep improving the services and standard of our place regardless of one -off case like this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
1.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
45.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
14.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#4 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
3.4 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Property: Mbuyuni Beach Village
Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing