We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Location, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect Beach Location, Friendly staff”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent three nights at White sands beach bungalows. The price we paid included breakfast, which was plenty. The free internet and cable television in the rooms were working well, and the staff were friendly and eager to help. There is a bicycle rental place next to the hotel where we rented bicycle and explored Jambiani village. The village people are very welcoming. The only downside is that the ATM is located 30 minutes drive from the beach; to save time one should have the required cash handy on the way to Jambiani. Overall, we loved the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review and for your kind words about Jambiani Village and its people. We also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had an opportunity to explore the fishing village we are located at. As for the ATM we are still trying to coordinate with other hotels to place one nearby for convenience of our guests.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good value, honest price. The manager is very helpful, modest and polite and does everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The service is increadible, the breakfast awesome! In White Sand they serve the best breakfast we had on our entire trip! And while you enjoy this lovely breakfast, you can enjoy a tremendous, breathtaking view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and for your kind remarks about Jambiani White Sands! We are also glad that you have enjoyed the breakfast at our beach front restaurant and the stay with us.

You are always welcomed back at Jambiani and Zanzibar!

Best regards from the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place but unfortunately on our last day all our money was stolen out of our room were it was hidden in a drawer. We had left the key with the reception which was probably not the best idea even though recommended.
So a very bad finish of an otherwise acceptable but unspectacular stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for writing a review. I received a report that the guest lost around $80. We reasoned with the guest that there is a high probability that he has lost the cash on his way back from the pub a night before and not in the room as obvious other items were left intact including camera, a mobile phone and other valuable items which were at the same place he left and nothing was missing.

Furthermore, we were willing to assist the guest based on difficult situation he might be in being far away from home, but he declined the offer. Instead, he advised the manager that “IF FOUND” the cash to be given to staff as tip. Unfortunately nothing was found in the room as he might have lost on his way from the pub. We were shocked to read this very sad review about us, which is not a reflection of reality.

Since we took over the property 2 years ago there was NO incident as described by the reviewer. I commend this purely due to the honest of our team. Here I would like to add that the same housekeeper who cleaned the room of the guest above once handed over to me personally an amount of US$700 and Tanzania Shillings 2.1 million, which the guests forgot in the room when checked out. We did notify the guests on their way to the airport and the couple came back to collect the amount.

In addition, we do have a safekeeping facility whereby a guest has an option to leave any valuables with the manager for safekeeping with acknowledgment receipt from the hotel manager.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

White Sand Bungalows is a small destination, with seven separate bungalows directly at the quiet side of Jambiani beach. The room was clean and cozy. Thanks to Neema and her friend (sorry we don`t know her name) for the good service. All the stuff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and rich. The food was varied, spicy with interesting tastes and fresh. Especially the fresh fish!!!!!!! Thank you very much! We wanted to stay there only for a week but it was so comfortably and beautifully there that we decided to spend our whole time there. Greetings to all even to Mr. Dingo and Mr. Omar. We had a wonderful relaxed time. Asante sana friends, Claudia and Carsten

Room Tip: Bungalow No.6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarstenClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your very generous remarks! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed a message to Neema and Rehema and the rest of the staff at White sands and they thank you for remembering them.

Thanks again for writing and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013


Our 5-day holiday spent at Jambiani Whitesand was very comfortable. Our beach-view room was just on  the beach and we could  hear the waves.  We did enjoy the food and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Jambiani is between Bwejuu-Paje  and Makunduchi. These are nearby villages worth visiting.  We stay on half board and the kitchen staff would prepare the meals on our request whether lunch or dinner. The breakfast was also included which was filling and yummy with choice of tasty Zanzibari snacks! I Overall we are happy with the stay and we would go again! 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavenSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous words and for the review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday at Jambiani and chose to stay at White Sands. I will surely pass the message to the team.

Thanks again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our experience was terrible...bad food, with prices variable by hour, lack of hospitality and people with are trying to cheat you every minutes. Surrounding is very poor, not like in the picture. Hussein especially is not business oriented.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxxdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate very much the time taken to write a review. We do take every guest complaint very seriously as our objective is to ensure that our guests have enjoyable beach holiday.

Most of our guests are pleased with our beach location and its surrounding as well as our food. We have a standard menu with fixed prices, which are displayed in local currency as well as in US dollars. . However, we are always open to suggestions and how best we can serve our guests.

We received many positive feed back about our manager ,Mr. Hussein. Again, there is always a room for improvement in everything. I will appreciate very much if the reviewer can send us an email on how we can do the best to improve. As I mentioned earlier, we do take each guest complaint and suggestion very seriously.

Once again thank you for the time taken to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

lovely loaction right on the beach inside the village - convenient for nearby bars and restaurants. evening blackouts are disturbing - for some time generator is working, but on the night of his leave, and had to sleep without a fan hot).

the restaurant has a good wi-fi connection and there's a laptop for guest use.

Room Tip: choose sea view bungalows - they are worth to pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your good remarks about our beach location.

On electricity, there is general maintenance by public utility company to replace old cables,which is going on. However, we have in place a generator as power back up and we are now installing Power inverter as another source of electricity to back up in case of power failure. We hope the exercise of cable replacement to be completed by end of Feb-13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
2.6 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.4 mi away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambiani White Sands Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Property: Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Address: Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jambiani White Sands Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambiani White Sands is located right on the beach in the quiet tropical village of Jambiani on the South- East Coast of Zanzibar Island. About 30 to 40 mins drive from Zanzibar Airport, the Ferry and the Stone Town. Situated on the picturesque white sandy beach washed by clear azure waters, Jambiani White Sands is the place to enjoy the sun, the sea and the tranquility of nature the Spice Island of Zanzibar has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Jambiani White Sands Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing