We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Woke up in Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast
upstairs leading to the master bedroom
master bedroom upstairs
living room
Sail on a local fishing boat directly opposite the villa
emerald green bathroom
blue bedroom
blue ensuite bathroom
shower in the blue ensuite bathroom
roof terrace
bar on the roof terrace
Kytesurf spot in the lagoon directly opposite the villa
garden pergola
patio
patio
kitchen
gym at the back of the house
the lagoon at low tide
the beach opposite the house
swim in the lagoon at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tourist11...
1 review
“Woke up in Paradise”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We arrived late in the evening and in the morning we woke up in paradise. When we scrambled to the roof terrace in the morning to see where we were, we just could not believe the colour of the crystal water and the white powder like sand. We saw the photos but now we were here and its just like the photos if not even better.

For breakfast the Chef, headwaiter and another two waitresses came to the house and presented us with a mouth watering fruit salad, pancakes and eggs. So perfect sitting on the roof terrace looking out at aqua green crystal waters of the Indian ocean. What a dream!

I have to say the food the Chef Mahmoudi cooked us was the best food I've had. Everything was fresh and so tasty, so many different types of fish and crabs, calamari and my most favourite the octopus. Wow, our holiday almost turned into a foodie holiday - what was Mahmoudi gonna cook us next! I recommend tell him to surprise you.

The Villa is amazing. It's perfectly located next to the beach, with a huge garden with different seating/dinning and sunbathing areas. It even has outside gym just in case you ate too much. I really loved the decor. It is so original, styled in a very authentic way and kept within a true character of Swahili chic.

A visit to Stone town is a must as you can capture the true untouched character and culture of Zanzibar which can be arranged by the villa manager as well as lots of other little trips to secret beaches.

The roof terrace is the perfect place to chill in the evening as it has a bar and sun loungers. So take your favourite bottle and cigar and enjoy watching the stars and listening to the waves.

Definitely going back to this Paradise Mwendwima Villa :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zsav9322
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special kind of heaven”
Reviewed December 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are so thankful for the peace that we found in Raphael's villa, and in Jambiani. It was a magical family vacation, like no other. The comforting indoors and picturesque outdoors offered us many different spaces for enjoying meals, naps, playtime, drinks, books, and relaxing moments. Our hearts and souls felt at home, surrounded by the sweet sounds of the village families, ocean waves and blissful rains. The daily feasts of fruits, salads and 5-star meals by Mr. Mohammed were out of this world. Just outside our door, the long walks in the low tides were as enjoyable as the soothing swims in the higher tides.

And the best part - THE PEOPLE. They were as warm, as colorful, as refreshing, as genuinely welcoming as the Indian Ocean herself. Mr. Mohammed, Saidi, Nifasi, Nasra, and Shadia were a dream team of angels who cared for the house and for us with such kindness. Kim, the manager, took care of everything we needed outside of the house - transportation, excursions, etc. He was always an easy WhatsApp message away. And our girls developed instant friendships with the kids around the village and on the beach. Thanks to the Mwendawima Beach Villa and its surroundings, we just couldn't have found a better choice for a low-key family-friendly dream vacation.

We will never forget the hearts and smiles of Jambiani, Zanzibar. Wish we were still there...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosin C
Paris, France
1 review
“what a beautiful place, what a superb villa, what team and its chef in the house!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent holiday, Jambiani beaches are beautiful, the colors are amazing, and different every hour of the day. From the large terrace of the house, we observe this breathtaking spectacle.
The house is spacious, with different atmospheres to choose according to the desire of the moment (aperitif bar in terrace, breakfast with sea view, dinner barbecue in the garden between palm and banana tree, sports under the bougainvillea, siesta in the garden under the exotic parasol ...). The rooms are very comfortable, you sleep in the sound of the waves, and you wake up with the smell of the wood fire signaling the beginning of the activity of the neighboring village.
The staff is super friendly, the decorations on the beds are different every day. The chef prepares meals worthy of excellent restaurants (starter, main course and desert) with fresh fish from the day's fishing. The manager takes you to places you can not miss and negotiates prices for you (boat trip, swim with dolphins, stroll through the forest of Jozani to see the red colobe monkey, visit the spice farm).
A place to recommend for those looking for real unforgettable holidays, from the first hour.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dscarboro...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing beach house”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This place is absolutely amazing - steps from the beach with a wonderful staff and beautiful accommodations.

Hats off to the chef, Mohammed, who cooked excellent meals each night for my partner and I and each night we were blown away - lobster, octopus, delicious garlic soup - it was all SO GOOD.

Cannot recommend this place enough!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D
2 reviews
“No place like it”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you're going to Zanzibar stop searching and book this house. We were with a group of 8 and enjoyed this beautiful Arab style house for 5 nights. We didn't want to leave. My girlfriend celebrated her birthday during our stay and sweet Mohammed even prepared a birthday cake. We felt at home from the first moment. Kim, the manager booked a very nice Safari blue tour for us, too. He even took us to a party for Eid Muhbahrak. Thank you all, Mohammed, Said, Kim, Kim's brother, all the ladies and Raphael for the pleasant contact in preparation to our stay. If you're going, don't forget to walk through the nice village of Jambiani and have a chat with the locals. It also helps you realise that there's a real, beautiful but much more sober, world behind the beach life of Zanzibar/Jambiani. Also, don't go out for dinner because the best food on the island is prepared by Mohammed and his staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelique...
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family stayed for four nights in Raphael's amazing villa. We could not be happier with our stay. The house is spectacular, surpassed only by the professional and friendly staff. A special thank you to Mohammed and Saidi who provided fine dining quality meals and service, and Kim who organised all of our excursions and airport transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Good”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

That was so perfect stay.The cook Mr.Mohamed is worth to work in 5 star hotel restaurant.Villa has nice style clise to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing