We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after our safari and a stop in stone town. Casa del Mar is a great place to relax. The rooms are really nice and clean. The garden with the pool is great. But best thing is the beach just in front of the hotel, one of the most beautiful beaches we saw at zanzibar. The food is really good. And the staff is really nice, everyone is very very friendly and makes you feel at home, espacially Alex. Great place, and Jambiani is also a nice village with nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at Casa Del Mar back in October 2011. I was alone and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I must admit, it's not really a place aimed at the solo travel but I enjoyed the experience none the less. A South African couple were even kind enough to invite me to eat with them one night in the hotel. In terms of facilities, they're fairly good, they have a nice swimming pool and plenty of space for lounging. Service was top notch, staff were always friendly and more than willing to go out of their way.

A tip for anyone planning a visit to the hotel and Jambiani in general. It's a quiet town, it offers some of the best beaches I've ever laid my eyes on personally. If looking to be in the 'centre of the action' this is probably the wrong place. If looking for relaxation and a bit of solitude, I encourage you to to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GCL135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Providing a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of Stonetown, Casa Del Mar was the perfect place to relax and unwind. Beautifully located, the hotel looks out on to the stunning Indian Ocean and a lovely stretch of beach. The rooms themselves are fairly simple but well furnished, very comfortable and nicely decorated. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which are a bit more airy for those hot nights! Room 6 has one of the nicest views over the ocean and pool. The pool was very refreshing and a great addition to the hotel but swimming in the sea was great too!! Staff at Casa Del Mar were among some of the loveliest people we met in Zanzibar - always willing to help and organise things for a group of 18!! Food at the hotel was fantastic, with a menu boasting many fish dishes but with a variety of other options. I can only recommend this hotel, good value, a lot of fun and perfectly located.

Room Tip: The upstairs room (number 6) has a balcony overlooking the pool and Indian Ocean. Pretty special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JNotts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Case Del Mar for six nights in July 2012 and really enjoyed are stay. We have an upstairs room with a loft bedroom, which was nice, but a smaller room would have been good as well. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the staff was great. I'd recommend this as a good option for Jambiani.

And there was plenty of hot water!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank igs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great hotel, service, food, everything! We had a really nice vocations in Casa del Mar, hotel stuff is very nice and kind, with good knowledge in english. I would like to say everything was perfect. Hotel is located in center of village, you have also some small shops nearby.
We also booked a trip in hotel and it was great and well organised.
All thanks to all the stuff, especially hotel manager Wilimina, who was really kind and if we needed something we just asked her and he organised everything in a minute.
We've been in three different hotels in Zanzibar and this was the best!
We will return back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JozefBled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Good Hotel, Good Service.

Everything is very natural there and you the hotel makes you feel in Africa with luxury. Prices are also ok.

The also have a pool. Food is little bit more expensive but worth it. The take Euros, Dollars, TSH and Credit Card (6% add charge).

Positive:
- Safe at the room!
- Nice hotel overall
- PERFECT rooms!

Negative:
- Breakfast could vary a little bit more or maybe a buffet would be nice
- They have a rat problem...
- Jambiani is not the best place in Zanzibar
- DO NOT book the trips in the hotel. Too Expensive.

Overall: Excellent for Africa, medium for Europe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Simple but clean room, lovely little pool and good food (although perhaps a little overpriced). Most of the bar staff are also really friendly. Jambiani is a great village, the beach is stunning and really lovely that the locals use it so much too, so you really do get a glimpse of village life. Kim's restaurant in the village is also a great place to go and eat and he will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel just to make things even easier! The cultural village tour is also well worth doing (but we would advise negotiating the price beforehand). They do have problems with the electricity going off, which also powers the water, and although the hotel has a backup generator they didn't switch it on until 6pm so some days when we stayed around the hotel for the day there wasn't flushing toilets or running water for the day. Overall it is a good hotel and not bad value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
1.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
30.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
267 reviews
28.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
3.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani

Address: 22 Jambiani Beach Front, Jambiani 4146, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: $66 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar Hotel Jambiani, Officially Rated as a HOTEL, Casa del Mar Hotel Jamabiani 14 rooms are located in Two buildings. All rooms have sea view and are tastefully decorated and equipped with East African art and furniture built from eco-friendly local materials. The eight rooms on the ground floor have bathrooms with shower & WC and a private balcony. The six second floor suites are all double-story with a spacious living room, bathroom and balcony on the first level, and with a king-size futon bed with mosquito net under the thatched roof. For families, additional beds can be placed on the first level. All rooms have ceiling fans. Casa del Mar has its own emergency generator, as electricity blackouts are not unusual in Zanzibar. Furthermore, We have invested in a 90,000 liters underground freshwater tank with three powerful water pumps, providing the rooms with hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing