We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food”

Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Jambiani
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here while we stayed in Jambiani. We ordered the spicy fish samosas to start and mains were garlic and lemon prawns and the fat fisherman which was octopus, fish and calamari in one dish. Not only was the food fantastic but we also were give a yummy coconut salad with the starter and nuts while we waited for our food that we didn't even ask for which was great. The mains came with a big bowl of rice and an assortment of vegetables in tomato sauce. The service was brilliant two very nice guys running the place and to top it off complementary pancakes at the end filled with lemon juice sugar and one with banana! Fantastic food at great value this place should be visited by anyone staying in Jambiani. One of the best dining experiences we had while in Zanzibar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Must do for Zanzibar cuisine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very authentic place. Small, only 4 tables. Very very kind and attentive owner, treats you better than in a 5 star hotel. Very good seafood. Best coconut salad ever. Not expensive, though. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnlcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Freshest seafood possible, great prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Okay, so you sit in this tiny 4 table thatched shack with a sand floor and you can hear the ocean. The offer a fairly broad menu from which you can choose fish, prawn, octopus curries, soups and some veg and beef options. Def order the coconut salad with amazing dressing. We ate there 4 times on our trip because we loved it so much. Complementary lemon crepe dessert was icing on the cake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneyMFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

In that place you can eat delicious sea food, very very good veg carry and many others specialities. The owner is very kind. If you stay in Jambiani, you have to eat there, it's one of the Zanzibar's "must do".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karabinbartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Delicious local food-very cheap and huge portions. The service was great and you really could taste the love they put in to the food. There are a lot of hotels etc in this area and I think it is very important to support this fantastic local restuarant. The real taste of Zanzibar an absolute must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Culture Restaurant also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to The Stone Culture Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing