We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Blue Oyster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Oyster Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a warm & informative reception here.
The rooms were so comfortable.
Everything worked. = )
The dinner - lobster for two - was the best I have eaten in years! We called out the chef to congratulate him. Service was good too.
Only a few recommendations....would be convenient to have a front verandah exit to the beach instead of leaving through the back door to walk around to the front. We looked silly climbing over the verandah rail all the time. The outdoor bar is such a nice touch but it closes down when the sun sets. I am sure you could boost bar sales if you kept this open later. Does it close to encourage guests for dinner > bed? We missed not having a pool at this place.
The staff were friendly and I wish the Blue Oyster Hotel all the best. "Asanteni sana" !!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. When the power cut during the night it was very hot. It might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    74
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
145
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent place if you want to escape for more touristic places in the Zanzibar such as Nungwi.
The staff is very helpful, the hotel has very good vibe and relaxed feeling about it. The food in restaurant is good and the view is amazing. Great place to chill out, meditate and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 12 after travelling in Kenya/Tanzania. The rooms are clean and spacious (No TV but not needed). Service is excellent throughout with wifi available at an extra charge. The food was very good, lots of variety and all cooked very well. The beach is very nice with soft white sand. Seaweed is harvested and picked when the tide is out but you can swim in the sea when the tide is in (3-5pm) no problem. Bring snorkelling shoes if you have them. Nice and quiet and very tranquil. Excellent value. They take card payment (5% additional charge).

Room Tip: Beach view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great time at the Blue Oyster Hotel. Staff was very friendly, especially Domeniko at the reception helped with any question you could think of. The room was nice and had a spacious terrace.
The beach is not for tourists only, but real life activities, like fishermen working on their boats or women harvesting seagrass at low tide, take place.
Diving is great too and we recommend a guided tour with a local guide, Jambinani is more intersting than you might think at first sight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The friendly staff will take care of all your transport needs and securely deliver you at the Blue Oyster. Once there, all you need is to relax! The rooms are spacious and very well looked after by the staff and most of them with a view. The beach is perfect at every time of the day (watch out for the high tides fun splashing times) and the confortable chairs will take care of you while reading,sun bathing or enjoying a drink! There is a conveninent restaurant in the resort which offers pretty good food, although the variety over 10 days seems a little limited. There are several possibilities for activities, diving, spice and Stone town tours, but did not experience any first hand. Staff at the reception is efficient, always polite and very very friendly. A great bargain that I would be happy to experience again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After travelling for 32 hours from Australia to get there, we arrived just before sunset and my jaw dropped open as I walked in!...What a view what a place!...
The staff were so friendly and welcoming - we were shown to our room, which was on the ground level and had a large deck with chairs and table. The room was so romantic - the four poster bed was stunning and the sound of the waves and the breeze -simply to die for.
My husband and I had fabulous time walking the beach, laying in the lounges overlooking the blue waters of the Indian Ocean and then having the lovely town so close with welcoming villagers who greeted you with Jambo!!!
We went snorkelling with Captain Zappy who was so much fun, and we could have kept snorkelling all day!....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the best hotel for this price range in Jambiani. At this hotel you get excellent value for money. The food is excellent and the service is also very good. The employees are very helpful and friendly. A dive centre is located next to the hotel and diving is possible just of the shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
1.8 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster Hotel

Property: Blue Oyster Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Oyster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Friendly Place Hotel Next To The Beach Offers Rooms With Sea View And Rooms In A Court Yard, Open Terraced Restaurant With An Extensive Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Oyster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Oyster
Blue Oyster Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing