We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Monkey Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 36 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed it!

The property itself is beautiful and very special, overlooking a beautiful beach. The rooms have a "Flinstoness" touch, which is charming.
Despite overlooking a beautiful beach, be aware of the fact that it is at the most southern end of Jambiani and that the walk into the heart of Jambiani is one hour!

There is no other draw back.
The management is very professional and is looking after their guests very well.

It was an enjoyable stay for us and we can recommend this place.

At 85EUR/night in a double room it's not cheap, but it's fair!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Red Monkey Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked Red Monkey for two nights in January 2013. The hotel - at least when we stayed there - was booked almost exclusively by the kiters. I almost think that we were only two non-kiters staying there at the time. There was nothing wrong with the kites, It was actually fun watching them, but my thought was that maybe it’s the great kiting lagoon and kite – oriented services that drive the prices higher that they should be.

The room was spacious, clean and well kept. It had no AC (we knew that when we were booking). You don’t really need AC when staying by the shore in Jambiani – the fan and the sea breeze will do it. Breakfast was tasty, the monkeys fun to watch (yes – there are red monkeys around and they visit the bar area and the reading area). The beach was a bit weedy (full mooon and high tides will do it – it’s not the hotel’s fault). There are sun beds and umbrellas. Food served at lunch was tasty and reasonably priced but no fireworks here. Wi-Fi works great. The hotel owns it’s own power – generator which is important in Zanzibar.

It’s a nice and well kept place but in this price range one can find comparable or better places in Jambiani. We paid 80 Euro per night for a double room (bungalow) with breakfast. We have spent a few nights beforehand at the small, cozy B&B nearby for about half a price of Red Monkey.

Red Monkey is located on the edge of Jambiani, so you can easily walk to the village, do your fruit shopping and side-seeing there.

Summarizing – nice place with all the services needed, but just a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsnapper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a total of six nights and absolutely loved it! The rooms are situated in small separate cottages on a hill overlooking the beach and are basic, but sparkling clean with mosquito netting. The beach is just fantastic! I've never seen sand as fine-grained and white before, it honestly sometimes felt like walking on flour. :)
The view from the bar and restaurant is absolutely gorgeous and the food great and surprisingly cheap considering its quality. The staff and management are great and very service- minded.
We also had the big pleasure of seeing red monkeys several times during our stay, when not busy trying to steal your breakfast they seem to enjoy hanging around impromptu dumps in the area...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyhckerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed close to the Red Monkey and used the bar and restaurant everyday. This place is set at a gorgeous part of the island and the views are amazing. Doing Yoga on the beach is out of this world, really serene and fully recommend with a Yoga Instructor Ipek (from Cyprus).

Christelle the current Manager was brilliant, very accommodating, nothing was too much. Christelle would always go above and beyond for her guests and made my stay in Jambiani so nice and one I will never forget and I would like to take this time to thank her. Christelle also helped me with my trip back to the mainland which made my trip back more pleasant.

The staff at Red Monkey were brilliant and food was great, they were all so friendly and always made me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAnnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is really worth a visit. Rooms are clean, well equiped and beautifully designed. The bar and the restaurant are very nicely placed and you have a fantastic panorama view of the sea and the beach. If you're lucky you might even get the company of a couple of monkeys that frequently stops by. I had some of the most interesting and delicious meals and I just can't give enough credit to the chef - he is a magician. All the staff are very kind, helpful and well trained to do their job. So if you are to go to the eastcoast of Zanzibar, this place is a must. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As a tour operator, I am vary aware of what standards should be, so when my wife and I decided to break away to Zanzibar for our honeymoon, we decided on Red Monkey simply because the communication we had with management set them apart from similar choices we considered. At no stage during the booking process did we mention this was our honeymoon, nor that we are tour operators ourselves. Upon arrival at 5am in the morning, Mark was present, opened up and got us settled in. The cleanliness and professionalism we experienced during our stay was of the highest standard, the location unmatched and the experience simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AfricaSolSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Red Monkey Lodge for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The cottage had amazing views of the clear blue ocean and we slept with the sound of the ocean. The cottage was beautiful, and we very much enjoyed just chilling by the bar/ restaurant. Def way better than the next door hotel with booming music (not loud enough to disturb us). It was very nice to see the lodge open its doors to the local villagers; in fact it was quite entertaining to see young boys playing football (and celebrating the occasional goal in style!). Mark the owner was ever helpful and even arranged for our stay at our next destination in Mombasa. Thanks Mark, we'd definitely return to Red Monkey when we're next in Zanzibar!
John & Lee San

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f1utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.9 mi away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
2.8 mi away
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range: $94 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Monkey Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Monkey Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Beach Hotel Jambiani
Red Monkey Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing