We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Jambiani
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Delicious local food-very cheap and huge portions. The service was great and you really could taste the love they put in to the food. There are a lot of hotels etc in this area and I think it is very important to support this fantastic local restuarant. The real taste of Zanzibar an absolute must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real african experience!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled to Zanzibar during low season. That means a lot places were closed. This restaurants opens on demand:) Even if there was an important football game when we came to eat, they opened it for us and within few minutes all the staff was ready to cook for us. The main waiter treat us as we were the most important guests he ever had. Offered us free coconut salad, and did not let us go without trying his best in the world pancakes with lime. Totally loved it!! Everything is fresh, the fruits, vegetables, the seafood is just like it was caught in the ocean 5 minutes ago. When the light was cut, the waiter came and said with the smile 'We are in Africa!' Put the gas lamp and served us the starters. Hakuna Matata!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In love with this restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am in love with this place beyond words. The food is really delicious and everything is prepared fresh. They were always offering us additional dishes for free - starters and desserts! Amazing fish in crust, mango chutney, coconut salat. The staff was really polite and friendly. In the meantime, while we were waiting for the food, they also gave us playing cards and anti-moscito repellant and afterwards brought us back to the beach. The prices are low. It was not planned that we went there, usually we were passing by this place because of its strange name, but I'm truly happy we did went in and feel I have to spread the word about this place:) I hope when I come back one they, they will still be there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Szmagalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for authentic Zanzibari cuisine at a great local restaurant!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great small locally run restaurant in Jambiani village. We came across it by accident while walking along the beach. You will find it nearer the north end of the village. It is not right on the beach itself but on the road running through the village, but it is sign-posted from the beach and a path leads you to the restaurant.The restaurant is small and simple with just four tables. It is ran by a young, local entrepreneur who calls himself Mr Pepe, and his brother and friend, Mr Baby-Fish. Between them they provide great quality service, and absolutely delicious fresh food which was without doubt the tastiest we had on holiday. We paid 20 USD for two people which is about half the price you would pay in any of the European hotels in the neighbourhood. We ordered a main course and soft drink each (beer and wine also available) and Mr Pepe kindly brought out a delicious salad with fresh coconut to eat while we were waiting for our meals. The meals took a while to prepare but only because everything was being cooked from fresh. Delicious chicken or fish with vegetables cooked in creamy coconut, and the tastiest mango chutney I've ever had with lovely chunks of fresh mango in it (especially good when they're in season). It was great chatting to Mr Pepe and his friends too and after we finished eating they led us back to the beach so that we wouldn't get lost. If you are visiting Jambiabni I would highly recommend visiting the Stone Culture Restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Culture Restaurant also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to The Stone Culture Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing