We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of SALE E PEPE - CLOSED

SALE E PEPE
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed next door at Sea View and wandered over to Sale e Pepe two times during my stay. Had a fantastic grilled cheese starter, great tuna carpaccio other reviews on this too) and great wine. It's all South African, what can I say?
I can understand some people might think this is on the expensive side, but you have to consider that here you get food that's prepared properly. Nothing hastily slapped together, or warmed up. If you're looking for interesting combinations, fresh food and a quaint little restaurant, make sure you visit this restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    45
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sal e Pepe review--French misconception??”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have never had anything other than really good meals at fair prices-and having stayed at Kipepeo which ChateauLover also reviewed perhaps they would be better off reviewing Chateaux in the Loire!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

To pay $18 for a slice of fish pie seemed way OTT - and way above London prices. Whilst the food was tastey, it seemed like profiteering by the Italian owners - shame - we would have eaten here regularly had we felt we were getting value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food! One of the best we had in Zanzibar!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely small place in Jambiani (North side of Jambiani).
Owned by Italian old man, very nice and helpful and explain the menu of the day and suggests some dishes.

The food is great! We took 4 dishes (2 for start, 2 main) and it was great! There are many choices, meat / fish / sea food, and we had a feeling no matter what we choose it will be great!

Very recommended, and the price is ok for what you get.
Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Local food in an independent restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We started out from Coral Rock to find sale e pepe. A long walk along the beach later we came across it. We went on a Sunday night and were the only diners there - possibly the only ones that night. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The place is owned by an Italian guy who had just left for Italy. This is a stand alone restaurant and not part of one of the hotels. The dining area is set back from the beach and has a pleasant and modern bech hut style. We ate the coconut breaded king fish with mango chutney which we thought was ok and the busara prawns (prawns in a tomato and wine wine sauce). The prawns were large and juicy although had a very fishy sea taste which I was wary of - but enjoyed them nonetheless. Prices are quite high and you can probably get just as good food for cheaper along the beach. Maybe when the place is bustling in the high season and has a nice atmosphere with diners from the surrounding hotels the experience is worth the extra price tag.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALE E PEPE also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing