We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
86
54
15
8
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
54
15
8
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats sea swimming kite school no hot water curries mainland tanzania unique place white sand pure relaxation recommend this place other resorts amazing food fresh fruit indian ocean pole pole stone town low tide
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

The hotel cancelled our booking a few days before we were supposed to arrive. They promised us to find us another hotel, but we never heard from them again. We send several messages asking if they already found us something. We got no response. We had to book another hotel ourselves. A hotel that was not in Jambiani, because the hotels there were full or much more expensive. Before writing this bad review we contacted Uhuru to tell them that we expected a refund since we already paid for the room. That was days ago and we haven’t heard from them since.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Theo_Nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lula M, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

We emailed you as soon as we realised we had an overbooking. We asked you if you needed another hotel and we did not hear back from you. We have informed Experian to refund you as they have your money not us. We apologise for the misunderstanding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I had a very relaxing stay in Jambiani. Ana, the owner of Uhuru, was very helpful and gracious in making sure we were taken care of during our time there. We are very appreciative of her assistance and look forward to returning in the future!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank MichaelCaseyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Uhuru Beach is a lovely spot. Ana, the owner, helped us tremendously during our time in Jambayani, ensuring that we had a wonderful stay. The beach is idyllic and the hotel has a fun casual vibe. You can take up kite surfing or just hang out on the beach.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We was in bungalow on the beach . No luxury accomodation , pretty modest for my taste , but it was amazing vacation .
You can feel the smell of sea in the morning ... Wild nature all around ., completely different ...

Room Tip: accomodation on the beach :-)
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Uhuru means freedom in the local tounge and freedom to do and be what you like are part of this holiday experience . The chalets have been refurbished and the restaurant was in full swing too - tasty fish and veggie dishes - served with a smile. Coconut crusted Merlin and Yummy Tuna Steaks as well as local curries and a garlic soup to die for .
I loved looking into the sea , the sands , the colours , the air , the locals ; the fisherman and seaweed women , the nature - UHURU it truly is THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN THE WORLD .

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to the bar have sea views - rooms further round in the gardens are quieter and more discreet .
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Herbertman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews