We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 36 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed for one night and it was amazing, will definitely book again to stay a little bit longer. If you want a simple but great place to unwind and just be lazy, this is the place to be. Owner was super friendly, always checked on us if everything was ok and all the time there was nothing I could complain about. The food was amazing, I would recommend any catch of the day - super fresh! The breakfast was great too with a number of things to choose from. On high tide the beach is great for swimming and you will also feel as part of the community as it is right at the end of a village. I also spotted a number of "red monkeys" around which was fun. The relaxed and chilled atmosphere I experienced, will bring me back to this place. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanzanianVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Red Monkey Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

what a fantastic place to visit. where do i start? the welcome.... well thats the best place to begin... as soon as my group arrived at the red monkey we had people thanking us and welcoming us to their venue. the food was fantastic on a scale above what i can vote for on this site and the atmosphere was perfect! after the food, the music.... what a great night!!! still can't forget it!!
fully recommend anyone to visit this place!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an amazing night at Red Monkey. The food was excellent and the staff were so helpful. I wish we could have spent more time there! The location is absolutely incredible. I will most certainly be returning here on my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCox_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just wish we had more time to spend here, stunning location, gorgeous venue with really friendly management and staff. They catered for our large group brilliantly.

The food, drink, service and entertainment is amongst the best on Zanzibar - I will be back there in 2015 on my next visit.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarneyWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Red Monkey is a very nice lodge with a rather familiar touch and well inegrated into the local life. It allows you to have a relaxing time at the beach in a rather less touristic athmosphere and close to the local people.
The rooms are simple but charming and very clean (they are nicely decorated every day with fresh flowers). Depending on what you are looking for, the rooms can be a bit too pricy for what they are offering.
The restaurant is amazing, offering a delicous extensive menu every day and a wonderful view over the ocean.
In general the lodge has a relaxing athmosphere and very good service. The staff was very, very helpful when we were in need. We can really recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187325Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Red Monkey Lodge is the perfect place in the south east Zanzibar, for all travellers. Food is outstanding, prices good and the local people are very friendly. The rooms are clean and have good space. Wifi works good!

Room Tip: All rooms are practically the same standard and looks but request room with sea view for the greates...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Red Monkey Lodge expecting quality and value because of all the glowing reviews on trip advisor, unfortunately we weren't overly impressed with what we received. The rooms were basic and the food could be quite poor (mouldy bread and egg shells in the baked goods were common). The location is ideal for kiting but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
248 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.9 mi away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
2.8 mi away
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range: $94 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Monkey Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing