We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Leopard Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Leopard Camp
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a fabulous time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I can only say one thing...fabulous! Well, I can actually say multiple things and all of them meaning the same. We had a wonderful stay over Women's Day weekend. Lynsey and Alan are incredible hosts and we now consider them part of our extended family! The accommodations are very comfortable and cozy, the food excellent, the views are simply breathtaking, and there are so many interesting things to see and do. Thanks to Dylan and Rudi for their knowledge and for taking the time to show our son Aaron so many different things as well as help us make castings of some very interesting animals. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return....

Room Tip: We had the Trekker tent, which is a family unit. It was the furthest away from the main lodge, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
68
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lovington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Mom and I made the right choice to make our first and probably only trip to Africa with On Track Safaris, and to visit Black Leopard our first 3 days and again the last 2 was a wonderful experience. The mountain views are gorgeous, the camp homey, the beds comfy, the food marvelous and the people make you feel like family. Alan is great fun and a wonderful cook; Lynsey and the girls are sweet; Tenille makes fabulous desserts and is the busiest person you'll ever see; Rudy and Dylan are informative and have great stories to tell. Everyone at camp works hard to make you feel welcome, and sad to leave. So many animals to appreciate, and what fun to be able to set up trap cameras in conjunction with The Ingwe Leopard Research Project in hopes of catching the elusive leopard. You can't ask for more than friends, comfort, beauty, great food and stories, education and fun. Other reviews have mentioned the hot water bottle (nice in winter), the beds, the en suite bathroom plus the outside tub and shower, and they are all correct...this is a fabulous place to visit, wish we could've stayed even longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Black leopard camp is an amazing space, set deep within a dramatic gorge; huge cliff faces bound either side of the camp.

This rugged terrain is home to the rare leopard, and there are several game drives (included) per day to maximise opportunities to sight this elusive predator. The guides are very knowledgeable, and can share interesting facts on everything: from bugs and beetles, to trees and terrapins.

A definite hit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at BLC as part of a safari trip to South Africa ( with On Track Safaris - also brilliant!). The camp is situated in rugged isolation but within a truly majestic landscape. From the moment you arrive at the 'camp' you become one of the family and owners Alan and Lynsey and the team could not have been more welcoming. Accommodation in this beautiful spot some 4000' above sea level is just fantastic with lovely, comfortable beds and en suite bathrooms both in and outside the tents! Rudy our driver and expert guide provided fantastic service enabling us to see wildlife at every opportunity, including rare leopards and cubs. Tenielle and the kitchen staff provided wholesome, delicious food throughout our stay. We are an experienced, well-travelled couple and have done safaris previously but in all honesty we were very sad to leave BLC which in just a short space of time had begun to feel like home. This was a special and really brilliant experience and we recommend the camp without reservation.
Stephen and Sarah, Exeter, UK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The camp is situated within a majestic band of mountains, so wherever you are the scenery is breathtaking. The tents are spacious as are the beds with deep, deep mattresses ensuring a cosy night’s sleep; loo and shower are ensuite. Alan and Lynsey who own Black Leopard Camp have a hands on approach and make a point of welcoming visitors personally inviting you to relax and make yourself at home. We were treated like friends coming to stay rather than just guests passing through. This is further enhanced by the caring and talented team who help run the camp, always ready with a smile and a can do attitude. Food is plentiful and tasty and they will cater to dietary needs. Watch out as delightful Tenielle will fatten you up with her ever inventive range of desserts. Our tireless ranger Rudi, always patient and helpful took us on drives at least twice a day and kept us well informed about the animals on the reserve, driving us high up through the mountains to see the elusive but gorgeous leopard and her cubs and along the way spotting zebra and giraffe and the shy impala and kudu, to mention just a few of the animals you will find.
This was a first time safari experience that was organised by On Track Safaris and was a very happy and memorable experience, I would certainly recommend the camp as a place to stay.
Alexandra - London, UK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just an amazing experience. It's like walking in the garden of Eden.
Once in a while it happens when traveling;
There's this special 'click' between people. You don't know what it is but it is there and it's real.
Here we had such a click.

We were fortunate to have met with the wonderful people of BLC.
Rou, Alan, T, Jason
Thanks a lot!

Marco, Ilona and the girls
Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Black Leopard for 4 nights as part of a trip with On Track Safaris and had a wonderful time. The camp comprises a clutch of luxury tents deep in the Thabo Tholo reserve, with beautiful mountain views and the sound of the river which supplies delicious spring water to the camp. Each tent has a deck from which you can enjoy the sunshine and the views, an indoor and outdoor bathroom, and gloriously comfortable beds. A flask of hot water for tea and coffee is delivered to your tent every morning, and at bedtime we found hot water bottles already tucked under the covers for us. The hospitality is second to none, with Alan preparing delicious meals, and Tennille taking great care of everyone. We had morning and afternoon/evening game drives with Rudy and Dylan who taught us much about the animals we saw (giraffe, zebra, antelopes, bush pigs, wildebeest, warthogs, mongooses, hyrax and bushbabies) and how to track them. We also had the opportunity to set up a camera trap and return to it a few days later to see what had passed by our chosen spot - absolutely fascinating. High points for us were seeing the bushbabies coming into camp for bits of banana, taking a bath in our outdoor rolltop bathtub and enjoying a sundowner out in the bush whilst watching the sun set over the mountains. Black Leopard is a truly magical place that we plan to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigeonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydenburg
10.9 mi away
Aqua Terra Guest House
Aqua Terra Guest House
#1 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
17.7 mi away
Stonecutters Lodge
Stonecutters Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
10.0 mi away
Villa Afriq
Villa Afriq
#2 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gethlane Lodge
Gethlane Lodge
#5 of 14 in Lydenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
24.2 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
10.1 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#4 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Leopard Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Leopard Camp

Property: Black Leopard Camp
Address: R37 | Lydenburg District, Lydenburg 1120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lydenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious well appointed en-suite 'tents' with all the comfort and services you have come to expect, lodge sleeps a max of 23 singles or 10 couples. Enjoy our famous outdoor bush bathroom including Victorian ball and claw bath, private veranda/deck overlooking the river or mountain. Set in malaria free mountain wilderness. Eco-friendly 'off the grid' lodge. Uniquely positioned close to all the historical sites and natural wonders of the Panorama, Lowveld and Greater Kruger routes. 3 hours from O.R. Tambo International airport (Johannesburg). Safe and cosy, ideal for romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Black Leopard Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing