We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Worthless”
Review of Kimte Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimte Beach Lodge
Ranked #13 of 39 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the kimte for 3 nights during augst.
The place is like all the others inns you can find at Jambiani but with less comfort and unfriendly crew (with the only exception ot chiba).
No hot water 2/3 days. Last night i asked to lower down the bar music (1am) and the they barely touched the volume.
The restaurant is the most expensive of the whole area.
For 50$ you can find better place to stay.
Avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlRisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends whilst travelling around Zanzibar. Jambiani was my personal favourite area in Zanzibar. This beach inn was superbly located with just a 30 second walk from bedroom to beautiful white sandy beach! Very relaxed atmosphere and the owner 'chubby' was very chilled out and welcoming. Bar and restaurant situated on the beach, as well as bonfires at night where locals sit round singing and playing African drums..what more could you want! Rooms basic but comfortable and spacious with mosquito nets, we had an en suite which was huge. Breakfast is included in the price which is incredible, fresh fruit, homemade pancakes and eggs done to our liking. Lots of activities available on the beach snorkelling/ sailing/cycling. The perfect place to stay for a chilled out break!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanMcAlister91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Where do i start?

I found this place through lonely planet which described it 'Reggae Run'.Rasta's the most layed back people mixed with a beach,well that sounded good to me!
Me and the girlfriend arrived intending a 4 day stay,first impressions-staff friendly,amazing turquoise waters feet away from the bar/restaurant,room's were standard,good bed(although the couple we went with their bed when we arrived was being slept on by a baby scorpion collapsed 1st night which was funny!Mosquito net ,an and warm water and just 20 seconds away from the beach,the bar and the restaurant,what more could you ask for?

The beer was good(kilimanjaro/safari),the food was great,not the quickest but who's in a rush here?We slept quite good until the sound of the dala dala about 6 in the morning but I did'nt mind.

Before we left we had a seafood platter,caught the night before,cooked on the barbie on the beach lobster,crab,octopus prawns,best meal i ever had!Followed by wine and cocktails chilling out listening to reggae-Amazing!

Overall we were sad to leave after extending our stay to 14 nights,never been anywhere and felt this welcome even if we did spend quite abit on safari's and kili's day and night down at the beachy fire!

Thank's to Said and the rest of the Kimte staff x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at Kimte for 8 nights over Christmas and we had the most amazing time! A great place to kick back and relax, its a home from home! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar is very chilled out with a great atmosphere and great music and the fish barbecues were delicious. So thanks everyone at Kimte for making our Christmas in Jambiani so special. Love to you all, Nicola and Brian xo

Room Tip: We stayed in double room, which had the most comfortable big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We reserved for 16 people at the restaurant and when we arrived on time they told us another group was coming and we had to free the table in one hour.
Food arrived after 45 minutes and portions were halved becuase the had to satisfy a double number of people on the food availability.

When we protested they aswered it were normal portions ... but we left without paying!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MikeGambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We didn't spend the night in the Kimte Beach, but could enjoy their bar! I think is the most popular bar in Jambiani: relax environment, good music, fires on the beach every night, and real rastafari men!
Nice and friendly staff, good drinks and food. I have to say that our food took two hours to appear on our table... but, no hurries and Hakuna Matata, this is Africa! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank catalaneta_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed ther for 4 days.The stuff is wonderfull and helpfull. The view from the bar is incomparable.The stuff will help you with to organize excurtions (like swim withdolphins).
The place is inside Jambiani village.
The restaurant menu is simple but tastefull. Must Try pasta with seaurcins.
Thanks to anyone there in Jambiani!
Davide e Sabrina

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
28 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pakachi Beach Hotel
Pakachi Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Jambiani
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimte Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimte Beach Lodge

Address: Urban West | Mfumbwi, Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kimte Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibuni sana Kimte Beach Lodge! You are very welcome to Kimte Beach Lodge! Located on the amazing white sandy beach of Jambiani and sourrounded by the real Zanzibarian village life, Kimte Beach Lodge is happy to welcome you in one of its comfortable rooms. A relaxed and easy-going environment, great restaurant and bar and the pristine Indian Ocean just a few steps away. It’s a great place for couples, friends and families looking for a laid-back holiday, with plenty of things to do if you feel active and adventurous or with nothing to do if you feel lazy and want to get away from it all! And if you are a solo traveller, this is the best place to meet people and make new friends! Kimte Beach Lodge is located in Mfumbwi, a neighbourhood of Jambiani village, one of the oldest and more traditional fishing villages in Zanzibar. Take a walk through its streets, get to know the local lifestyle, talk to the friendly locals and taste the best tropical fruit and freshly caught fish! Since April 2017, Kimte Beach Lodge is under new management and has gone through extensive renovations. Your hosts are Simba, a Zanzibari young men, and his Italian wife Michela. They are very familiar with the area, having lived there for quite a long time, and they will be happy to give you suggestions on things to do and places to go to enjoy Zanzibar at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kimte Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimte Beach Hotel Jambiani
Kimte Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing