We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 34 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very special place...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Red Monkey in February 2013 and it was amazing! We weren't just blown away by the breath-taking views, the friendly service and the lovely bungalows but also by the way its owners clearly care about the local community. You can feel that there is a lot going back into Jambiani which is also noticeable when talking to the locals. We stayed there for six nights and felt incredibly relaxed and knew there are few places like it on the island. I'd definitely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    63
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
109
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family spent two weeks in march at the Red Monkey and we loved it!!!
We traveled the island for two months and when we came to Red Monkey it truly felt like coming home. The lodge is right on a cliff facing a small forest strip on one side and the beautiful beach on the other side. The bungalows are clean, the staff very friendly and the service and food is overall very good. They have a changing four course menu every evening and the food is really good.You can also choose not to take the whole menu and they will prepare a bigger portion of one of the dishes on the menu.
But what makes this place so special is the relaxed atmosphere. Mark and Kristine who are running the place really made us feel at home. We got great tips of guides and they would arrange any kind of excursion for you at request and at a fair price. Every Monday they arrange a jam session together with traveling musicians and locals. And they where always good for a chat and giving small tips of things to do or places to go.
Our daughters 3 and 8 years old, loved it too and especially the monkeys!
When the tide was low we took the children to the neighbor hotel Coral Rock and used their swimming pool and in the evening the girls were playing at the beach with the local kids, collecting shells and playing soccer.
Also after having had several sad experiences of really bad coffee on the island I was sooo happy to finally get good, strong French press coffee every morning and I will always remember those quiet mornings, where I was sipping my coffee at the lodge watching the monkeys and gazing over the beautiful ocean…
So if you are at the east coast don’t miss this place!
It’s a bliss for your soul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaremba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksværk, Frederiksborg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my friend was on a holiday in February 2013. We were staying at Red Monkey Beach Lodge and it was simply amazing. We were greeted with joy and got a fantastic service throughout our stay. The staff at the lodge helped us with finding the best tourist attractions that suited us, and they all helped us to have the time of our lives.
Everything from the local clean food they made for us, the outstanding Zanzibar surroundings, and learning about the culture was just an amazing experience.
We're definitely coming back to our new friends on Zanzibar! We can only advise others to come and visit Red Monkey Beach lodge, it's fantastic!! :-)
- Sofie from Denmark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and 3 buddies had a great time at Red Monkey Lodge. It's a small cozy lodge on the beach, and its in a really nice area.
We spent 4 nights here and we had a blast. There were events going on all the time, and we really enjoyed the Monday Jam session, with good musicians, great food and drinks and a lot of people.

The service was excellent, and the staff was already ready to assist you in any way you needed, if it was organizing transport or any excursions, or hooking us up with Kite equipment. Just learned to Kite as i was on Zanzibar, so im very happy with that.

In general we are super happy with the lodges, and especially its location. Its more for the tourist looking for something more cozy, but with a lot of fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hundested, Frederiksborg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and we had such a nice time! Really reccomendable. Nice staff and lovely surroundings.
Jambiani is a nice little village with great hospitality. If you are interested in surfing there is great oppotunities for that.
It is easy to get a taxi to drive other places and the people working there is willing to help with such things.

/ Annasofie Olsen, Denmark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnasofieOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great place recommended by other expat colleagues. At the furthest end of Jambiani Beach a great spot for unwinding and literally getting away from it all. A bit overpriced but very charming. The rooms were large and comfortable in a cool funky design. The nearby village is a little noisy. So don't plan on sleeping in but the beach makes up for it.
The food was unfortunately a little underwhelming but the bar was fun and friendly. Service and staff gave the place real atmosphere.
Also came back for a great party one weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris_mzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at a sister property to Red Monkey - Bahati Villas, managed by the same group. The staff were excellent, Rama in particular was very nice. We had to leave early because our daughter wasn't well, and the owner Mark was very understanding and cooperative. The property is quite nice, and provides a great setting, especially for a couple on holiday. We'll certainly recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
2.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
2.8 mi away
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Property: Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Monkey Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing