We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Rock Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at Coral Rock immensely! The daily snorkelling, fishing, boat tours, swimming with the dolphins and other arranged trips were great. The rooms were clean and simple, there was a power cut for a couple of hours one evening but that's hardly surprising considering the rural location. The manager explained that the hotel where in the process of having electrical generators installed to alleviate the problem, along with other improvements initiated by the new management.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially the hotel manager. The restaurant service was a little slow at times but I wasn't in a hurry and the food and cocktails were great. The swimming pool was ideal for relaxing and watching the sunsets but this hotel’s best feature has got to be its location - directly on the beach. At high tide the azure waves break on the rocks just below the restaurant and the receding tide exposes sandy beach most of the way out to the coral reef. The view was phenomenal!

All in all it's a beautiful place and the hotel facilitated my visit to Zanzibar wonderfully, from the moment the hotel’s driver met me at the airport upon arrival until departure two weeks later.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris75uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    174
    55
    26
    30
See reviews for
50
240
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

From the friendly staff, to the idyllic setting, divine food and cocktails as well as the spectacular snorkeling, Coral Rock offered everything needed for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday! The rooms are simple yet adequate and the fact that there are air conditioning units in the bedrooms makes up for all the shortcomings. Our days were spent swimming, reading (definitely take a book), swimming with dolphins, visiting islands, snorkeling and relaxing with the evenings being spent indulging in seafood and mingling with other people in the constantly buzzing Rock Bar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went to Coral Rock in April 2009 and had an absolute blast.

The room we stayed in was clean and everything worked without a problem, I did hear from some of the other guests their rooms weren't as nice though. The owner of the hotel told me he's moving to live at the hotel shortly so I'm sure these things will be sorted out very soon.

More importantly, the location is stunning. You're right on the beach at high tide and with low tide the view is amazing looking far into the ocean from a beautifully located swimming pool. When we first arrived there was a lot of seedweed on the beach but that was washed away by the ocean a couple of days later.

What I enjoyed even better was the interaction with the staff. They are incredibly friendly people who make brilliant cocktails and even better lunches&dinners. Although food and drinks aren't served as quickly as they are at home, I refuse to believe that people want to be rushed on their holiday. I liked the local saying Pole Pole (take it easy, or something like that) and if you are that relaxed I couldn't care less if it takes a bit longer for the food to be served. Especially if the quality is that great.

The tours I did were very good, I can recommend the dolphin tour as well as the three island tour. Also, snorkling with captain chicken is time very well spent.

A special comment to the manager Christian, what a legend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik039414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Into the Blue

I did not think a place existed where I could exhale the stress and tension of everyday life and regain some semblance of myself with a deep inhale. It happened, out there, in the blue.

A hop, skip and jump from Johannesburg to Zanzibar is all it took my husband and I to find paradise. Stepping off the plane, the warm air immediately breathed new life into us and the island feeling started a trip that no barbiturate could match.

Bumping along in the combi with the wind rushing through us, the courtesy bus for our destination at Coral Rock Hotel worked its way down to the South of the Island. Hundreds of palm trees passed lazily by and villagers carried on about their business which looked like the business of doing very little.

After about an hours drive, we reached a small dilapidated village boasting little more than a few goats and chickens. In these surrounds, who knew that what lay tucked away behind a modest gate with a sign that promised a hotel could be a piece of pure paradise. Coral Rock Hotel exceeded expectations.

White washed bungalows, sweet smelling Frangipanis, and an eternity pool greeted us as we were shown to our comfortable room. All of this faded into insignificance however when we stood on the deck of the hotel restaurant and looked out into the blue. Exhale stress, inhale pure blue therapy.

Coral Rock Hotel has captured the essence of an island holiday. From long walks on the white beach when the sea disappears to a trip on a dow to snorkel or swim with the dolphins, Coral Rock Hotel offers everything you need to do as much or as little as possible. Its beauty, hospitality and vibe gave my husband and I everything we needed to restore our souls. We are returning to Zanzibar this year and Coral Rock Hotel will be our therapist once again.

Tracy and Neil Hill

Helpful?
2 Thank Hannoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Slightly shabby hotel (in need of some paint, reliable aircon units & darning of mossy nets), but lovely staff and an absolute STAR of a temporary manager (Chris). He really went out of his way to accommodate us two wheat-free vegans, and facilitate other aspects of Our enjoyable weeks stay there.
Big Love to All!
ÜxÜx

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianmieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JambianiNeil, Owner at Coral Rock Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 22, 2009
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are going into our low season (April and May) which is pretty much the only time of year we are able to get into the rooms and facilities in order to make the necessary repairs, maintenance , painting etc that the hotel requires. The hotel's location, almost surrounded by the ocean at high tide, means the hotel is exposed to extreme conditions which take a higher toll on the hotel than people realise. We've also just had our busiest year yet, and this high occupancy has put extra strain on facilities. So, right now, the hotel is in a slightly shabby state, but thankfully in two weeks time we can get stuck in and sort that out. This low season we'll make our largest investment in the hotel to date and carry out extensive renovations and upgrades to virtually everything. We look forward offering our guests an even product and service in 2009 than ever before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We arrived on a baking hot day and the sewage smell of the seaweed was overwhelming.
The room was an absolute disgrace. It was described as "deluxe" but it was filthy and the sheets were grey, stained and unironed. We stayed one night and then relocated. We waited more than one hour for lunch - only the CD player was working efficiently! The management style was far too relaxed - our complaints about dirty bedlinen were met with complete disinterest. Value for money? You would have to pay ME to stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susancheadlehulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JambianiNeil, Owner at Coral Rock Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 14, 2009
There is a period of roughly six weeks in the year where we experience some seaweed washing up on our north beach. Normally this happens in March. This year it came a month early and a lot of it too. Usually the seaweed deposited is picked up and cleared by the next full moon tide and clearing it daily tends to be futile as more washes up until the spring tide takes it away. There is a period of roughly 7 days between neap and spring tides and we try not to interfere with the natural ecosystem by clearing the weed before it can be removed by the tides. However ,should the spring tide not remove the seaweed we then take to clearing it.
It's possible this guest was there at the point just before neap tide after which we hired the village soccer team to clear up the mass of seaweed.
After 5 or 6 days, there can be a strong smell before clearing depending on the heat and rain. On most occasions mother nature clears this seaweed up for us in a single tide. this year it was not the case.
Regarding the wait for food...
We use gas for cooking and most of our food arrives in between 20 and 30 minutes when we are serving hotel guests. We are not dependant on electricity. We do get a lot of visitors from the surrounding hotels eating at our restaurant and this sometimes accounts for a slightly longer wait . I have been to many other establishments in Zanzibar where you wait from one hour up to 3 hours. I can assure you, that for Zanzibar, we're amoungst the quickest to get the food on the table.
With regards to dirty linen, this is not acceptable and I am highly embarrased. I have spoken to management about it.
It is possible that the request to change the linen was directed at non-english custodial staff and not our customer facing staff that speak English. We'd appreciate hearing from this guest if this was not the case, so we can take it up with the staff member concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Guys, this place is lovely, the rooms are basic, very basic and are cleaned daily but you need to not expect an aweful lot, they are airconditioned but we moved between 3 rroms and only one was actually working, the location and friendlyness of the staff make up for that.

The transfer from the airport all already paid for was a mess, it was not there , then it could not fit us all in and we sat for 2 hours at the airport, we finally had to organise an addittional taxi to get us all there. When we arrived, they said they did not have enough rooms for us, we had already paid our deposit to Niel, the owner, and we were forced to have half or party go and stay in another hotel down the road for the first night! Not ideal. and not a good start

There was a new manager there, Cristian, and what a bloke, he bent over backwards for us to try and make our stay as pleasant as possible. I take my hat off to him , he really went above and beyond. he had only started there 2 days before we arrived and was truely dumped in a sinking ship and was doing his utmost to bail out the water. He even organised a braai for us on request.

Captain Chicken is great, definitely do the snorkling.

The food was really surprisingly good. The beer was cold, most of the time, and you had to be a little flexible with what you wanted to drink, the stock ran out daily.

Over all, a budget resort in paradise.

Suggesstion to hotel: spend a bit of money painting, fixing the plumbing and air conditioning and on cleaning materials and cleaning training.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
29.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
46.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
15.2 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock Zanzibar

Property: Coral Rock Zanzibar
Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani 4125, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Rock Zanzibar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Rock is one of the most popular small to mid-size hotels in Zanzibar. We offer incredible views and an authentic Zanzibari experience that encourages local and cultural interaction within a functioning Swahili fishing village. Our aim is authenticity & value for money. The unrivaled view and location has been home to international fashion shoots by the likes of Sports Illustrated and FHM, as well as almost half a dozen reality TV shows on account of the striking and unusual natural beauty and panoramic vistas that can be enjoyed from every room and facility at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Rock Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Rock Jambiani
Hotel Coral Rock
Coral Rock Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing