We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have any other option do not hesitate...better on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our experience was terrible...bad food, with prices variable by hour, lack of hospitality and people with are trying to cheat you every minutes. Surrounding is very poor, not like in the picture. Hussein especially is not business oriented.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxxdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We appreciate very much the time taken to write a review. We do take every guest complaint very seriously as our objective is to ensure that our guests have enjoyable beach holiday.

Most of our guests are pleased with our beach location and its surrounding as well as our food. We have a standard menu with fixed prices, which are displayed in local currency as well as in US dollars. . However, we are always open to suggestions and how best we can serve our guests.

We received many positive feed back about our manager ,Mr. Hussein. Again, there is always a room for improvement in everything. I will appreciate very much if the reviewer can send us an email on how we can do the best to improve. As I mentioned earlier, we do take each guest complaint and suggestion very seriously.

Once again thank you for the time taken to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

lovely loaction right on the beach inside the village - convenient for nearby bars and restaurants. evening blackouts are disturbing - for some time generator is working, but on the night of his leave, and had to sleep without a fan hot).

the restaurant has a good wi-fi connection and there's a laptop for guest use.

Room Tip: choose sea view bungalows - they are worth to pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your good remarks about our beach location.

On electricity, there is general maintenance by public utility company to replace old cables,which is going on. However, we have in place a generator as power back up and we are now installing Power inverter as another source of electricity to back up in case of power failure. We hope the exercise of cable replacement to be completed by end of Feb-13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here over my December Holidays and what a pleasure with our stay, it is definitely a great place to stay for a great price. We stayed there for 7 night and had no problems at all, Ussain and Abate where very welcoming and friendly and did not hesitate to help us with anything, when we needed our room cleaned, to rent a scooter, to go diving or whatever the case was they were always ready to help and always on the phone to find out any info we needed.

We stayed there on a half board basis and the food was always a nice home cooked meal with their potato chips being VERY VERY GOOD!!! The breakfast was very big and enjoyable and just generally a great value for money and a very enjoy stay.

Thanks Ussain and Abate you were of great help and we had a very enjoyable stay.

PS: The ladies would like some cupboard space if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your positive input! I have passed a message of your appreciation to Ussain and Abate and they are grateful for your kind words.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the food. We took a note of the cupboard and we will add the facility in each room as we continue improving our beach bungalows.

Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the worst accommodation that my boyfriend and I have ever stayed at. We have traveled extensively, on several continents including Africa, and are not high-maintenance people. However, I felt unsafe at the Jambiani White Sand Bungalows, due to the extremely unfriendly approach of the owner.

Here are the main things that we disliked:

1) After checking into our rooms, we decided to go check out the beach. The owner yelled at us and met us on the beach. He wanted us to check in immediately. Given that we were already on the beach, we said we would be right there after checking out the beach, He asked us how long that would be, checked his watch, and agreed to give us exactly 15 minutes.

2) When we checked in, my boyfriend had the entire amount for one night in his hands, at the view of the owner. My boyfriend asked for a receipt before paying. The owner told us that this is not how things are done there. We needed to pay now and would get a receipt in the morning, at breakfast. Given we had been yelled at already, we did not feel comfortable with that. The owner then told us to "Get out!". We were shocked... all we wanted was a receipt, we had the money ready. After asking him if he was serious and really wanted ready-to-pay guests to leave, he changed his mind and in an upset manner went to grab his receipt book.

3) While receipt-writing, the power went out. This upset him further, he became even more annoyed and complained that this happened every night there!

4) After we finally paid and got our receipt, he insisted that we come out to eat dinner. By that point, we felt he was unstable and really did not like us. I was worried about eating his food to be honest.

5) We ended up staying in our room whispering (they only have screen on the windows) because we didn't want to stir him up any more than he already was and we could hear him walking along the beach, arguing with other guests as well.

6) We settled in our room and at some point I lifted my pillow! I found a big piece of coconut under my pillow!!! :(

7) The next morning, my boyfriend told me we had to go through our bags carefully, because he saw cockroaches during the night. He killed one of them, but missed the other one he saw.

In my opinion, the facility is fine (minus cockroaches and coconut remnants), but the owner is aggressive and in my opinion on the edge of a breakdown. I would STRONGLY advice people to stay away, particularly women traveling alone. Had I been by myself, I would have been completely petrified.

We had planned to stay there 3 nights. We got up before the sun after our first night and decided to walk until we ran into a taxi to find another place! Once we did, we came back for our bags and checked out. Even then, the owner was extremely persistent about us having breakfast there... he said it was his job to take care of his guest and he needed to feed us. While this could seem like hospitality, he was forceful and made us feel extremely uncomfortable!

This is the first time I feel compelled to write a review on any travel site. But I am very unhappy about how the owner of this place treated us and wish to warn other possible guests. I am also very surprised to read the positive comments left by other guests and also the polite responses left by the hotel management. They are all very incongruent with the experience my boyfriend and I had. Except for the one review titled "AVOID!".

We ended up staying at the Queen of Sheba in Pongwe! It was lovely, simple and normal. The kind of place where the hotel management doesn't force you to clean up and/or eat if you are not ready to do so! Simple things, you know!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for the two positive points given on our location and rooms! As owner of White sands Bungalows, I take each customer complaints very seriously. After all, customers are the one who keep us in business! Having said that, I will politely disagree with the comments made since the person referred to is not me as the owner. Please check our reviews. Our main objective is to ensure that our guests are having an enjoyable beach holiday and carry with them the good memory of our Zanzibar Island. I would like to comment on the points raised as follows:

Coconut in the room: Zanzibar Island is blessed with many palm trees and yes there are a lot of coconuts. The locals use coconuts for cooking and to make all sorts of products, but we don’t keep them under our guests pillow. In addition, we do have full time housekeepers that clean the rooms on daily basis and upon request..

Pest Control: During low season, we do minor repairs and maintenance as well as conducting pest control services when there are no guests. This is the first complaints we receive on the issue since we have taken over the property and as I mentioned earlier, we do treat each complaint seriously.

Thanks again for writing a review

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived from Stone Town in a tourist minibus. We asked to be taken to the Shehe bungalows (which is next door) as we were on a budget. The driver (as seems to often be the case) had other ideas and took us to a guest house before bringing us here. We are so glad he did because this place is beautiful and we fell in love with it. We were able to get a bit of a reduction in a sea view bungalow as it was off season.

The room had everything we needed. It was very clean and bright and they offered to clean it every day. The bathroom was nice. The decor was simple and elegant. The view was amazing.

Breakfast was the best we had during the holidays and included fruit and fruit juice and pancakes - always plenty to fill up on.

The staff were kind and helpful and did everthing they could to accomodate us.

We were supposed to stay for three nights but ended up staying for 4 and would have stayed longer if we had brought more cash- you have to go back to stone town for the nearest ATM and none of the hotels in Jambiani would change travelers cheques.

Off season, Jambiani is a great place if you just want to relax, swim, eat and enjoy the surroundings. We loved staying at the White Sands and really recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind remarks about us. We are glad you had a wonderful time and I will pass the message to the team to encourage them to continue the good work to make sure our guests have enjoyable holiday in Zanzibar!

Best Regards!

Thank you again (Ahsante Sana!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Jambiani White Sand Bungalows this October and would recommend it to anyone (google its name if interested). The beach was very nice, the water just beautiful (though swimming is tide-dependent), and the surcharge for the seaview bungalows definitely worth the cost (they are literally on the beach). Overall, we were very satisfied with our surroundings.

What made the experience in Jambiani truly special, however, has to be contributed to the manager of the hotel, Mr. Hussein: He was always very friendly and extremely helpful, and he made sure that we always felt like the most welcome guests. His attention to our needs (sometimes even before we could ask for anything) really was exemplary.

Room Tip: Get one of the seaview bungalows, they are absolutely worth the surcharge. Preferably one that is fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelLakemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you liked your stay at Jambiani White Sands and enjoyed the beach. I have passed your kind remarks to Mr. Hussein (our manager) and he is grateful for the comments. This will further encourage us to continue making our guests more comfortable at White Sands.

Thanks again (Ahsante Sana!)

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. We booked in for one night originally and then checked out the other hotels up and down the beach, and were very happy to stay on in white sands. Staff were very friendly, restaurant was above average though not amazing- but very pleasant to eat in with good tea masala. Breakfast was varied - it would be nice if they also did filter coffee. It was lovely and novel to have hammocks on the beach. Rooms could do with somewhere to store your clothes. Nice extra touches such as putting flowers on your bed. Felt like you had privacy even though bungalows are quite close together. Recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable input with regards to filter coffee in addition to the instant one we currently offer and also the place to store clothes as we currently have hangers on our beach bungalows.

Thanks again (Ahsante Sana!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
1.9 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambiani White Sands Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Address: Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range: $59 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jambiani White Sands Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambiani White Sands is located right on the beach in the quiet tropical village of Jambiani on the South- East Coast of Zanzibar Island. About 30 to 40 mins drive from Zanzibar Airport, the Ferry and the Stone Town. Situated on the picturesque white sandy beach washed by clear azure waters, Jambiani White Sands is the place to enjoy the sun, the sea and the tranquility of nature the Spice Island of Zanzibar has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Jambiani White Sands Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing