We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The facilities of the hotel are quite nice: pool, rooms, and restaurant. We stayed in the cottage 12 with a nice private patio outside with benches, sun loungers, hammocks and a nice view of the ocean and dawn. One of the big issues in some African countries is power and during our stay in Zanzibar we had several long power shortages in other hotels. However at the Coral Rock within seconds, the generator system began supplying electricity.

Breakfast was good with a variety of cereals, eggs, pancakes, hot drinks and even sashimi. However, we got only pineapple and bananas every day, in spite of the variety of fruits they have in Jambiani,
The only issue was that in the bathroom during the first day we found a lot of cockroaches, despite the insecticide we spread out. Fortunately, they solve the problem the next day and cover with cement the possible holes where they might have been entering.

By the way, it was a bit difficult to find a website of the hotel and contacts to make the reservation. We sent a message through a site in Facebook, so we could contact them and got the booking.

Room Tip: Choose any cottage with sea view, they are beautiful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    154
    49
    22
    28
See reviews for
43
213
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My parter and I went straight to Coral rock after a few nights in Dar. We researched many places in Jambiani while in Australia but are so glad we chose to stay here.

The staff are fantastic, they go out of their way to make sure you are happy and are willing to sincerely apologize for even the smallest of inconveniences to their clients.

The restaurant is the best we have eaten at in Tanzania, they do western food better than many places at home and we had the joy of bringing in New Years at this hotel with a well planned, relaxed and intimate seafood buffet.

4 nights at coral rock was not enough for us, so we have booked to return again later in our holiday to spend a bit more time here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeanderingMoose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here during our African trip in November.
This hotel is quite out of the way, and takes about an hour to get to from Stonetown by taxi.

This hotel is a nice hotel, but we had the most basic room, with twin beds (we asked for a twin bed room) It seemed all the other rooms had a better interior decor.
The hotel had some nice grounds, but unfortunately the beach wasn't what we were expecting, as there was quite a lot of broken glass in the sand, still lovely to look at though.
The hotel restaurant was lovely, if a little overpriced, but there really isn't that much around!
I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We paid 70$ for a private double. This was a little pricey for usbut relative to other options in the area it was worth it. It was very hot so the air-conditioning was awesome. The food was spectacular. An amazing filling breakfast is included. Lunch and dinners were not cheap but so good and worth the cost. The pool Is beautiful and clean and overlooking the ocean and so nice to have when the tide was out since it getsso hot and you don't always feel like walking out a km to get to the water when tide is out. Beach was amazing, beautiful when the tide was in or out with lovely soft white sand.highly recommend Jambiani Beach forbeautiful peaceful getaway. Coral rock has free windsurfing boards and kayaks for guests to use. Only certain months is it windy for windsurfing tho. Water was very calm and very warm while we there. Not a lot of good snorkeling on this part of the island tho. Just a couple patches left with some pretty fish and you really need someone to take you to these few tiny spots to find them. We weren't sure about staying here as some reviews mentioned loud partying. it was very quiet while we were there but it sounds like occasionally when the guests and owners are inclined they can get a party going in the restaurant so one should be preparedfor that as a possibility and some rooms are quite close to restaurant. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at Coral Rock with my 7 year old twins and we absolutely loved everything about it. It's in the dreamiest location, has a fabulous vibe and friendly, helpful staff. We travelled around Zanzibar a bit while we were there and stayed at at least 5 other hotels - some more expensive and more 'recommended' but none of them were as good and we always looked forward to coming home to Coral Rock. The pool is great. The food is great. The rooms are great (a good mix of rustic and cool). The owner and his wife are great. We loved lying in the hammock and staring at the incredible view of the white sand beach and the turquoise sea, the tide coming in, the locals fishing and collecting seaweed and various kitesurfers, kayakers (?) and snorkellers. We went sailing in the Coral Rock dhow and on their catamaran, and my daughter and I had a fabulous time learning to kayak. I've travelled all over the world and this is one of my favourite places. We'll never forget it and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with my family after a safari in Uganda and it was just what we needed to unwind for a few days. We were lucky that it wasnt so busy when we came so we were very happy with the service and especially the quality of the food in the restaurant.

The views from the beach bungalows and especially from the restaurant (which is suspended over the ocean) are just amazing, as is the beautiful warm water just outside the rooms!

The highlight for us was swimming with the dolphins, although this is not run by the hotel per-say, they were very helpful in organising the excursion for us.

There seem to be a plethora of hotels along the Jambiani beach line, and we only stayed at Coral Rock so I cant compare. But I would recommend it for someone looking to unwind for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSammyB788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Truly fantastic location, right on the amazing beach where the ocean comes almost all the way to your bungalow's door every high tide and then retreats hundreds of meters. Great for swimming, kayaking, windsurfing and snorkeling at high tide. Amazing for long walks with locals harvesting seaweed at low tide. During the full moon it becomes pure magic.

The hotel is cozy and sweet, nice bungalows and great restaurant on the water. You have to try the tuna sashimi and their twist on caipirinha - one of the best cocktails I have ever tried (konyagi, dark local organic honey and limes - almost too good to be true).

The place is expertly managed by Neil and Jill, cool couple from South Africa; Neil also spins fine tunes in his spare time, as a DJ.

All in all - great experience and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
46.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
19.1 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock Hotel

Property: Coral Rock Hotel
Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani 4125, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Rock is one of the most popular small to mid-size hotels in Zanzibar. We offer incredible views and an authentic Zanzibari experience encourages local and cultural interaction within a functioning Swahili fishing village. Our aim is authenticity & value for money. We have arguably the biggest menu in Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Rock Jambiani
Hotel Coral Rock
Coral Rock Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing