We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for our last 4 days to relax after a 6 1/2 week safari. Couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful and fun to be around. Food was very good. Internet was good. The pool very clean. Our room was ocean view by the pool. The room was clean and very spacious. The room was cleaned everyday. Don't expect a good swim in the ocean because of the tides and rocky bottom. Watch for sea urchans. Take the Dolphin swim if you can. It is well worth the money to swim with wild Dolphins.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Pictures tell all! We were very pleased with our stay here and would definately stay again. We felt like we were in Paradise! You are right on the white sandy beaches, also with a nice pool! The tide goes out so far that you can only swim in the oceans at certain times of the day. So it was great to cool off in the pool aswell! The staff was very friendly and accomodating! We basically ate either crab, lobster, or prawns for dinner everynight! It was included with our accomodation on half board! Great cheap prices! Very relaxing trip forsure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed 20 days from the 16th December 2011 and absolutely loved every minute of our stay. The staff are excellent, very welcoming, friendly, well trained, genuine and warm. A great place to stay and relax. The rooms are cleaned daily, towels and sheets changed daily too. What we enjoyed was that we could sleep as late as we wanted and then hand in our key to have the room cleaned, breakfast is served until 10am which was a plus for us, no morning rush, also lunch is served until 3pm we enjoyed all our meals during our stay especially the seafood and the yummy spaghetti bolognese. We made good use of the beach beds and swings nearly every morning after breakfast with the beautiful view of the ocean and a nice cool breeze to keep us cool. There is also a wonderful pool to use when the tide is low. If we felt like having breakfast or dinner on our veranda, the staff welcomed this idea and were very pleased to satisfy us. What we loved most was the atmosphere the staff created they were always happy, smiling and helpful even after the long working hours they put in every day compared to other hotels we stayed in around the world this was the best and we plan on returning later this year for a longer stay, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants to relax and recharge their batteries. The staff very well organised our trip to Stone Town, Prison Island and Spice farm everything went smoothly. The taxi to and from the hotel to the ferry was tip top. They even organised a French speaking guide for us in Stone Town. We have no complaints and were very sad to leave couldn't thank the staff enough. We would like once again to thank all the staff for making our holiday wonderful and pleasant. Denise & Eric

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaure L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Mbuyuni Beach Village was rustic, and set on the beach, about an hours drive from Stonetown. It is very secluded, and does not offer much of the touristy attractions... well, not any actually, but is friendly and the food was passable.
The beaches are not clean, and do not offer much swimming scope either.

Room Tip: Rather spend a little extra and get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Mbuyuni is a great place to stay. The rooms are basic but well cleaned and looked after. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed. It is not he most pluch hotel on the beach and the tide timing can be a bit bad (there are rocks at low tide). But the place was just awesome and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We made a last minute decision to limit our exhausting mainland travels and come to Zanzibar to relax. After 3 days in Stonetown, we contacted the Mbuyuni Beach Village and got a double for $40 US per night. Our room was not ocean front, but was spacious, had a clean, updated bathroom with hot water, and a large bed with a bed net (although we never saw a mosquito in the room.) We enjoyed the pool, walking the beach to both Paje and Jambiani, and the ease of staying at a quiet resort off the beaten path.

The plated breakfasts were adequate, but I would have preferred something other than the standard egg breakfast with white toast. Lunches and dinners were reasonably priced and good, especially when we shared a seafood salad and one entree. Portions are large. Service can be slow and the staff encourages patrons to order ahead of mealtime. We did this twice and found the food over cooked, so we decided to order when we came in and just accept slower service.

Taxi service to and from Stonetown runs $30-$35 US. We used Tanzanian shillings for our lodging and food, but we thought that we might have done better if we had brought dollars from home. No credit cards accepted and there is not an ATM at the beach, so get the cash you need before leaving the urban area.

Room Tip: The hotel was very responsive to a last minute email request. Although you can book via your hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Mbuyuni Lodge is a great low budget accomodation in Zanzibar. The rooms are very simple but clean. The food is very tasty and satisfying (but slow) and the beach is very scenic (but not good for swimming). My partner and I prefer to swim in the sea so we simply walked about half an hour down the beach (it gets a bit rocky and seaweedy so bring your shoes) to the next beach where there was miles of white sand, gentle ocean and not a single person. The price is lower because the beach is less usable, but if you walk a short distance you have a perfect beach. So I think the value for money is great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
26.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
31.5 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
457 reviews
5.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: $43 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing