We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beatiful beach, lovely service and great price Quality!”
Review of Blue Oyster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Oyster Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beatiful beach, lovely service and great price Quality!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I truly think this is one of the countries best lodges in this price range. I was overwhelmed with the location, the standard of the rooms and the fast and friendly service.... The beach is among the whitest of Zanzibar and the sea is as azure blue as you can get. The sea view rooms are spacious and the double bed is ginormous! I just loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    74
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
145
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our 3-night stay at Blue Oyster was quite comfortable. The staff gave us a very friendly welcome and were helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were cleaned very well every morning and sprayed for mosquitoes every night. They have a lot of nice places to relax outside plus a second floor restaurant with an excellent view and generally, very good food. Although I wouldn't recommend eating all of your meals at the restaurant as it can get expensive quickly. Most of the dishes are 15,000 Tsh (~$10) or more without drinks. The included breakfast was usually pretty good but varied a lot. We were surprised the first morning at how limited it was: eggs, fruit and some bread. The following day there was cereal, eggs, mini-pancakes, meat, cheese, fruit and multiple types of bread. Our last morning was somewhere in between the first two days. We were happy that there was real coffee at least every day.

One thing that surprised me was that Blue Oyster only had soap and shampoo available for purchase. There was liquid soap in the rooms, but that was all. Every budget hotel I've stayed at in TZ offered soap and most places that were more expensive offered shampoo as well. It probably sounds minor, but after a long trip we didn't have a lot left and expected them to offer at least soap. If you are planning a longer trip and stay here, just be sure to bring enough of your own until you get to another place.

The seawall outside the hotel has its positives and negatives. No one ever bothered us, but during the high tides, you could not swim or even sit on the chairs as the waves crashed over the wall.

Electricity in Jambiani can be a little sporadic, so we were glad Blue Oyster had a backup generator. Therefore we never had any issues with electricity during our stay even though it went out at times. However, we were without water on our last morning for a few hours. I'm not sure what happened, but they did fix the problem.

Jambiani is a great place to experience local life and relax. A taxi from the airport should cost no more than 50,000 Tsh. If it's within your budget, I would recommend Blue Oyster for its friendly service and relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schuaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Such a nice few days at the Blue Oyster. German run leads it to be very efficient and a breeze to sort everything we needed. Rooms are perfect and the restaurant gave us no reason to look elsewhere. Personal feel with the staff remembering our room number etc. A couple of things For that 5th star; tv somewhere (had to find one elsewhere to watch the Murray final), and Wifi would be an appreciated add on rather than the netbook rental option that is offered. Thanks very much, lovely village and hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dafyddloughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After two nights in Stone Town, we took a transfer over to Jambiani Beach to stay at the Blue Oyster. I booked our room and prepaid one night for a deposit. They accept credit cards with a 5% surcharge. The charge during June was $120 a night for two persons. This includes breakfast and ocean front room.

The rooms are really nice and they are clean. They even come during the evenings for turndown service and changing towels. This is a really well-maintained property. The food however is so-so. Their breakfast is however fantastic. They actually provide a lot of choices. Here's a hint for other meals you might have there: Don't order dessert because whatever they serve for dessert that you have to pay for, they actually serve the very same bread (yes it's not really cake but some sort of breakfast bread) the next day at breakfast. Save yourself 4000 shillings! You can have as much of it as you want in the morning. Also, don't order coffee because you also get that for free until 1030 am (when breakfast is over). Same coffee just save yourself 5000 shillings!

Staff here is friendly and helpful and their English is good. The General Manager is German which makes sense since most of the guests were also. We got to go snorkeling through Captain Zappy who visits the property and works with the hotel to arrange snorkeling trips via his boat. There is also a scuba diving company right across the street (Easy Blue) that you can arrange diving trips with. They also co-own a tour company that can arrange Spice Tours, etc. It's a one-stop shop for Zanzibar. The only thing is that you are pretty much isolated there. There are no shops or anything around and even though there's other restaurants along the beach, it's simply easier to sit and eat at their hotel. We had lunch at one other place but ate all the rest of our meals at the Blue Oyster. Like I said, the food was so-so. Could be better especially for the prices they were charging. It was like NYC prices for entrees that are really not worth paying more than $10 for but come out to nearly $20. A personal pizza costing nearly $10 is sort of more than I expect to pay in Africa especially when they use salami and not pepperoni :)

In any event, I enjoyed my stay there but it easily cost us over $300 a day for two people including meals for a room that was ocean view but without A/C. That's a lot for low-season in East Africa, even if it is in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: spend the extra money for an ocean view rooms. the views are worth it alone but you really need that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lavie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I arrived at the Blue Oyster a broken woman, post-Kilimanjaro. I needed R&R and the Blue Oyster offered just that. White sands, good weather and a stunning setting - it was just what I needed.

First off, the staff are amazing. The general manager (I forget his name) was super helpful and always there with a smile. Everyone who worked there was happy to help - and that made our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. The garden staff are so hard working - the flowers and bushes added such a beautiful touch and each morning a gardener was out with a rake and kept the gardens in great shape.

Food: breakfast was good - a choice of eggs, fresh fruit, pastries and freshly squeezed juice / tea and coffee- sometimes we were offered muesli too. Being lazy, we ate lunch and dinner there every day too, though apparently the Italian Sale e Pepe nearby (walk left along the beach and it's around 5-10 mins away) is pretty good. We met a couple who had eaten lunch at a nearby tourist college (lunch between 12-4) which they highly recommended, but unfortunately we missed out. Lunch and dinner at the Blue Oyster was good though - fish, seafood and European dishes such as lasagne.

Tours: We organized a couple of tours via the Blue Oyster and they were good, though VERY expensive. The tourist college mentioned above offers tours at a fraction of the price, though I don't know where it is - but I am sure the Reception staff would be able to help. We also went snorkelling with Captain Zappy, who was the coolest guy - we spent a morning with him fishing too, and it was so much fun. If you want to go out to sea, definitely consult Zappy!

Rooms: Beds are HUGE and the rooms are clean. Before going to dinner you can hand your key into reception and they will prepare the mosquito nets and spray the room for you (though we didn't see many mozzies). The showers were pretty nippy, but I guess you can't expect boiling hot showers in Zanzibar :)

Only gripe is the price of the Kemi organized tours. Mohammed our driver for them was a very fun guy, but it'd be nice if the trips came a little more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UncleOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After 5 weeks in Tanzania, Uganda and Kenya it was a welcome relief to arrive at the blue Indian Ocean, white sand, good food, interesting and big rooms coupled with good customer service and a genuine welcome. This Hotel was recommended to us and we are happy to pass this advise to anyone looking for good value and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

What an excellent place to stay at Zanzibar! You get welcomed by the contrast of white sands and green vegetation and colorfoul flowers, then the rooms with beach view were so nice, roomy, clean, neat, romantic, full of fresh cut flowers..very large balcony with magnificent views all around, lovely bathroom, plenty of windows inside the bedroom.
Restaurant is just a minute away, you can go there barefoot, and sit and realx, enjoying the fantastic views, especially at sunset, when you can watch the fishermen out at sea, and local people passing by on the beach.
Food was excellent, and freshly caught by local fishermen. Staff was warm, helpful, always with a smile on. Drinks on the beach so delicious! You get quite spoild there I must say, It`s so hard to go back to reality from there! I keep missing my mango smoothie now!
Thanks to Anwar, Domenico, Mce, Mohamed our driver, and all the other hotel staff that made our stay so nice! We were left with lots of memories and unforgetable images of Zanzibar, not to mention the many unbeliavable photos we took.
The best part of all was having the place just for ourselves for a coplue of days, since it was low season!

Room Tip: For only a small difference in price, the beach rooms are an excellent choice.Overall prices at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sil183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
1.8 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
555 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster Hotel

Property: Blue Oyster Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Oyster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Friendly Place Hotel Next To The Beach Offers Rooms With Sea View And Rooms In A Court Yard, Open Terraced Restaurant With An Extensive Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Oyster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Oyster
Blue Oyster Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing