We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Jambiani
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a fantastic little spot just off the beach in Jambiani. Definitely worth going! I wish I could have tried everything on the menu, it all looked delicious. I had the fish samosas, which were fantastic. We had the fish sandwich and the chicken sandwich and they were both very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the best food you'll eat on your holiday!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We found this place on the last day of our holiday, after eating in a series of reataurants ranging from ok to grossly overpriced charred bones of lamb.

BUT this reataurant will blow your mind!!! The food is prepared from scratch - you can hear them grinding the coconut in the kitchen- so be prepered to wait 1 hour or more. But hey, it's worth it!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMF_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ate here a few times and enjoyed it each time.
Very good food and reasonable prices
Friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coylehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had dinner there and it was very good. as usual you will have plenty pf time for enjoy your holiday waiting for the food but in the same way it would happen everywhere in the island. pole pole mean slowly slowly and restaurant are very good in this. ask for the seafood salad...it is delicious

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank umberto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Jambiani”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We only found this place at lunch time on our last day in Jambiani. For starters I ordered the coconut juice and the guys went and cut a nut from the tree just outside the restaurant (arguably it doesn't come fresher than that). I had one of my favourite dishes, grilled octopus, for the main course and it was by far the best version of this Zanzibar classic I had all week. However, my wife picked the winner when she ordered the spicy fish samosas. They are among the tastiest dishes I have tried. Getting ready to leave we were asked to wait as they were preparing a surprise for us. They then served us complementary Crepe Suzette with banana cooked to perfection (mind you that I'm usually not big on desserts). When we left we has skipped our original dinner plans and made a reservation at the Stone Culture Restaurant :)

Helpful?
Thank 4871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Culture Restaurant also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to The Stone Culture Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing