We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
84
61
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
84
61
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jetty bar animation team all inclusive package buffet style water aerobics free tour swahili words swimming pool per day hip hop bed and breakfast beautiful nature paradise on earth fresh food low tide amazing hotel nice beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 161 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Nice resort, clean, very relaxed atmosphere. Personal is very friendly.
The food is simple but tastefull and more then enough.
If you are looking for a romantic holliday with youre partner, Zanzibar and reef beach resort are is the perfect spot.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Resort20105616559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

If you want unbeatable value, incredible views and amazing service...you absolutely have to go Reef and Beach resort Zanzibar!!! Pictures cannot do this place justice, just incredible. Added bonus is the huge list of cocktails. Definitely going back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Curiosity545986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

This place gave me a lot of peace. IT is not a big resort but its perfect. Dont expect luxe , but everything was good. The people Where So Nice , the food was good. The service was good. The rooms are clean. And the Jetty bar was perfect

Room tip: Everything good
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hann-khad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

I was staying at the Reef & Beach Resort with my dad for 7 days.
We had a wonderful stay there. The resort is so beautiful and it’s so close to the sea. The rooms are very modern and clean.
The staff was awesome and always very kind!
Especially the animation team was so nice, they do a really good job!
We loved it, we will definitely come back!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank emilykauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

After the first visit to this resort in 2018 we decided to revisit it again in 2019. At first glance nothing has changed until you get settled in. Now you only receive a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival, thereafter you can either buy your own at $1 per bottle or you must get a glass full from either the bar or restaurant. You are not allowed to fill your bottle there though ??
The matresses are hard and uncomfortable, they can at least rotate them after every check out then at least you will not be lying in some ditch. You have to pay extra now for changing your pool towels and for a safe key ?? The towels in the rooms can definitely do with replacements as some are so used and not in a good condition any more. Staff is still friendly and helpful. I appreciate the fact that the owners are expanding and making some changes however you cannot build on additional rooms, fill them and then the rest of the facilities such as pool & restaurant are not able to accommodate the higher volume. Rather close the resort for a month and complete all your renovations then re-open. Please could you also add some more rails or hooks to the bathrooms of the standard rooms for your towels and wet clothing.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindaO2474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvana P, Manager at Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Linda,
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you did last time.
Recycling does NOT exist in Zanzibar and with having 71 rooms we produce a lot of waste. One of the actions we took for producing less waste is by handing out a bottle each person for their stay. We reduced the plastic bottles waste by 68% because of this action. We don't refill bottles as it it very unhygienic and many people can get stomach problems.
As for the mattresses, everyone likes different mattresses. I remember that after your complaint about the mattress we changed yours to a softer one. We have many different types in store in case people are not happy with the current ones in the rooms.
We charge for safe boxes and pool towels since 2 years, so in 2018 you should've paid for them as well.
To be honest, we did think of creating more space because of the extra rooms we've built. We added lots of tables and chairs more in the restaurant (and there is still room for more) and we made a sundeck around the complete Jetty Bar with sunbeds so the swimming pool won't be overcrowded.

With the room renovation of this year we will definitely think of more hanging space in the bathroom, thanks for the tip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews