We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“unforgettable experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast
living room
Sail on a local fishing boat directly opposite the villa
upstairs leading to the master bedroom
master bedroom upstairs
emerald green bathroom
blue bedroom
blue ensuite bathroom
shower in the blue ensuite bathroom
roof terrace
bar on the roof terrace
Kytesurf spot in the lagoon directly opposite the villa
garden pergola
patio
patio
kitchen
gym at the back of the house
the lagoon at low tide
the beach opposite the house
swim in the lagoon at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Lizappp
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unforgettable experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the villa in February for 10 days and had the most fantastic experience. It was my first time in Africa and I love the fact that I threw myself straight into African village life! You just won't be able to forget swimming with the local kids, exchanging greeting with the women as they rest in the shade and you are more than welcome to play football with teenagers before sunset.

The ocean is unbelievably beautiful. And the best thing about it is that is changes every day, throughout the day. Whether it's at high tide or low tide, you can swim in the crystal clear waters, enjoy breathtaking walks on the white sand and watch locals harvest seaweed and go fishing. The beach is all yours!

The house itself is a gem. It's decorated with amazing attention to detail and with respect to local architecture. The doors alone will tell you so much about history and local craftsmanship! The rooms are comfortable, the roof terrace gives the most incredible views over the ocean and complete privacy if you want to sunbathe. It's also perfect for watching the night sky, the moon and the stars. The garden is certainly worth mentioning as it is full of exotic plants and serves as another location for enjoying the sun but also for a romantic dinner underneath passion fruit trees.

And of course, as everyone else has mentioned.. the chef is a star! I still dream about the culinary journey he took us on. His cooking is of exceptional quality and his genuine care and interest in your satisfaction is very touching. Do not eat anywhere else.

I am planning my next trip;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen O
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spotless and clean with a beautiful view”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The house is lovely as described by others and the chef is very good. There is a beautiful view from the second floor. However renters should be aware of the following:

1. The house is NOT on the beach. there is a hotel between the house and the ocean
2. There is no air conditioning in the rooms. The downstairs is very stuffy and there is little ventilation. while there are ceiling fans it is not sufficient.
3. As suggested by the owner, it is very important to agree on all prices ahead of time and in writing with the staff at the house.

We would also recommend that the owner add a water filter so water can be boiled and filtered before drinking. Water bottles are not environmentally friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the second floor
Liked least: sleeping at night; there was no air conditioning and the rooms are very hot
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Thanks for your review and I am glad you had a great time in my villa.
- The house is exactly as per photos. On one side you have a gorgeous view of the lagoon where the sunbeds are, the beach is just oustide and the sea comes right near the house at high tide. On the other side there are beach bungalows with coconut roofs(but certainly not a hotel). These are cute bungalows, not high, and they actually offer good wind protection to have dinner on the terasse enjoying the sea view.
- As specified on the website there is no air conditioning as I want an open air beach villa naturally ventilated (not a sealed house with air conditioning..)
- Yes, I advise to pay the chef on a daily basis but it's in his interest really. Guests intend to forget how many dinners they have had with him but he works freelance so he will never forget:)
- no problem, I will think about water filters for those who are environmentally aware.

Kind regards
Raphael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justindos...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical! An experience you won't regret :-)”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the most magical trips of my life! Jambiani is the place to be if looking for a getaway in Zanzibar. We spent most of the days exploring the island but were always more than delighted to come back Mwendawima Villa. The Villa itself is breathtaking - clean and more than well kept. Everything was organized and in order. The bedrooms comfortable, the bathrooms impeccable. The beach amazing - each day the tide goes out and you can literally walk miles upon miles. Nothing like I've ever experienced. The water is crystal clear, a turquoise blue you cannot image. Very clean and warm! This is the perfect place for any group (family & or friends). The house comfortably holds 8 (couples, 4 double beds).

Each morning we woke to an amazing breakfast of fresh fruits, eggs and juice. Mohammed, the chef, might be the best cook on the island. I say this on a very serious note. There is a small fee for lunch and dinner (~10 euro per person), but trust me on this, eat every meal with him. Especially if you appreciate good food, you won't find it anywhere on the island. Mohammed is a world class chef and will prepare the best of fresh fish :-) We explored our first few days but gave up rather quickly, his prawns and fish curries were simply too good. He'll also arrange for any excursions (and he'll get you the best price). We snorkeled one day, did the spice route another. You should definitely check out The Rock Restaurant as well (though prices are way overpriced and not nearly as good as Mohammed's cooking). But still worth it to spend the day on Michamwi Pingwe. He arranged for the local villagers to take us back and forth from town as well.

My only complaint is that the house is not entirely on the first line of the beach. There is a small resort with thatched huts in front. While this is not something to be concerned with, it should have been mentioned in the description. You'll see what I mean in the pictures, for all intensive purposes, though, you do feel as if you're on the first line!

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any other questions / concerns. Our family had one of the most magical experiences on Zanzibar Island and it was mainly due to our accommodations at Mwendawima Villa. We will visit again soon :-)

Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mohammed - best chef on the island :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaPina...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing can go wrong!”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to zanzibar with my wife and another couple. We stayed in this beautiful villa for a period of 3 nights, but regreted we couldn't stay for much longer. Jambiani became our favourite place in the whole island. The ocean is breath taking (beware that in the morning period, during the low-tide, it is not "swimmable" in the conventional way, still plenty of fun to enjoy, through the natural swimming pools that gather along the shore - that said, from Lunch time and beyond, when the high tide comes, it is an amazing mild-temperature and clean-blue ocean to dive in). The small village and it's sorroundings, the Nice people and the whole atmosphere, it makes the mere act of strolling around just fantastic. There are bikes to rent, as well. As for the villa itself, i would recommend it both thumbs Up. It's located in the beach, in the sand. The garden is very pleasent, the upper Terrace is beatiful, the rooms are pretty nice. No mosquitos or bugs or any other insects to be found anywhere. The staff is amazing: muhammed, the cook and "general Manager" is the most Nice person you'll meet. Speaks very fluent english and will absolutely amaze you with is jaw-dropping dishes, made with the freshest products he, himself, picks everyday from the market. You can ask for anything in specific or, like we did, surpreender yourself and let him surprise you. There is also 2 ladies that keep everything neat and tidy, and also muhammed'S helper. Nothing can go wrong. Your stay Here will be absolutely unforgettable and will make you want to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas08...
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Mwendamina Villa!
A very luxiorous and clean house with a perfect staff :)
Especially Mohammedi did a fabulous job. We enjoyed seven perfect dinners and can only recommend to book meals with him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mohammedi :)
Liked least: to leave the house :(
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p l
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed a few days at the Mwendawima Villa and had a great time. Great villa with a lot of privacy, view at the beach and all you need. An amazing chef, Mohamed, cooked for us every day. Tried lunch some where else and were disappointed. Mohamed is a great cook and we would highly recommend people to let him cook for you. The beach is very quite, mainly locals. The village is extremely quite, nothing to do, no banks, hardly any shop. A great place if you look for peace and relaxation. Will for sure be back as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and Chef
Liked least: Fact that we had to leave again
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro N
Matemwe, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my best choice ever”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

this house and his architecture is amazing. Very well maintained. Stunning entrance area with lobby character in arabic style. Very nice rooms!!! Some with seperate entrance, some with garden entry. A big and nice bathroom with shower in the groundfloor. Amazing water pressure and very comfortable shower heads- You have Chillout areas everywhere around the house. Beautiful garden with a big table, lounge chairs, bbq, beachbeds, and the birds singing by the morning breakfast down there. A sweet kitchen with all utensil what you need. Go to the local people and buy your food there. The absolutly highlight is the first floor and his bedroom with bathtub and an amazing terrace with ocean and village view. You can enjoy upstairs the sunrise and sundown. You watch to the ocean in a very privacy atmosphere and you can not believe how many colours and impressions you get. The staff is friendly and made a great job. The chef and his assistant cook all what you want in a very nice taste and with a nice service. The booking and payment is well organized! You feel absolutly safely and care there. You make 30 steps out of the house and jump in the indian ocean. And when you leave...you can`t wait to come back there. Thanks for this place!

highly highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the architecture is the best what i have ever seen on zanzibar for a rental vacation in this size
Liked least: enjoy sunset with a gin tonic from the house own rooftop bar!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing