We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast
living room
Sail on a local fishing boat directly opposite the villa
upstairs leading to the master bedroom
master bedroom upstairs
emerald green bathroom
blue bedroom
blue ensuite bathroom
shower in the blue ensuite bathroom
roof terrace
bar on the roof terrace
Kytesurf spot in the lagoon directly opposite the villa
garden pergola
patio
patio
kitchen
gym at the back of the house
the lagoon at low tide
the beach opposite the house
swim in the lagoon at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
angelique...
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family stayed for four nights in Raphael's amazing villa. We could not be happier with our stay. The house is spectacular, surpassed only by the professional and friendly staff. A special thank you to Mohammed and Saidi who provided fine dining quality meals and service, and Kim who organised all of our excursions and airport transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Good”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

That was so perfect stay.The cook Mr.Mohamed is worth to work in 5 star hotel restaurant.Villa has nice style clise to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, luxury and service!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When you think you have seen a lot of nice places in the world... all of a sudden you spend a week in Mwendamwima. This nicely decorated and equipped villa provides you with anything you need.
A few strolls away from the beautiful beach, a lot of privacy, your own garden and the best rooftop terrace in Jambiani. Whether you enjoy your breakfast, afternoon drinks or dinner this is the place you want to be. Overlooking the Indian ocean, feeling the breeze to keep you feeling comfortable. Mohammed the cook and his staff will help you to feel at home from the minute you enter the villa. Great food and service with a smile.... no hesitations I will come back to Mwendawima again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our most beautiful vacation”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our Kitesurf trip to Zanzibar and our stay at the villa was amazing! Kim, the crazy reggae fan manager, who knows every policeman on the road, Mohamed, the king, with his world famous dishes (we miss him every day), and his staff, who made our vacation, and our doughters 10th birthday unforgettable. And last but not least Raphael, who takes care about us, answerd our all stupid questions. Respect and thanks for you!
One more thing - if you come to Jambiani, bring some simple toys, books, pens, color pensils, exercise books for the kids! They will be very happy!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franckib2...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Mwendawima!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 6 days at the most beautiful villa at Jambiani. I travelled with 2 friends and my 14 year old daughter and loved every moment of it! The villa must be one of the most beautiful in Jambiani, which is a quiet, peaceful village. We walked around the village, swam in the ocean and had the most wonderful meals with Mohammed and his assistant Saaidi. Tip: You really do not have to eat anywhere else than with Mohammed, just think beautiful salads, divine chicken curries, prawns, lobsters, beef steaks and fantastic deserts! The few times that we did eat somewhere else, we longed for Mwendawima. Kim the driver and all around fantastic guy was there for our every need, took us to the local hangouts and nothing was to much to ask. We took a trip to Nungwi, up north, for a day of snorkelling and swam with the dolphins, which was close to Jambiani (amazing!). Thanks Raphael , Mohammed and Kim for making it one of the best holidays ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quick response from owner and overall location of villa
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dapolito
Middlebury, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely amazing place to stay. Raphael, the owner, was responsive and extremely accommodating prior and during our stay. He checked in with us during our 6 day visit to confirm that we were well taken care of. Chef Mohammad was unbelievably accommodating. Not only did he and the staff of 3 others prepare the very best meals of our entire 3 week visit to Tanzania (no reason to eat anywhere else on the Island), he recommended and arranged taxi services and places to visit while we were in Zanzibar. Mohammad was available 24/7. The beach was clean and the locals we encountered were curteous and gracious. The Seaweed Soap tour is a must as was the snorkeling (booked with the Kite surfing/ snorkeling/ scuba-diving outfit just 2 doors down from the Villa) was amazing. My family and I have stayed in many places around the world and this Villa, the owner, and the staff was one of our very top rated places to stay. It met my highest expectations. Lastly, you can expect to pay about $40 for a taxi from the Airport and to pay about $50-$60 to go to Stonetown and back (Our driver stayed in Stonetown the entire time we were there...... 12-13 hours including travel time). ATMs are only available in Stonetown (1 hour away). Have fun!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Liked least: It was all perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyvali
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful private retreat, excellent service”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Raphael's Mwendawima Villa was incredible! An excellent experience from beginning to end.
To start, communication with Raphael was prompt, friendly, and efficient. All of our questions prior to booking were responded to quickly and he provided all the information we required to make our decision to book there and was always available to field any questions we had, including while we were travelling through Zanzibar. He made it very easy for us to book our transfers, pay for our stay, even recommended a great spot for us to have lunch while we were in Stone Town. (As a side note, while we were in Stone Town, our travel plans had to be altered slightly in that we had to vacate our rental in stone town. Thankfully the Villa was able to accommodate us 1 day earlier than expected and they were fully prepared for us when we came in, including a warm meal waiting)
Upon arrival, we were met by the warm and friendly staff at the villa, including the villa Chef Muhammad (who we were very eager to meet after reading all the stellar reviews here of his cooking), Saeed, his right hand man and Nasra, the sweet lady who helps around the house. They were all helpful, warm, attentive and very friendly. We were travelling with our 3 young children, and the staff was also great with all of them.
The villa itself is lovely, nicely decorated with gorgeous zanzibari doors and beautiful lanterns and arches. It is kept very clean and was the perfect space for our family of 5. It does get a little warm as there is no AC, but the ceiling fans in each room definitely help, and the breeze that flows through the upper floor is lovely. The terrace offers the perfect spot to lounge, to enjoy the breezes, and the stunning view of the beach and ocean, and to enjoy a meal.
Speaking of meals....they were indeed fantastic! And, we had high expectations after reading all the positive feedback. Chef Muhammad and his team did not disappoint. Each morning a beautiful breakfast of fresh fruits, fresh juices, crepes and eggs made to order was prepared at a time suitable to us. And we opted to have dinner there all but one night...each meal was prepared with fresh ingredients, tailored to our preferences, and served always with a big, humble smile. The soups were delicious, the bread was always fresh, the entrees were fantastic, the portions quite generous and dessert was always a decadent treat. The staff here truly makes for a wonderful experience. And Chef Muhammad definitely goes out of his way to please. My kids were keen on having fresh mandazis (east african fried doughnuts) and he even prepared these especially for us. Thank you Chef for the VIP treatment.
The ladies who come to take care of the house also did a good job of keeping everything clean and tidy, and the daily laundry service was a welcome surprise! Each day, my kids were excited to see their beds made up with creative designs :)

The property boasts beautiful grounds, with the terrace up top, and the garden in the back, shaded by bougainvillea trees...a beautiful space to relax and take it easy.
All rooms were of fair size, with linens and towels provided; beds were comfortable and with mosquito nets which were turned down nightly. Also wifi worked fairly well for the most part.
If i had to make any suggestions for improvement of the property, it would be that the interior lighting is dim for my liking (really though, you will spend most of your time outside)
The property is also right at the beach. The views of the ocean are breathtaking, and you will see the most stunning sunrises here.
As well, the tidal effect experienced at Jambiani Beach is a real treat. We had never experienced the ocean like this before. Words cannot describe the beauty of the surroundings when you walk all the way out in the sea at low tide. The colours of the water, the temperature of the ocean....all perfection. It really is an experience. This is a quieter part of the beach than other areas in Zanzibar and it is wonderful. Walking along the coast and exploring the area was also a nice way to pass time, and we really enjoyed seeing the ladies harvesting seaweed, and the fishermen with their boats. This was also a nice spot to observe small sea life like sand crabs, sea spiders...and we collected some beautiful shells. Having water shoes on hand made it much more comfortable to walk along and into the sea. If you are out during the day looking for a nice coffee or a bite for lunch, we enjoyed visiting Blue Reef, and Nur Hotel had a pool that the kids enjoyed as well.

Jambiani is a quiet village, and there isn't a lot to do right nearby. That said, we were more than happy with that. This is the perfect place to come to get away from it all. We were easily able to take a couple of day trips from here back in to stone town, spice tour and to do the dolphin tour.
We would recommend getting whatever supplies, snacks, cash you need prior to coming to Jambiani as it may be hard to find those things.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay, and we left with full bellies and full hearts. Thank you to all for the wonderful stay. We look forward to coming back again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean was fantastic and the prepared meals were amazing
Liked least: the lack of ac (though the trade off is the fresh air, which was awesome)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing