We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves in white sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place but unfortunately on our last day all our money was stolen out of our room were it was hidden in a drawer. We had left the key with the reception which was probably not the best idea even though recommended.
So a very bad finish of an otherwise acceptable but unspectacular stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for writing a review. I received a report that the guest lost around $80. We reasoned with the guest that there is a high probability that he has lost the cash on his way back from the pub a night before and not in the room as obvious other items were left intact including camera, a mobile phone and other valuable items which were at the same place he left and nothing was missing.

Furthermore, we were willing to assist the guest based on difficult situation he might be in being far away from home, but he declined the offer. Instead, he advised the manager that “IF FOUND” the cash to be given to staff as tip. Unfortunately nothing was found in the room as he might have lost on his way from the pub. We were shocked to read this very sad review about us, which is not a reflection of reality.

Since we took over the property 2 years ago there was NO incident as described by the reviewer. I commend this purely due to the honest of our team. Here I would like to add that the same housekeeper who cleaned the room of the guest above once handed over to me personally an amount of US$700 and Tanzania Shillings 2.1 million, which the guests forgot in the room when checked out. We did notify the guests on their way to the airport and the couple came back to collect the amount.

In addition, we do have a safekeeping facility whereby a guest has an option to leave any valuables with the manager for safekeeping with acknowledgment receipt from the hotel manager.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

White Sand Bungalows is a small destination, with seven separate bungalows directly at the quiet side of Jambiani beach. The room was clean and cozy. Thanks to Neema and her friend (sorry we don`t know her name) for the good service. All the stuff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and rich. The food was varied, spicy with interesting tastes and fresh. Especially the fresh fish!!!!!!! Thank you very much! We wanted to stay there only for a week but it was so comfortably and beautifully there that we decided to spend our whole time there. Greetings to all even to Mr. Dingo and Mr. Omar. We had a wonderful relaxed time. Asante sana friends, Claudia and Carsten

Room Tip: Bungalow No.6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarstenClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your very generous remarks! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed a message to Neema and Rehema and the rest of the staff at White sands and they thank you for remembering them.

Thanks again for writing and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013


Our 5-day holiday spent at Jambiani Whitesand was very comfortable. Our beach-view room was just on  the beach and we could  hear the waves.  We did enjoy the food and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Jambiani is between Bwejuu-Paje  and Makunduchi. These are nearby villages worth visiting.  We stay on half board and the kitchen staff would prepare the meals on our request whether lunch or dinner. The breakfast was also included which was filling and yummy with choice of tasty Zanzibari snacks! I Overall we are happy with the stay and we would go again! 

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavenSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your generous words and for the review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday at Jambiani and chose to stay at White Sands. I will surely pass the message to the team.

Thanks again and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our experience was terrible...bad food, with prices variable by hour, lack of hospitality and people with are trying to cheat you every minutes. Surrounding is very poor, not like in the picture. Hussein especially is not business oriented.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxxdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We appreciate very much the time taken to write a review. We do take every guest complaint very seriously as our objective is to ensure that our guests have enjoyable beach holiday.

Most of our guests are pleased with our beach location and its surrounding as well as our food. We have a standard menu with fixed prices, which are displayed in local currency as well as in US dollars. . However, we are always open to suggestions and how best we can serve our guests.

We received many positive feed back about our manager ,Mr. Hussein. Again, there is always a room for improvement in everything. I will appreciate very much if the reviewer can send us an email on how we can do the best to improve. As I mentioned earlier, we do take each guest complaint and suggestion very seriously.

Once again thank you for the time taken to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

lovely loaction right on the beach inside the village - convenient for nearby bars and restaurants. evening blackouts are disturbing - for some time generator is working, but on the night of his leave, and had to sleep without a fan hot).

the restaurant has a good wi-fi connection and there's a laptop for guest use.

Room Tip: choose sea view bungalows - they are worth to pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your good remarks about our beach location.

On electricity, there is general maintenance by public utility company to replace old cables,which is going on. However, we have in place a generator as power back up and we are now installing Power inverter as another source of electricity to back up in case of power failure. We hope the exercise of cable replacement to be completed by end of Feb-13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here over my December Holidays and what a pleasure with our stay, it is definitely a great place to stay for a great price. We stayed there for 7 night and had no problems at all, Ussain and Abate where very welcoming and friendly and did not hesitate to help us with anything, when we needed our room cleaned, to rent a scooter, to go diving or whatever the case was they were always ready to help and always on the phone to find out any info we needed.

We stayed there on a half board basis and the food was always a nice home cooked meal with their potato chips being VERY VERY GOOD!!! The breakfast was very big and enjoyable and just generally a great value for money and a very enjoy stay.

Thanks Ussain and Abate you were of great help and we had a very enjoyable stay.

PS: The ladies would like some cupboard space if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your positive input! I have passed a message of your appreciation to Ussain and Abate and they are grateful for your kind words.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the food. We took a note of the cupboard and we will add the facility in each room as we continue improving our beach bungalows.

Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the worst accommodation that my boyfriend and I have ever stayed at. We have traveled extensively, on several continents including Africa, and are not high-maintenance people. However, I felt unsafe at the Jambiani White Sand Bungalows, due to the extremely unfriendly approach of the owner.

Here are the main things that we disliked:

1) After checking into our rooms, we decided to go check out the beach. The owner yelled at us and met us on the beach. He wanted us to check in immediately. Given that we were already on the beach, we said we would be right there after checking out the beach, He asked us how long that would be, checked his watch, and agreed to give us exactly 15 minutes.

2) When we checked in, my boyfriend had the entire amount for one night in his hands, at the view of the owner. My boyfriend asked for a receipt before paying. The owner told us that this is not how things are done there. We needed to pay now and would get a receipt in the morning, at breakfast. Given we had been yelled at already, we did not feel comfortable with that. The owner then told us to "Get out!". We were shocked... all we wanted was a receipt, we had the money ready. After asking him if he was serious and really wanted ready-to-pay guests to leave, he changed his mind and in an upset manner went to grab his receipt book.

3) While receipt-writing, the power went out. This upset him further, he became even more annoyed and complained that this happened every night there!

4) After we finally paid and got our receipt, he insisted that we come out to eat dinner. By that point, we felt he was unstable and really did not like us. I was worried about eating his food to be honest.

5) We ended up staying in our room whispering (they only have screen on the windows) because we didn't want to stir him up any more than he already was and we could hear him walking along the beach, arguing with other guests as well.

6) We settled in our room and at some point I lifted my pillow! I found a big piece of coconut under my pillow!!! :(

7) The next morning, my boyfriend told me we had to go through our bags carefully, because he saw cockroaches during the night. He killed one of them, but missed the other one he saw.

In my opinion, the facility is fine (minus cockroaches and coconut remnants), but the owner is aggressive and in my opinion on the edge of a breakdown. I would STRONGLY advice people to stay away, particularly women traveling alone. Had I been by myself, I would have been completely petrified.

We had planned to stay there 3 nights. We got up before the sun after our first night and decided to walk until we ran into a taxi to find another place! Once we did, we came back for our bags and checked out. Even then, the owner was extremely persistent about us having breakfast there... he said it was his job to take care of his guest and he needed to feed us. While this could seem like hospitality, he was forceful and made us feel extremely uncomfortable!

This is the first time I feel compelled to write a review on any travel site. But I am very unhappy about how the owner of this place treated us and wish to warn other possible guests. I am also very surprised to read the positive comments left by other guests and also the polite responses left by the hotel management. They are all very incongruent with the experience my boyfriend and I had. Except for the one review titled "AVOID!".

We ended up staying at the Queen of Sheba in Pongwe! It was lovely, simple and normal. The kind of place where the hotel management doesn't force you to clean up and/or eat if you are not ready to do so! Simple things, you know!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for the two positive points given on our location and rooms! As owner of White sands Bungalows, I take each customer complaints very seriously. After all, customers are the one who keep us in business! Having said that, I will politely disagree with the comments made since the person referred to is not me as the owner. Please check our reviews. Our main objective is to ensure that our guests are having an enjoyable beach holiday and carry with them the good memory of our Zanzibar Island. I would like to comment on the points raised as follows:

Coconut in the room: Zanzibar Island is blessed with many palm trees and yes there are a lot of coconuts. The locals use coconuts for cooking and to make all sorts of products, but we don’t keep them under our guests pillow. In addition, we do have full time housekeepers that clean the rooms on daily basis and upon request..

Pest Control: During low season, we do minor repairs and maintenance as well as conducting pest control services when there are no guests. This is the first complaints we receive on the issue since we have taken over the property and as I mentioned earlier, we do treat each complaint seriously.

Thanks again for writing a review

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
2.6 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.6 mi away
Villaggio Seconda Stella a Destra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambiani White Sands Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Address: Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range: $59 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jambiani White Sands Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambiani White Sands is located right on the beach in the quiet tropical village of Jambiani on the South- East Coast of Zanzibar Island. About 30 to 40 mins drive from Zanzibar Airport, the Ferry and the Stone Town. Situated on the picturesque white sandy beach washed by clear azure waters, Jambiani White Sands is the place to enjoy the sun, the sea and the tranquility of nature the Spice Island of Zanzibar has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jambiani White Sands Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing