We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“transcendental !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 33 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morogoro, Tanzania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“transcendental !”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful setting, very friendly and cool owners, Mark and Kristin who along with other guests and locals make everyone part of one big family. The setting is past idyllic.. can go for long easy strolls on beaches that curve around headlands, and at low tide have tidepools full of very diverse marine life. Local kids playing soccer, girls fishing and gathering algae, and being in this lodge, one has a lot of interaction with locals if one likes. This makes one feel part of the place. The rooms are beautifully yet simply furnished with an ecofriendly perspective, like little sinks of water to wash one's feet before entering a room. Nice library, evening bar and conversation, sporadic jam sessions with travellers from all over. was there four days but would have liked to spend four months...definitely a very special establishment in a very special part of the world. Also nightsounds include red colobus monkeys and bushbabies from the adjoining forest, mingled with the distant surf :)

Room Tip: each room has its own charm and porch. take the rooms furthest away if you wish for less conversatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asaha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    63
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
109
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks, and yes; it is as beautiful as the photos.
If you don't like interacting with the locals then this isn't the place for you! The villagers pass through on the way to the beach and there is always a smile and a jambo.In the evening the beach is often the site of a football game, which you can join if you're feeling active, or just sit and watch if your not.
The staff who are local are super-friendly and tried in vain to teach us a little kiswahili,to no avail.
The whole camp is very laid back and relaxed, dress code for the restuarant is barefoot and lazy.
It is of the beaten track, and you need to take cash with you! They prefer payment in cash as that is how they pay the staff and the nearest ATM is Stonetown. When you are in Stonetown, and are taking out Money, the machine will tell you that 400,000 shilling is your limit but you can use the same card again and again.
The rooms unfortunately don't have safes, but i'm sure the owners can look after your cash if you ask them.
The menu is simple and tasty, but we found after two weeks that we had been through all the dishes. There are many restuarants along the beach so this isn't really a problem (if you've remembered to bring cash!).
The lodge organises trips, scuba etc but you pay this to the tour operators, you can't just put it on Your bill. We hadn't taken enough cash with us to do safari blue with them so we did it when we returned to Stonetown.
We had such a nice time here! Thank you Red monkey!!

Room Tip: we travelled With Our two daughters and asked for adjoining rooms, this worked out very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found this place completely by chance and were so happy we did! Amazing food, views, friendly owner, super affordable. We were there on a getaway from Arusha and it was great to just hang out on the beach and be lazy. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 9 nights at Red Monkey.
Loved it.
We had a tripple room, we were 2 adults and two small children. The double bed is huge, the single is for a small adult or children. Fitted us perfect.
Breakfast was included and this was fresh fruits, pastries, eggs and very good coffee.
The monkeys do run around the lodge, it is lovely to see that they are not too disturbed by humans.
The staff and the owners were great (thank you all) :)
Lunch/dinner time they were very accommodating with our boys and their eating habits (again, thank you).
Jambiani is quiet, and remember to take out cash in Stone Town as there is no visa/ATM close by.
The local children hang out on the beach, they are all lovely and friendly, our children played with them, language is not a problem at that age.
Snorkeling-the reef is quite far out and you need a boat to get there.
Would recommend Red Monkey to families, to all.

Room Tip: We had room 6, triple room, at the entrance to the lodge so you will get a lot of passing locals. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed for one night and it was amazing, will definitely book again to stay a little bit longer. If you want a simple but great place to unwind and just be lazy, this is the place to be. Owner was super friendly, always checked on us if everything was ok and all the time there was nothing I could complain about. The food was amazing, I would recommend any catch of the day - super fresh! The breakfast was great too with a number of things to choose from. On high tide the beach is great for swimming and you will also feel as part of the community as it is right at the end of a village. I also spotted a number of "red monkeys" around which was fun. The relaxed and chilled atmosphere I experienced, will bring me back to this place. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanzanianVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

what a fantastic place to visit. where do i start? the welcome.... well thats the best place to begin... as soon as my group arrived at the red monkey we had people thanking us and welcoming us to their venue. the food was fantastic on a scale above what i can vote for on this site and the atmosphere was perfect! after the food, the music.... what a great night!!! still can't forget it!!
fully recommend anyone to visit this place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an amazing night at Red Monkey. The food was excellent and the staff were so helpful. I wish we could have spent more time there! The location is absolutely incredible. I will most certainly be returning here on my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCox_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
1.9 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Property: Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Monkey Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing