We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place for a beach holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de Coco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa de Coco
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Jambiani
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the place for a beach holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

nice place right on the beach for a fair price. good place to hide, because it is located outside the village and the beach is less passed-by. rooms are airy, have beach towels and a hair dryer.

Faustin guide is very friendly and will help with any (any!) Entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    76
    18
    16
    8
See reviews for
26
140
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic holiday with my friend spent in this small hotel overlooking the white sandy beach of Jambiani.
Strengths: friendliness and courtesy of the owners and all the staff, excellent food, great variety and abundant, exceeding our expectations! the rooms are simple, clean and tidy. Wonderful long walks on the beach during the hours of low tide offers a unique spectacle in the eyes! Also carefully organized trips which will accompany Faustino like a guardian angel, I recommend the sunset in Stone Town and snorkeling all' island of Mnemba. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam so trips to Zanzibar are a regular feature of our lives here. We booked Villa de Coco this time and fully intend to make this our regular beach break. The staff from Paolo and Cristina to every support person in the hotel was fantastic...courteous, well-trained and efficient. The rooms were great and our porch with it's ocean view was a little slice of heaven. What really made this however was the food...to die for and a refreshing break from the usual Tanzanian fare perhaps a little more expensive than elsewhere but well worth it. I noticed someone else commented on the "simple" breakfast....maybe they have changed it up but my breakfast was a feast.
People have expressed concerns to me about the beaches along this coast and i have been to some where it was pretty rocky but this was not and low tide walks were fascinating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is not my first visit to Zanzibar as i used to leave in Zanzibar.During trip this holiday,Villa de Coco was recommended to me by a friend. I must confess that i was pleasantly surprised.
I finally get the opportunity to enjoy a cold iced spice tea upon arrival and then at the barwhere a wide range of home made fresh juice are available.
The hotel is located directly on the beach, only 11 rooms, all with sea view, clean and simple. The well tended gardens, excellent value for money.
We benefited a good food, varied and tasty and enjoyed to chill at the bar.
The staff and owners are very pleasant and efficient.
During meal time, the waiter arranged a table for us in the bar instead of the restaurant.
They Were attentive but not obstructive Which is a must in Zanzibar.
Looking for an intimate place of Jambiani on the beach with nice service and reasonable prices, do not hesitate to try this little resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samora_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Much has been said about this little and very nice hotel.
We had taken a while to choose our hotel and were very pleased that we had decided on his one.
We had an excellent view of the sea and beach. The room was simple and was kept really lean by cleaning staff. The staff were fantastic especially the bar and restaurant staff - very well trained and polite and friendly. Food delicious and plenty of variety, fresh fish daily, resh fruit served on the beach all day.
I would recommend using the tours from the hotel. We found the guides to be nowledgeable. We had friends who used the less formal tours and had a terrible experience. I would recommend this resort to anybody looking for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The meals were expensive compared to hotels in the area. Simple breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandSELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

With my husband spent 2 wonderful weeks in this charming little hotel. Positioned directly on the white sand beach, a few rooms neat and clean. The owners, an Italian couple, Paolo and Cristina we have welcomed with familiarity, and do not miss anything we have ever done, always present and very attentive to the needs of their guests.
The restaurant offers a varied menu, grilled fresh fish, pasta, excellent fruit and the dishes are very tasty and plentiful.
We hired car for a few days, and with the advice of the owners have visited the fascinating Stone Town, the northern beaches and the forest of the monkeys our own.
We spent a whole day Chumbe Island, really deserves !
I apologize for the errors but I do not speak English very well.

Thanks for the warm hospitality, I think we'll be back soon as your guests!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Astrid_CParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
1.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#5 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
28.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Coco

Property: Villa de Coco
Address: Main Road Jambiani | P.O. Box 526, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Coco 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace here is at the top: just a lively reception, a romantic restaurant, the bar on the beach and only 11 comforting rooms in 4 pretty bungalows; everything is in perfect harmony with the natural environment, overlooking our luxuriant tropical garden and directly leaned out on the warm water of the marvelous Indian Ocean. Forget the stressful life and let your internal clock takes its natural cycle back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Villa de Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Coco Hotel Jambiani
Hotel De Coco
Resort De Coco
Villa De Coco Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing