We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing value and a good location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jass Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
MrElmo
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing value and a good location”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Not much to add to the previous review. It was everything we needed in a beautiful location and unbeatable in terms of value. Issa was a good chap and very helpful too. Recommended.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Jass Villa and would be happy to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing value, lovely villa, fantastic place and very good service.”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Me and a few friends stayed at Jass Villa to have a some R&R after running a conference in Tanzania. Communications from Tobias in the run up to the stay were excellent.
We had a small problem on arrival at the airport, as we got into a taxi with a driver who readily agreed that he was Issa and he was taking us to Jambiani. Leaving the real Issa very patiently waiting at the airport for the day (Issa is excellent!). So when you arrive make sure you look out for the guy with the 'Jass Villa' sign (rather than someone holding a sign with your name on it).
Issa took our friend (who arrived later) shopping, to get loads of fresh fruit and supplies in. He is a really nice guy and does everything he can to welcome and accommodate.
The villa is no frills, but practical and very nice (I believe some work is being done on it soon as well). Straight out onto the beach and close to lots of restaurants and bars.
You will get lots of offers to take you snorkling, fishing or one of the many excursions on the island (especially the Blue Safari). I would recommend that what ever you do, try and do it with or through Issa. He can either do it directly, or get you a good deal and is the most trustworthy/honest person you can deal with. That said we had an excellent fishing trip with Captain Rasta Baby and Abdullah. They are great guys and a lot of fun (both 'Positive' and 'Fresh'!).
If you're going to go to Zanzibar, go to Jambiani. And if you're going to Jambiani stay at Jass Villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price, location and Issa
Liked least: A bit of hassle from the locals trying to sell stuff get you to book excursions through them.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you for your review and kind words! We are really happy that you enjoyed the stay in Jass Villa as well as the trips you took. Yes, we are constantly improving the house for the benefits of our guests. We are sure that next time you come it will be an even better experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Jass Villa for 4 nights after our successful climb on Mount Kilimanjaro and it was a very good decision to stay in the sleepy beach town of Jambiani. It was only my husband and I but the villa can accommodate up to 8-9 people. It is very well taken care of and has 2 baths, one kitchen and one very fabulous second floor deck where we sunbathed, ate our meals, watched the local kids play soccer in the evening and just relaxed. The beach of Jambiani is a little tricky due to the tide, however if you are willing to walk a km or so toward the ocean, you can get the most amazing white sand and take a dip (see attached photo) in shallow water. We brought our water shoes and found them to be very helpful.
I arranged everything through TripAdvisor and communication was prompt and transport can be arranged prior to your arrival. Issa the manager was very helpful and coordinated our transfers. We hired a cook for our breakfasts and dinners and I can't recommend this service enough. Mubaraka cooked the best and most fresh meals that you would likely pay 3-4 X the price at the restaurants nearby. This was the best decision we made.
The villa itself is charming and is well suited to those really looking to get away from it all. Wifi was not available but you can connect to the wifi next door (which was painfully slow). We were told that Jass Villa will have their own wifi very shortly and will be undergoing minor renovations which would make it the best place to stay in Jambiani. Jass Villa comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beach location
Liked least: Baths need minor updates
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you for your review and nice words! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Jass Villa. Yes, having a chef is something we recommend especially if you are a bigger group. You can choose exactly what you want to eat for a very reasonable price. We now offer free wifi with the highest Speed internet available in Zanzibar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmar-we...
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have had a great time in Jambiani! If you looking for a relaxing and friendly atmosphere - Jass Villa is definitely a place to go! We recommend a rental car to see other places in Zanzibar.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris M
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijan D
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fannyboni...
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing