We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Experience”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jass Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Karmalita...
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I absolutely enjoyed my experience at the villa. Mr. Issa was very attentive to my requests, his wife was warm and accomodating as well. My time was well spent. Total relaxation surrounded by beauty. Definitely worth the 20+ hour flight.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipKo...
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, but open to the outside!”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Jass Villa in early July. The place is nice, and right on the beach. But what you cannot tell from the photos or other reviews is that the downstairs kitchen and living room and upstairs living room are completely open to the outside! The upstairs living room is completely open, and the stairs leading up to them are open, so there is no way to keep mosquitos out day or night from upstairs or downstairs. The only parts of the house that can be sealed off from the outside are the bedrooms and the bathrooms. If you need to go to the bathroom you basically have to walk outside. There weren't many mosquitos when we were there, but we were told that sometimes the mosquitos are bad (I presume that is during the rainy season). I wouldn't want to be there when the mosquitos were bad! What this place needs is to enclose the upper living room and stairway with screening or windows to keep the bugs out. Also note there is no way to completely secure the house. Anyone who gains access to the upper deck gains access to the entire house. It is possible to lock each bedroom door individually, and the beds do have mosquito netting, but who wants to be stuck in their room? Enclosing the upper living room would still leave the entire deck area outside for lounging in the sun, so I don't see the point in having the entire house open to the outside. We liked Jass Villa, but IMO it's completely open air design is not appropriate for a malaria zone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your review. The open terrace with he magnificent view is what makes this Villa so special! We have the best location and the best view in Jambiani and maybe in whole Zanzibar. To close of the terrace would dramatically change the wonderful view and atmosphere that we currently have and that our guests enjoy so much. We agree that it would have been more convenient to have the bathroom enclosed to the bedrooms and that it would be good to close the stairs downstairs.
Bugs and Mosquitos are usually not a problem. All the bedrooms have nets around the beds to keep you protected at night. The good thing is that Zanzibar has managed to control Malaria and there are very few cases reported nowadays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V P
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A short weekend on the beach”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This place was beautiful. My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in February. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Issa and his brother Haji ( I hopes I spelled it correctly) made sure we were taken care of on our trip. The view from the upper deck was amazing, and the view at night left us speechless! Overall, I would stay here again. Thank You!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boagsinth...
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting and a comfortable welcoming villa”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Jass Villa is situated right on the beach at Jambiani and is ideal for a relaxing family holiday. Four good sized bedrooms and a lovely deck on the upper floor overlooking the sea and cooled by the welcoming sea breeze. Issa the housekeeper was always on hand and willing to help with anything we asked of him.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudieH12...
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
9
people found this review helpful

Stayed there for a week and loved every aspect of it! It was clean, quiet and offered all the comforts we wanted. We used the chef for two meals a day and that made our holiday very special. He was very affordable and the food delicious!

Issa the property manager also looked after us well and even arranged all our excursions for us much cheaper than people from outside.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazly M
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay ! ”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Our group of 6 was traveling through Tanzania and, after Moshi and Safari in National parks, we found our way to Jass Villa in Zanzibar. The place was not luxurious but it was the most hospitable ! It is also right on the Indian Ocean beach ! Issa, Hasan, and Mubarak were amazing and took a great care of us ! Issa was great at organizing things and coordinating different requests. He helped to organize tours around Zanzibar. He was very attentive ! Hasan was a great driver and picked us up from the airport and took us to the Rick restaurant. Mubarak was our cook for few days and his food was out of this world ! I still remember the taste of his beef samosas with coconut chutney he made for us ! Overall great management group and great communications. We would totally recommend this place to future travelers! Note: buy beer and water from them because store was more expensive.

P. S. We also went to the Rock for dinner so look for my review about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelO68...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Jass Villa in Jambiani was perfect for us. Simple and understated, just beautiful!
The villa is right on the beach in quite a secluded area, there are no hotels around, just a few bungalows and cafes along the beach which was great. It almost felt as though we had the beach to ourselves. I don't think you could get much closer to the sea! We went sailing on dhows, swimming with dolphins and bought fresh fish too cook right off the beach, everything about this place was wonderful! There are two beach cafes on either side of the Villa, so if you do not feel like cooking you can order delicious vegetable pakoras, or fresh coconut water from next door too!
I highly recommend Jass Villa for an incredibly relaxing beach holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: right on the beach, it was just perfect
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you loved Jass Villa and that you enjoyed your stay in Jambiani. We hope you will come back again and look forward to receiving you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing