We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full score”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full score”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and loved every second of it. The staff is great, the food is diverse and everything just feels effortlessly pleasant. The location of the hotel and its boutique qualities made us feel like being part of Zanzibar fantasy. Perhaps it is the attention to detail that makes Mamamapambo so special. Christina and Paolo put their heart and soul in it and made it a wonderful experience for us. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    45
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
208
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and every moment was perfect - location, food, staff, managers Cristina and Paolo, beach, cocktails.. the hotel is very small (only 5 rooms I think) and therefore it is great place when you need to relax and get away from every day heaviness.
The view from the top terrace was stunning and quickly became our most favorite place. Hotel also organizes great trips, staff is very helpful to arrange for anything you may need during your stay.
One of our favorite parts was the traditional swahili buffet dinner - the dinner was under the stars and the food was 5 star quality!
If you're looking for a beautiful place with great atmosphere you do not have to look further - this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms - they have excellent balconies and are also away from the noisy-early-morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmatysova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel right on the beach. Owners (Christina and Paolo) and staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful.

The food was exceptionally good and there was always a good choice.

Only a few rooms (perhaps just four or five) here so it's quiet and romantic.We had a superior room (huge/ comfy/ very nice) for two nights and was lovely but upgraded to a jungle room for the last three nights (even bigger/ very comfy and had fantastic views of the beach/ sea, though the bathroom set up was a little odd - jungle like even).

One of the nicest places we've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. We stayed in room #1, which has a veranda with a wonderful ocean view.

We found the included breakfast to be exceptional and generally enough to hold us over until dinner at 8 each night. If you choose to get it, the multi-course evening menu doesn't disappoint. We were delighted with just about everything.

Overall, we would rate the service exceptional. We were very pleased with the service, so much so that we left a large tip for the entire staff to share.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileysisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in August for 6 days and loved it. The food, the rooms, the staff, the location, and the beach were all great. The Swahili dinner night was particularly good. Paolo and Christine are wonderful hosts and will help you with anything you need, including trips to Stone City or to other restaurants. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Jungle room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonovabeach_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights in room #6, which is a very dark room because of no windows and very dim lightning.

Big bed - please note that they do NOT turn down room for the night, so remember yourself before sunset, to put down the moz-net and spray.
A little downer to think it's being done, since noone told you otherwise at the welcome briefing...

Nice big bathroom, with amenities and hairdryer.

The staff seems welcoming and friendly, allthough to me it actually felt kind of forced.
But they are all very nice and friendly.

Food is mediocre at best and in my opinion highly(!!) overpriced!

The hotel is decorated in mainland-africa-style, which is beautiful decor in it self - but to me it was kind of off, since i absolutely adore zanzibar-style and -decor, and was visiting Zanzibar and not mainland.
But that's a matter of personal taste.

The location of Mamamapambo is perfect, right in the middle of Jambiani, a small village, with the true authentic feeling to it, aswell as being right on the beach, where one can watch the everyday local zanzibari life, which was my reason for choosing to visit and stay in Jambiani.
(I could do without the begging kids though - but i guess some "wellmeaning" tourists actually do give them money - which you should NOT do!)

I loved my stay in Jambiani,- whether i will choose to stay at Mamamapambo again when i come back, i have yet to decide - but i kind of doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoaMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Paolo, Christina and their staff run a fantastic hotel. The rooms are unique and located just steps from the beach. The town of Jambiani is sleepy, but you do have the opportunity to explore nearby beach bars and restaurants and watch local life go by. I suggest an afternoon snorkeling which is quite reasonable and a stunning way to experience the sea.

Room Tip: All rooms are just steps to the beach. If you're concerned about not having a balcony, there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
43.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
432 reviews
29.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
467 reviews
43.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Property: Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing