We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Purple Gecko Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 19 Lydenburg B&B and Inns
Centurion, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always good”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stay at Purple Gecko for business reasons and I'm never dissapointed. They have several rooms and self-catering units. The rooms are beautiful with nice little touches including a mini bar. The bathrooms are amazing and I can always relax after a long day at work. My last experience was a bit bad with a self-catering unit. The room is extra small and there is no aircon available. There is only a standard shower included in the bath room. The room is located in a house and the other guests was making so much noise and cooking food and partying all night. Except from that I always have an excellent time there and enjoy playing with the dogs at the main guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemnesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the purple gecko after our vehicle broke down in Origstad. We only arrived at the guesthouse after 7:30 at night, with two sleeping babies and in a tow truck. The owner and staff could not have done enough to get us into a room quickly so the kids could sleep, help arrange dinner and fetch my husband from the Toyota garage. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. We would highly recommend the guesthouse for any one needing a stop over in Lydenburg.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The stylish purple gecko sign led us to this tranquil guesthouse. We were given a very warm welcome by the host who was full of local knowledge and advise about the area and the rest of our SA trip. The rooms were beautifully decorated with a real feel for detail and colour. The amenities were of a very high standard and everything was spotlessly clean. The garden, pool and outside area were given as much attention as the interior. The only shame was that we weren't there in summer to use the pool. A definite place to return to in all seasons. Thank you Otto and friendly staff for your hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were of the same high standard.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottei70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely guesthouse on our way back from Kruger National Park. We loved the spacious rooms, friendly staff and homely atmosphere. We will strongly recommend this guesthouse to anyone who is travelling through Lydenburg.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Follow the clear signposting from the outskirts of Lydenburg to this charming place. Staying at this welcoming, friendly guesthouse was a wonderful experience. The rooms are warm and cosy with great attention to detail. We loved the spacious bathroom and the little touches like a carafe of sherry in the room. The sunny garden attracted wild birds and we enjoyed the tranquility of this oasis. The breakfast was delicious and the staff efficient and friendly. If you are looking for a place to stay in Lydenburg, look no further!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were travelling back from Balule nature reserve to Pretoria for our flight home. We need to find a B&B for 1 night, and this one looked nice on the website. The B&B itself was comfortable. The room was large and well equipped. But, I I'm afraid I wouldn't recommend it to holiday makers because of the location. Lydenburg is a working town, and there simply wasn't a lot to see or do in the town. And the choice of restaurants was very limited. I think there are probably nicer places to stay not so far away.

  • Liked — Large, well equipped room
  • Disliked — Location - I didn't like Lydenburg
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I found this guesthouse when the owner of the one we were supposed to stay at did not arrive to let us in. The Purple Gecko staff were very nice, particularly since I was tired, dirty, and very upset about the previous place.

The atmosphere was good, the rooms were very nice, and the owner took special pains to make sure we were comfortable.

The breakfast was fine, and paying and checking out was very simple.

The only thing annoying was the yapping small dogs in the lobby and the screeching of their caged birds. These noises make the check in process not so peaceful.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds and nice linens
  • Disliked — The birds and dogs making so much racket in the lobby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prontopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lydenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Lydenburg Guesthouse
Lydenburg Guesthouse
#13 of 19 in Lydenburg
3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#4 of 19 in Lydenburg
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Terra Guest House
Aqua Terra Guest House
#1 of 19 in Lydenburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Afriq
Villa Afriq
#2 of 19 in Lydenburg
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amani Boutique Hotel
Amani Boutique Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lydenburg
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dankhof Guest House
Dankhof Guest House
#8 of 19 in Lydenburg
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Gecko Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Gecko Guesthouse

Property: Purple Gecko Guesthouse
Address: 24 Ruiter Street, Lydenburg 1120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lydenburg
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Purple Gecko Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing