We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright & Breezy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Mbuyuni Beach Village was rustic, and set on the beach, about an hours drive from Stonetown. It is very secluded, and does not offer much of the touristy attractions... well, not any actually, but is friendly and the food was passable.
The beaches are not clean, and do not offer much swimming scope either.

Room Tip: Rather spend a little extra and get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 267 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Mbuyuni is a great place to stay. The rooms are basic but well cleaned and looked after. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed. It is not he most pluch hotel on the beach and the tide timing can be a bit bad (there are rocks at low tide). But the place was just awesome and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We made a last minute decision to limit our exhausting mainland travels and come to Zanzibar to relax. After 3 days in Stonetown, we contacted the Mbuyuni Beach Village and got a double for $40 US per night. Our room was not ocean front, but was spacious, had a clean, updated bathroom with hot water, and a large bed with a bed net (although we never saw a mosquito in the room.) We enjoyed the pool, walking the beach to both Paje and Jambiani, and the ease of staying at a quiet resort off the beaten path.

The plated breakfasts were adequate, but I would have preferred something other than the standard egg breakfast with white toast. Lunches and dinners were reasonably priced and good, especially when we shared a seafood salad and one entree. Portions are large. Service can be slow and the staff encourages patrons to order ahead of mealtime. We did this twice and found the food over cooked, so we decided to order when we came in and just accept slower service.

Taxi service to and from Stonetown runs $30-$35 US. We used Tanzanian shillings for our lodging and food, but we thought that we might have done better if we had brought dollars from home. No credit cards accepted and there is not an ATM at the beach, so get the cash you need before leaving the urban area.

Room Tip: The hotel was very responsive to a last minute email request. Although you can book via your hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Mbuyuni Lodge is a great low budget accomodation in Zanzibar. The rooms are very simple but clean. The food is very tasty and satisfying (but slow) and the beach is very scenic (but not good for swimming). My partner and I prefer to swim in the sea so we simply walked about half an hour down the beach (it gets a bit rocky and seaweedy so bring your shoes) to the next beach where there was miles of white sand, gentle ocean and not a single person. The price is lower because the beach is less usable, but if you walk a short distance you have a perfect beach. So I think the value for money is great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

After having spent some weeks exploring East Africa, we headed for a quiet location in Zanzibar to recharge our worn-out body-batteries. Not having made a reservation previously (which is not necessary when traveling in September / October, but is advisable before or after) we got a taxi in Stone Town, which would drive us around several places on the east coast (25$), for us to find the most suitable place for spending 5 days. Having seen several places in Jambiani and Paje in the range of 45-60$ per night, we found that all resorts give you the same price if you quote the cheapest one, but that they do differ quite a bit in their quality of rooms. We recommend the Mbujuni Beach, as we think we have found the best place in this category given you plan to stay mostly with the resort's restaurant (good food, though after 3-4 days you have had them all) and are seeking relaxation above all else. In comparison to other places, it offers nice hammocks, porch swings on the beach and great verandas with couches with every bungalow - thus, in total a better variety to spend your day lazily except for just being at the pool. It also has a (run down) table tennis and pool billiard tables, board games and book shelves with left-overs from previous guests and therefore quite some ways to spend your days. Other reviews stated this place would be far off, which is definitely true when comparing with Paje (where is all the offer of snorkeling, kite surfing, etc.), but not comparing with other places in Jambiani, which are worse, as you are in general trying to get to Paje walking on the beach (from Mbujuni, it's about 40min).

Directly comparing again, we found the quality of the rooms better at Mbujuni Beach (nicely decorated, veeery clean and well maintained) than others we have seen. Downside of the hotel are the sharp rocks at the beach (better elsewhere), making it difficult to go swimming in the ocean (though most people prefer the pool anyway, as you are not depending on the tides and the water is very shallow anywhere here at the beaches), and the difficulty to go to other restaurants in the evening, as walking at the beach in the dark is said to be dangerous (we didn't try it, having been warned over and over).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Mbuyuni is a well situated hotel, giving access to a wonderful white sand beach. The bungalow we stayed was big enough with a nice bathroom. We stayed 02 weeks.
The hotel is far from the touristic area and Stone town (1 hour by car). So the hotel is advisable for people who want to relax, enjoy the sun , the beach and wonderful views.
The staff is nice in general however for us we found that the hotel was managed more as a family business, not in a professional way. If you are in a hurry to eat, forget about Mbuyuni and go to another hotel nearby. In fact, in Mbuyuni, you have to order in advance your lunch and dinner, there is no buffet; if you come late you can not to find food.
The worst part for us was really the breakfast, really, really small and not enough. No buffet for the breakfast neither, you receive a plate with 01 slice of bread, one egg omlette or 01 boiled egg, , 03 small pieces of fruits, 01 pancake, instant coffe and butter and jam on the table. When you ask for more bread or more anythng, you have to wait and once we even heard: 'the manager today is less comprehensive than yesterday'. n fact the day before, we have asked for more pancake. After a long discussion during our second week, we were offered a bigger breakfast twice.
In a word, the food is the weakness of the hotel, despite that, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chabakouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 13 nights at Mbuyuni. The bungalow exceeded expectations; we had one of the larger bungalows with sea view and it easily slept a family of four. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was plenty of space to lounge on the balcony, it was very good value especially compared to other similar places.
The restaurant had a good selection of food and changed the menu list everyday; and the staff were always helpful and friendly.
It was a real bonus having the pool, the children inparticular spent hours of fun in it! The stretch of beach between Jambiani and Paje is stunning and we would regularly walk to Paje which takes about 40 mins.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jalloh_Family_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
26.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
181 reviews
5.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
8.5 mi away
La Madrugada Beach Resort
La Madrugada Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing