We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Heavenly honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Bloxham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heavenly honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from 6 night honeymoon, following a Kenyan safari, at Spice Island Hotel and Resort. We were made to feel so welcome at the hotel, thanks to the fantastic service. We were given a fruit platter on our arrival, along with a bottle of champagne. And our room had been decorated so beautifully, with flowers everywhere. Excursions were organised for us without any hassle, and on the last night, a table had been laid out for 2 on the beach, which we were led out to enjoy a seafood platter next to the sea. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    32
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
65
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was traveling with two other people and our triple room was very spacious, with a king and a twin bed, both fitted with mosquito nets. The twin bed's net was rather close-fitting, requiring the occupant to either squish herself down into the middle of the bed or lay normally with the net on her face. There's an air conditioning unit, which is absolutely necessary, considering how hot and humid Zanzibar is. It does a pretty good job, but doesn't cool the entire room evenly. There were 1.5 bathrooms, which was great. The open shower was spacious and had decent water pressure. Note that the water coming out of the tap is brackish (a mix of fresh and salt water), as it is over the entire island. It's not as bad as it sounds, but it takes some getting used to.

The hotel actually sits slightly above the water, and there's an area with umbrellas and chairs to lounge. You have to walk down some steps to get to the actual beach. In June, low tide lasts roughly 6 am to 6 pm, so basically the whole day. And low tide is super low. You can walk way out there, but it's not really worth it. Water shoes are a must because of all the sea urchins. Even at high tide when you can hear the waves crashing to shore, swimming isn't great because of all the seaweed. Also, there are occasional pieces of trash floating around, not a lot, but enough to notice. Oh, and the cows. What? Yes, we walked down the beach on our first night and smelled cow manure but didn't know where it was coming from. Early the next morning, we saw cows being herded down the beach. Yuck. Despite these small details, the beach really is beautiful. The water is turquoise and clear and the sand is the finest I've ever seen, like flour. A couple of hours of beach clean up could go a long way.

This all (and the hot, humid weather) makes the pool essential. We didn't understand why the pool looked murky but soon realized that it was because it was salt water. Of course, because everything is salt water on this island! I happen to like deep pools, but note that I, at 5'4", could only venture a little ways off the step before being completely submerged. So be prepared to tread water a lot.

My favorite part of this hotel was the pier. There's a long pier over the beach, and it opens up at the end into a large deck with tables, chairs, and couches. There's a bar and a fun center as well. We laid out on this pier for literally an entire day, reading and sleeping. We were thrilled to realize that we could order lunch out there too! We watched the tide go out, the locals harvest seaweed, and the tide come back in. Bonus, there are steps going down into the water, so we did some snorkeling as well.

Service is pretty good. I was most impressed that they mopped our floors every day. We really tried to not track sand into our room, but it's inevitable, so the clean floor was much appreciated. We encountered a bit of a language barrier - we never got the right order in the restaurant, and the woman working the front desk was really difficult to understand. It wasn't really a problem, though, just be flexible. If you really need help, Claudia and Tina are always available and very willing to help.

We had a problem with our dolphin trip; our guide shortchanged us two hours and then lied about it when we asked Tina to investigate. Tina was very apologetic and discounted our cost, because the dolphin company refused. We appreciate the gesture, but I can't help but think that the resort should have never been in partnership in the first place. On the off-chance that this was the first time something went wrong, I hope that the resort will not be doing business with them again.

The food was decent. Our favorite dish was the pilau rice. The owner was friendly and came around to check on everyone each night, but did not seem to know what was going on in his resort. We asked him a bunch of questions and we realized later that quite a few of his answers were inaccurate.

Basically, most complaints about this place would have been the same at any other resort (e.g. brackish water, seaweed-filled beach), so this is a pretty good place to stay. However, if I were to come back, I'd probably try another resort, possibly Echo.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roo514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Das Hotel hat einen jungen & dynamischen Stil, sowie Managment. Verschiedene Aktivitaeten wie Boat trips, Angeln oder Tauchen werden geboten und auch auf Anfrage begleidet. Die Zimmer sind liebefoll gestaltet und haben einen frischen Flair. Der Garten mit seinen vielen verschiedenen tropischen Pflanzen gefiel uns besonders. Im grossen & ganzen ein aufmerksamer & hoeflicher Service kuemmerte sich um unsere Wuensche & Anliegen. Sundownwer drinks an der Jetty Bar sind ein muss. Die Kueche ueberraschte uns mit kreativen & liebevoll gewuerzten Gerichten jeden Tag aufs neue. Viel Erfolg fuer die Zukunft im Spice Island.

Room Tip: 2.in der zweiten Reihe missed man den leichten Laerm des Pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardtGotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

we staid with our daughter at this beautiful resort last august and were very happy with our stay. The room, in our little house, was spacious and comfortable - especially good to have 2 bathrooms with a teenage daughter. The staff was friendly and efficient. Food was very good and the restaurant beautiful, as well as the comfy living room loft. The bar on the pier is something to remember, as it was like sitting out at unbelievable green-blue ocean. And we all had fabulous massage and, us girls, manicure as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinemalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiceislandhotel, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay at Spice Island Hotel & Resort. We are happy and proud that we fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards
Spice Island Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

room prices with breakfast 140 usd, half board 180 usd, full board 220 usd. food and drink prices excellent value. the 2 managing ladies are extremely efficient, present and very attentive to customers and staff. we stayed in another (grubby) place and had our lunches and dinners at the spice island resort. we even took others along. food is great, staff service excellent, reflecting the positive mentality of the managment. charge of 5% on use of creditcards.
we were able to stay alongside the pool using hotel facilities after asking the managment. we felt both ladies were fantastic, and we were greatfull to be able to stay at their place that really stands out in tanzanian hotel landscape.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herlimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiceislandhotel, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay at Spice Island Hotel & Resort. We are happy and proud that we fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards
Spice Island Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blighty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

an efficiently run place, with an extra toilet in each cabin, totalling two toilets. (our main complaint was the lack of a hatch connecting the two commodes which meant our conversation was often frustratingly muffled during times of shared faecal urgency.) a, frankly, sinister head waiter (who the waiting staff clearly feared) meant meals were tense and the preponderance of knick knacks in the rooms offended my wife's delicate sensibilties. (also, inedible pasta was served up one evening in the restaurant..)

on the plus side, the pool's nice, the masai are very lovely and the two hotel dogs are very cute. an extra minute on the pasta, and less of a blood curdling grin from restaurant man and all should be well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LulubelleBlighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had an amazing time at Spice Island. The staff are friendly and attentive. The hotel is stunning. Rooms have 4 poster beds, a large bathroom, A/C, fan, balcony, another separate loo. The swimming pool is large and refreshing. I had a massage in the spa which is well worth it if you have tired muscles.

The beach is stunning, long white sand stretching for miles. There is a long pier at the hotel with a beach bar at the end which is great to sit and have cocktails at in the evening.

If you want to venture out of the hotel for some food i would highly recommend Captain Cooks restaurant in Jambiani for some delicious seafood. Just walk right out of the hotel along the beach to the village and you will find it.

All in all a great hotel, i would definitly stay here again.
Lavinia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L1v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiceislandhotel, Manager at Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay at Spice Island Hotel & Resort. We are happy and proud that we fulfilled your expectations.

Kind regards
Spice Island Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#5 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar

Property: Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Address: Paje-Jambiani Road | P.O. Box 2484 Jambiani, Jambiani 2484, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life`s the beach, enjoy the people, feel the culture ofZanzibar!Enjoy the sophisticated island cuisine, fresh seafood and fish as a combination of Indian, Arab, Indian and African dishes; here finds itsperfection. What could be more romantic than a dinner under the starry sky of Zanzibar with accompanied by the full moon of the Equator or aperfect breakfast on the beach with the rising morning sun of the Indian Ocean?Our oriental lounge gives you a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean. Seated on cushions, you can read here, listen to the music or just simply relax and let your soul flow. Over the sea pier youare reaching our Jetty bar and the water sports center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing