We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pakachi Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

First the positives: nicely located, mostly friendly staff, good breakfast+meals, free wireless internet.
Enough of that.
- The huts are absolutely basic and insect/mice-infested. It rained into our bedrooms on the 3rd night, we had to reshuffle all the furniture to make sure we stayed dry. No apology from management. Mice, ants and cockroaches fought over our food every night.
- The water from the taps and showers, plus in the swimming pool is salty. No matter how often you wash, you stay sticky and salty for your entire stay. Yucky feeling, can't ever get clean.
- Mosquitos will find you everywhere, esp. under the skimpy mozzy nets. Prepare to wake up with red spots.
- The beach/ocean is full of rocks and weeds. Swimming is a risk - you definitely need shoes or you will cut yourself. The sandy beach would be nice, but strewn with washed up dead seaweed.
- The whole place is generally in a state of disrepair. Management seemed resigned to its fate and basically offered explanations of why nothing could be done.
- Our stay of eight nights was only just bearable and we were happy to leave. This place is not quite a dump, but it is nothing fancy. Recommend you try somewhere else up the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chipolopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Correct, our bungalows are simple equipped but with everything you need (Specially your room also has a kichenettte) like described on our homepage but they are definetivly not! insect infested. The insects are coming when you attract them like you did with storing amounts of food open in the room. So it is quite normal that you attract animals. Even we told you to store your food in boxes or in the fridge. Why are you now wondering that animals are coming?

We are sorry that you had 1 night with the roof leaking. We checked and fixed all roofs before the rainy season started but unfortunately we didn´t have a heavy rain between the repair and your arrival. So we had no chance to check the repair and are sorry that there was 1 spot where it was leeking. Don´t forget that we also didn´t charge you the last night as excusal.

As you booked your stay in the rainy season we had in deed mosquitos but, as far as i know, nobody can change this.

Swimming without shoes is possible without hurting, you just have to take a little bit care. I never ever used shoes for swimming and never hurted me thereby.

When you expect such a high standard than please book a 4 star hotel but be aware that you have to pay at least 3 times more than you paid here. But also in a 4 star hotel you will get mosquitos and when you store food open in your room also insects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Pakachi Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed for three nights at Pakachi and it's great if you just want a laid-back kind of place to read your book, walk on the beach or swim. It's not a 5-star hotel by any means but everything is satisfactory. I think the rooms could be cheaper because it is all so basic, but other than that the staff were friendly and polite and Solomon was very helpful. The girls doing the rooms were really sweet. Don't forget to leave them a tip!

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away as possible from the bar.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My overall impression:
Everything is just ok and no more. The garden together with the restaurant look very nice. But overall the quality is that of a budget hotel with the price (60 dollar per night for basic room in high season) of a midrange hotel. Within the area, it is nicely located between Jambiani and Paje. The area is ideal if you like cultural, snorkling or other adventurous trips. But do not come here if you are looking for the picturesque beaches! If I would go to this area again, no doubt I would go next door to Mamamapambo for their superb jungle-like 5* rooms, best restaurant around and incredibly friendly italian owners for not much more money.

Staff:
The hotel manager is Juergen and the local manager Solomon who is the one being close to the visitors. Juergen seemed to be professional and most of all cared about the people that stay there. Solomon is one of those guys who is your best friend and has lots of nice talks when everything is just fine, but absolutely useless when something goes wrong (i think this explains to a large extent the divided opinions about him here). We followed his advice to do a snorkling trip on our last day, which he arranged for us. When the driver brings us to the guide, the guide tells us that we either have to wait 3 hours at his place or at our hotel cuz he was busy. Apparently there was a miscommunication between him and Solomon. Surely these things can happen and I don't even want to blame anyone here, but what annoyed me was that although Solomon knew about the very annoying experience, he never showed any sympathy towards us and not even asked us about it! His attitude just felt like a joke.

Rooms:
The double is a very basic double, but complete (double bed, shower, toilet) and that is ok. It is only unfortunate that the water is so salt. Whereas other (cheaper) hotels with salt water provided each day some bottles of mineral water, here we had to pay for it.

Restaurant:
The restaurant together with the bar look just great. The food is not bad, but definitely not good either. When it comes to ordering the communication between waiter, kitchen and us was extremely bad. Several times we ordered something of which some of the ingredients were apparently missing and without our knowledge strange substitutes were used (instead of a white wine + cream sauce we ended up with tomatosauce).

Price:
A price of 60 dollar a night is way too much! I stayed in Zanzibar at much nicer hotels next to the picturesque beaches (Kendwa!) for a fraction of this price!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalarTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Your remarks for the overall impression are correct!. We are a 2 star hotel and not more.
I don´t want unsatisdied guest and so i think it is good to know this and not to expect a 4 or 5 star hotel for the price of a 2 star hotel.

The mentioned problem was in deed a communication problem as the driver had some private issues. We are very sorry that this happens and try improve the communication. (By the way, it was not Solomon´s fault) he just was very disappointed that this happened with a tour that he organised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hotel staff make any stay at Pakachi wonderful. The accommodation is basic beach huts but what more do you need when the weather is warm. The hotel food is the best in the area and any seafood not available when mentioned to the staff, was brought in for us the next evening.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pakachi and I would recommend anyone to go, we returned very relaxed which is priceless!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you want 5 star luxury with no atmosphere go next door. This simple but humble hotel was out of this world. Solomon(manager) was so helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Muu and Ali behind the bar where genuine and funny. Food is excellent,service out of this world you could not ask for a better hotel any where in the world. I ask how many hotels would have some one meet up with you an hour away just to show you round because they want to,or give you a present when you leave. Superb thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fooyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

if you speak swahili and you like to stay awake and party party (listen to dance music until 3am) stay here. otherwise, choose another location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ksoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

During June and July 2011 Me and my girlfriend, we spent a month around Tanzania. We did some safaris in southern and northern circuit and after that we have decided to spent a week in full relax in Zanzibar. For that purpose we've booked a room at Pakachi Beach Hotel in Jambiani. It was an huge fault - it was the only place in our one month Tanzanian trip, which embittered our impression.
For the price of 100$ (only for accommodation!, no meal, no transport) we were promised "Room Description: maisonette for 4 persons, balcony, sea view with an open bedroom towards the ocean will give you kind of Robinson Crusoe feeling". I think if Robinson Crusoe has been fallen in that place he would sever his veins on second day with his single rusty knife, instead staying in that place few years.
We received a hut with big square holes on the walls ("windows"), but there was no frames or glass on that windows. This was on the first floor - just to the path between huts. There was only burnt by the sun plastic net and sticky and dirty thin cloth coverages inside, which "played" with the wind as witches all night long. On the second floor there was roof with half an meter holes between roof and the walls and an big front "window" (hole) without any mosquito net. One stairs and hole without cover was connection between floors. The mosquito net over the bed didn't reach the bed - it was about 4-5 fingers distance above the bed. We were bitten by lot of mosquitoes during the night (an fact is that up to 35% of mosquitoes in Tanzania are Malaria positive). The bed sheets were sticky. All of this was relative acceptable for us. But the worst thing was the water in bathroom! The water was salty, captured by the ocean - it is Indian ocean and this water is really salty. There is no sweet water for washing in the hotel. It is disgusting to try washing your teeth with strong salty water. We complain to the manager and they assured us that we are imagining this and the water is sweet, just its taste is resemble as salty !?!?!?! They promised to bring us a bottle of sweet water for drinking but for the two days there we didn`t receive any. They, also assured us that they can close the windows - as fitted wooden shutters over them !?! But they usually has do this only in the end of season, because such shutters are unopenable.
About the beach - it is not mentioned anywhere that you can enjoy seawater with sand only for couple of hours during the day or night, during the high tide. During the rest of the time water is about 400-500m away from the hotel and you can "enjoy" actually only the mud and few stones and the bad smell of rotting sea vegetation. They explained us that in 10 km northwards and 30 km southwards there is no sandy beach, and we can use the beach for 1-2 hours about at 4 pm (and 4 am !?! of course), but we can use their pool if we want.
The most positive thing in that hotel was ... the Wi-Fi connection. On our second day we took our laptop, we booked a flight for the next day and booked an hotel on Mafia island. We spend last 5 days in Mafia, where everything was wonderful. This decision was the best that we could done. When we refused our next 5 days from our reservation in Pakachi, the owner - an German, named Juergen and his right hand - the hotel manager - an local named Solomon were very arrogant and rude, they try to refused calling of taxi for us. (The nearest town with taxi is in 1 hour drive from Jambiani and you need to call to taxi at least 2 hours in advance.). Anyway, we should and we paid all the amount for 7 days, but we get away from there and we really enjoyed our last 5 days in Mafia island.
We are not pretentious couple, and we like adventures. We were in many poor places in Tanzania in conditions too far from the luxury, but that place was the once really disgusting in our trip.
We are really highly disappointed by this place, and with no bad feelings we recommend to everyone who wish nice holiday without troubles to avoid this hotel!

Peter from Bulgaria

Room Tip: You wish a good holiday? The decision is one - choose any other hotel !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrrst, Manager at Pakachi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Yes you booked a room with 2 floors, 2 double bed for daily cjhoice where to sleep. Upstairs you can open the front wall completely and close when it´s to cold or to windy for you. You can see this in the description and on the pictures.
Why did you book this room when you don´t like this feeling?
Why didn´t you ask for a different room? We also have standard rooms with no possibility to open the front wall.
Yes all our windows are a hole what you "fill" with a window. Here in Zanzibar you fill it only with mosquito net, otherwise it is too warm in the night. Where you life you don´t have holes where you put a window in?
Between the side wall and the roof is no 1/2 meter hole. How to fix a roof when there is so much distance? When you want i can sent you a picture.
It is not a fact that 34% of the mosquitos are infected with malaria. In reality 1 of 500000 female mosquitos can be infected with malaria. Zanzibar is quasi malaria free. In 2009 was 1 person in Jambiani getting infected with malaria (statement from the hospital in Jambiani).
Next thing: The village has problems to provide enough sweet water. So we take waterr from a well which is around 300 mtr from the beach so it only has 1,05% salt. The water from the Indian ocean has 3,2% salt. It is not true that we take the water direct from the ocean. It is also not true that we tell the water is sweet. How do you get this idea?
Please repeat only things you can remember correctly. We always tell that you can swim 2 hours before high tide until 2 hours after high tide, so in total 4 hours and this twice a day. 30 km south of Pakachi you are already on half way to Dar es Salaam in the middle of the ocean.
Last thing is that we never refused to call a taxi. It´s just not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
3.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
248 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Oyster Hotel
Blue Oyster Hotel
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
271 reviews
5.5 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
2.5 mi away
Villaggio Seconda Stella a Destra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakachi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakachi Beach Hotel

Address: Paje road, Jambiani 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range: $53 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pakachi Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pakachi Beach Resort is situated on the southeast coast of the island of Zanzibar. The Resort is a newly refurbished tropical garden hotel with private beach and own swimming pool, an experimental spice farm, wellness and well known restaurant. The combination between European management and local participation is providing a well organized tropical feeling and the ideal place to relax from business life. Nature related beach bungalows may cater for the real tropical impressions with an open bedroom in the first floor of these all natural material built houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pakachi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakachi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing