We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
84
54
15
8
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
54
15
8
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats sea swimming kite school no hot water curries mainland tanzania unique place white sand pure relaxation recommend this place other resorts amazing food fresh fruit indian ocean pole pole stone town low tide
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 179 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I booked stay in Uhuru for yoga retreat.
A unique place - ideal for a relaxation.
Bungalows in african style, located directly at the beach.
Rustic style, cozy, with basic amenities, but that's all U need here.
Sleeping at the soothing ocean sound and sunrises -priceless.
At the back of the resort U can find a local village- an opportunity to see the local life. Local residents are very friendly.
Location of Uhuru is another plus. There are no plastic, artificial hotels or concrete beaches. It's still wild -in positive meaning. Homely, locally, authentically: the essence of Zanzibar!

Ana-the owner- hosted us very warmly. Extremely helpful and flexible with my group plans.
I recomment delicious food there including homemade mango ice cream (one of the kind). Don't miss additional attractions like BBQ with masai dances.

If you want to feel the real taste of Zanzibar I definitely recommend this place.
I'm gonna come back there.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ewa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The views out to the indian ocean are spectacular, the buildings making up this hotel are all clean and kept well and are spectacular, especially the bathrooms.
The breakfast (and all other meals if you wish to take them there) were delicious. We ate in quite a few places in Zanzibar and I can honestly say that our best meals were at Uhuru! They have a small menu but you can choose a local or western dish. The Swahili coconut curry was a favourite. Fresh fruit, toast and scrambled eggs for breakfast were always tasty, the service at the restaurant or at any other part of the hotel was efficient, attentive and quick. The bar is just by the beach and you can get snacks there too. The local cocktail called Konyagi is dangerous but would recommend. There are also water sports available and run by the hotel such as kite surfing. My partner loved this but I wasn't brave enough to try.
The owner was easy to talk to and provided many helpful suggestions for things to do in Zanzibar or mainland Tanzania.
I can not recommend this place enough. Idyllic and spectacular.

Room Tip: All rooms are by the ocean!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flour P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

The view alone is worth the money . Ever changing beach and sea colours , white sand , green sea and SO warm -like a salty warm water bath . The sky can be a deep blue one moment and a pinky red the next . Clouds whisk by and shoes are reccommended for sea swimming - nice and shallow and safe too.
Chalets are clean and tidy , staff are helpful and friendly and the Masai security keep everyone safe 24 hours a day .
Anna runs the place like it is her home and invites you to join in the party .She will arrange trips , cars and offer advice upon request .

Room Tip: All rooms are good - some have sea views but are walked past - some in the square are quieter and away from the bar .
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Herbertman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We stayed at the Uhuru for roughly a fortnight in the first half of January 2018 and really loved it - for us it was the perfect beach retreat. We did not get one of the beach facing bungalows, as when we booked Ana (the owner) did not have any of those available anymore. Therefore she offered to host us in the so-called annex: Ana has rented two small appartments which are 200m down the beach. These appartments are not seafacing, but are more or less directly at the beach and have a wonderful small front garten. Taking a short walk to breakfast was actually an upside for us: It gave us the chance to get in contact with some of the locals and helped us to enlarge our area of operation faster.

The most impressive feature of the Uhuru must be the location: The water in the lagoon has an immaculate turquoise color and makes for an impressive combination with the beatiful beach. It's always windy at the beach, which is actually a good thing on sunny days (less so on cooler days) or if you are there for kite surfing.

Staff at the Uhuru was very friendly and always made an effort to make our stay comfortable. Ana apparently makes an effort to hire local people from the village of Jambiani, which is a good thing. There are also two locals (Gloria and Semeni), who offer massages on the premises.

In the end, you might ask yourself: Why not five stars then?

Because although we loved it, I can also see that a vacation at the Uhuru is not the right choice for everyone. If you need the abundant luxury of a five star all inclusive ressort, then the comfy, but plain, appartments might not be the right thing for you. If you want a breakfast buffet, then you might be disappointed by the breakfast served at the Uhuru, which is a lovely variety of fruit and your choice of eggs, pancakes or omelettes with bread and marmelade. The massages offered on site are a good example: Gloria and Semeni probably do not have the kind of training, massagers in Europe would have and they don't have a professional massaging chair. Thus the massage is less about actually treating a sore back, but more about just relaxing.

So to sum it up: If you want everything done by the book, then you might not enjoy the Uhuru (or Jambiani in general). But if you are looking for a location that is a little less crowded by tourists, is ideal for relaxing at the beach and has friendly staff, then the Uhuru might be just the thing for you.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher_AUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

This is the perfect place for a chilled, relaxing, beach holiday. Sunrise walks with the resort dogs, swimming for hours in the crystal clear warm water, SUPping around the wooden fishing boats, a nap in the shade on one of the hammocks. Great, healthy food (that coconut tuna - OMG). Friendly resort cats. And general chilled vibes. Perfect if you are in a group, or, like I was, travelling solo.

The beach in Jambiani is the strangest in the world. The tide goes out for miles. You can always find a spot to swim though, and walking among the boats and seaweed farms is lovely. The thing to know about Uhuru is that is still has a beach when the tide is in, unlike some of the other resorts further along the coast. The little bay is charming, and you can literally spend the day watching the changing scenery and the fishermen as they arrive and leave.

The accommodation is absolutely perfect for a beach holiday where you just want to laze about in a bikini and slops all day.

Close by in the village are several mini markets, and check out Hamu for local food -- the chapattis are great, as well as the passion fruit and avo juice - try it.

Chat to the Masai strolling up and down the beach, pole pole shopping. And shop from them as the prices are half of those in Stone Town. Also most people are very keen to try out there English so you can have some great conversations.

It can be windy, but this is actually a good thing, as it cool things down. You can usually find a sheltered, sunny spot as well. In the week I was there the wind tended to pick up in the evening, and was never a problem for me.

Ana and her team are lovely and will hook you up with airport transfers and drivers for any excursions. But you might find it hard to actually leave Uhuru.

Buccaneer Diving has an office at Uhuru, and will transfer you to Paje where they launch from. If diving is your thing I highly recommend them as well.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews