We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in July 2013 and loved the place. Beatiful and cozy hotel, nice and friendly staff, very attentive management, great beach and delicious food for a reasonable price. It was the perfect place for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuriaCarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    35
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
167
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This small, intimate property is a delight! The ambiance is a blend of stylish aesthetic sensibility and warm, comfortable hospitality - refreshingly free of the supercilious affectation of 'high-end' resorts. Distinctive local decor is on display in each of the six cozy rooms. Cristina and Paolo are gracious and attentive hosts. Delicious meals are served on a central terrace. Just beyond: a panoramic view of the pristine beach and fabled Zanzibar coast. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this little oasis of charm - merci! ....Michel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onirisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After much hilarity driving up and down trying to find Mamamapambo (the hotel sign kept going walkabout so there is no sign currently - take Fabio's mobile number if you struggle to find the hotel!) we finally arrived last this little oasis outside Paje.

We stayed in rooms facing the sea - one upstairs with lounge area and one downstairs with outside swing seats. Very cute and plenty of space for luggage etc.

The team here are really great - friendly, unobtrusive and fantastic food!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here the first week of Feb and were really impressed with the welcome, the room, the service, the food...... you get the idea!
Seafood is the core of the menu with an Italian taste which suited us down to the ground.
There are lots of activities to choose from locally, kite surfing, Safari blue, swimming with dolphins.... We decided to work through the cocktail menu at the hotel and forego all the active stuff( - I can recommend the Mojitos!)
For lunch there is a snacks and sandwich menu, order early because if you order a sandwich the chef bakes the bread specifically, and believe me, it's worth waiting for.

All in all a paradise destination

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room - preferably No.4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alginnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived by night. And were a bit worried when the car passing the village as we see nothing like a hotel nearby. But when we got inside…

The decoration is superb. Our room has a sea view and the beach is just few steps away. We could have nothing to complain.

The hotel is in a village quite far away from stone town (about 1 hr drive), there’re just one or two cafés nearby, and that is. so you should expect to stay, eat and drink in the hotel, unless you adventurous enough to explore the area around. But the place is so cozy and food there are excellent too (price very reasonable!), so you won’t find just staying and eating there a bad thing.

The owner, Fabio & Stefania, and all staff are nice and friendly. We hoped we could stay longer and enjoyed every moment there. Would recommend this to anyone who want to visit Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank immrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Fabio is a great host where you feel comfortable during your stay in this small hotel. Worth to stay however expect to be in a real zanzibarian village not touristic town.
You should keep tshiling to pay the sum since the exchange rates are too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakirca88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Hill, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Mammampambo. We just loved the room, and the overall building. Lots of thought has gone into the presentation of the property. Everything was very clean. Our only real complaint was that there was no airconditioning in the property, only cooling was a ceiling fan which really didn't do much. Our room was on the lower ground right in front of the beach which was a relief as we were able to get some of the sea breeze. The weather was very warm and humid so we found it very difficult to sleep. This was disappointing as this was our last stop in Africa after travelling for 5 weeks and all we wanted to do was relax. During the day everything was generally pretty good, we had a swinging day bed on our porch which was just lovely and with the beautiful view and breeze it was a pleasant and relieving change.
It was quite windy in Jambiani, we figured this must be the norm as there are lots of kite surfering companies around. So we had lots of seaweed on the beach. So not as spectacular as we had imagined. The sea water temperature is quite warm, which can be great for some but not really very refreshing. You also need to be aware that you can only swim certain times of the day due to the high tides. This is not the case further north.
Good points about Mamampambo, fantastic chef, we ate there everyday. Meals change daily but are delicious. Although staying out on this side of the island we soon discovered you really don't have many other alternatives. Prices for the meals were reasonable. Staff overall are lovely. Kept everything very tidy and clean.
A little disappointed that some things seemed overlooked. Most of the other resorts sweep the beach in the mornings to get rid of the seaweed, this was not the case at mamamapambo. Everything was so carefully placed and selected in the building yet considering this was considered to be a boutique hotel, there was no shampoo or conditioner in the rooms, or any special lotions. We don't want to be picky, but this is can really add a lovely touch to the room and make you feel like a valued guest. There was also no complimentary bottled water in our rooms, considering you can not drink the tape water, this really should have been supplied, not only to consume but for teeth brushing. Be aware there is also no pool, not really a problem as there is the ocean but considering the tide situation would come in handy.
Payment also is only accepted in cash. We were not made aware of this prior to our arrival hence we were charged a large surcharge to sort out the bill.
Given the opportunity to do things again would probably stay further north in an airconditioned property with a pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TanyaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
2.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
43.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#5 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Property: Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing