We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“if it tickles your fancy to eat Italian oriented food in Jambiani ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SALE E PEPE - CLOSED

SALE E PEPE
Jambiani Beach | Zanzibar, Jambiani, Tanzania
+255 777 146 063
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $22
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“if it tickles your fancy to eat Italian oriented food in Jambiani ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

then Sale&Pepe is the best place to be; Mimo really upgradet the choice of food in Jambiani by running Sale&Pepe the Italian way... that will say; ALL THE WAY...! From the warm welcome by the oil lamps on the short way from the beach to the restaurant and the hospitable way Mimo and/or his staff welcomes you, to a good choice of excellent food, and to finish off this litttle party have some expresso and limonchello.... Best choice is to ask for "the-catch-of-the-day"!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterwerk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    46
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Food. Great Wifi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very cute little place set a stonetherow from the main beach along a well demarcated path. Can see the property clearly from the beach. Appears new and decorated nicely. At night when the power goes off on all of Zanzibar - they light lamps to illuminate the path to the beach. The staff is friendly. Food is reasonably priced and drinks are cold.
Huge bonus for the FREE and FAST Wifi. Keep it free, keep it fast, and people will keep coming!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crasht1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simple and tasty Italian/Zanzibarian diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although not directly located on the beach, Sale e Pepe has a nice atmosphere. It is somewhere in between an internet cafe and romantic restaurant, and that is exactly what it is.

We tasted four different dishes here. Three out of four were good, simple, Italian style main courses. There is one dish that was quite disappointing: the gnocchi with bolognese-sauce taste like dough with soup spices. We suggest to skip that one.

Everything else here is prepared right and cooked al dente, as it should be (probably thanks to the Italian owner). The ingredients are fresh and there is no abundance in strange sauces or weird spices as in some of the dishes of other restaurants in the area. The staff is also quite quick in preparing the dishes. In addition, the people working here are warm and friendly.

Overall, Sale e Pepe will probably not disappoint you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EazyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salepepejambiani, Manager at SALE E PEPE, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi EazyK
My name is Mimmo, and I am the Italian manager of Sale e Pepe in Jambiani.
Thank you for having highlighted so many nice features of my restaurant.
From your Tripadvisor profile I understand you are a good traveller and a competent judge, that’s why I do appreciate your review even more.
I’m very sorry for the bad experience you had with gnocchi in bolognese sauce, I don’t know what happened, because unfortunately I was in Italy at the time you came.
I hope you’ll be luckier next time.
All the best
mimmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Ha-Oranim
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pinch me,I think i'm dreaming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Could it be that in a small fishing village in Zanzibar I was at the best Italian resteraunt ever?Last night we were at the full moon special buffet at Sale&Pepe.The starters were amazing,the main courses excellent and the service so smiley . The atmosphere was inviting and warm ,the decor light and airy -and everything was highly profesional.Pinch me I may be dreaming.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best restaurant in Jambiani!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A warm atmosphere in a very intimate setting. Excellent food with a delicious variety of vegetables. Do not miss!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mapbologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALE E PEPE also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing