We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect relaxing accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Monkey Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Save
You added Red Monkey Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 32 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eslov, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect relaxing accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Red Monkey Lodge is the perfect place in the south east Zanzibar, for all travellers. Food is outstanding, prices good and the local people are very friendly. The rooms are clean and have good space. Wifi works good!

Room Tip: All rooms are practically the same standard and looks but request room with sea view for the greates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    59
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
103
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Red Monkey Lodge expecting quality and value because of all the glowing reviews on trip advisor, unfortunately we weren't overly impressed with what we received. The rooms were basic and the food could be quite poor (mouldy bread and egg shells in the baked goods were common). The location is ideal for kiting but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henry54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in red monkey lodge last December and enjoyed most of our stay. People there are friendly and it had a very laid back feeling. We decided to stay there because we like the fact it is not a big resort and it is integrated into a village. The rooms are clean and nice with a fan, which is very helpful becasue it is really hot in Zanzibar; however, we ended up going to the hotel "Coral Rock" closeby for good food and laid on beach lounge chairs simply because they have a pool, nice louge chairs, and much needed breeze during those hot hot days. Red Monkey did not really have a good place for lounging, so that was a bummer. We liked it there, but didn't love it. We really love jambiani because it didn't have big resorts and you can go out fishing with local fisherman on wooden boats, we came back until sunset and it was absolutely magical!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minhsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were not expecting too much for $80 but we disappointed.
Room leaked even in the rainy season made items very damp and uncomfortable..

Beds on beach very limited - people put towels on beds then go out until later on in the day. Management need to address this. As hubby and I are well into our 50's and find it difficult to lay on a tiny towel on the sand - Haven not done this for many years - not a great sight at our age!

Food not the best - run out of eggs for breakfast, long wait for evening meal - certainly not worth the wait.

Monday night jamming - far to NOISY if you like a quiet holiday - but the musicians are talented OK up until say 10.30.

We always take items for good causes and urge people to do so - at Red Monkey paid high for taxi fares to take items to the schools and Makunduchi hospital. Quoted one fare and wanted to charge more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeSpyaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Red Monkey Lodge with two friends for two weeks in February 2013. The three others wanted to kite and I wanted to really relax. We all had the best vacation ever.

We were welcomed warmly and found the service to be very good all through our stay: everybody was very helpful and caring.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom and the interior is simple but useful. At dinnertime every room is prepared for the night with mosquito nets etc..
The food is good, a special joy for fans of fresh fish & seafood. For breakfast you get fresh fruit & juice, and all variations of eggs & bread. At lunchtime there is an offer of differing snacks like pasta, burger or salads. For dinner the Lodge has a four course menu that changes every evening: the staff is very flexible about the menu, so if you are not hungry enough for four courses you can only pick two courses or top up one course.

I am not the kite-expert, just that much about my impression: my husband and my friends were on the water from 1 to 3 times a day. The conditions were not always easy but good enough to have fun on the water and sometims get challenged a little.
There are experienced beach boys that help you start & land very practiced.
I had some kite lessons and really enjoyed it (but was in the end to lazy to keep going ;-)).

If you want to go see something or go on a daytrip you will get everything organized with good guides and fair prices as well as good tipps and advices.
We enjoyed two monday night jam sessions that are organized with local and travelling musicians.

What makes this place so much joy and fun are
- the great people from the Red Monkey Lodge that help & advice you with all your needs and problems,
- the great surroundings with the unbelivable views,
- the whole atmosphere of relaxation and,
- that the owners clearly care about the local community & its needs!

I would love to go there again - now! Don't miss that great spot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinar0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Red Monkey in February 2013 and it was amazing! We weren't just blown away by the breath-taking views, the friendly service and the lovely bungalows but also by the way its owners clearly care about the local community. You can feel that there is a lot going back into Jambiani which is also noticeable when talking to the locals. We stayed there for six nights and felt incredibly relaxed and knew there are few places like it on the island. I'd definitely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family spent two weeks in march at the Red Monkey and we loved it!!!
We traveled the island for two months and when we came to Red Monkey it truly felt like coming home. The lodge is right on a cliff facing a small forest strip on one side and the beautiful beach on the other side. The bungalows are clean, the staff very friendly and the service and food is overall very good. They have a changing four course menu every evening and the food is really good.You can also choose not to take the whole menu and they will prepare a bigger portion of one of the dishes on the menu.
But what makes this place so special is the relaxed atmosphere. Mark and Kristine who are running the place really made us feel at home. We got great tips of guides and they would arrange any kind of excursion for you at request and at a fair price. Every Monday they arrange a jam session together with traveling musicians and locals. And they where always good for a chat and giving small tips of things to do or places to go.
Our daughters 3 and 8 years old, loved it too and especially the monkeys!
When the tide was low we took the children to the neighbor hotel Coral Rock and used their swimming pool and in the evening the girls were playing at the beach with the local kids, collecting shells and playing soccer.
Also after having had several sad experiences of really bad coffee on the island I was sooo happy to finally get good, strong French press coffee every morning and I will always remember those quiet mornings, where I was sipping my coffee at the lodge watching the monkeys and gazing over the beautiful ocean…
So if you are at the east coast don’t miss this place!
It’s a bliss for your soul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaremba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#6 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#10 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
29.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
31.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Property: Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing