We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unmissable visit”
Review of Isandlwana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Isandlwana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

As if the dramatic scenery wasn't enough, the history and the Isandlwana Lodge are the icing on the KwaZulu-Natal cake. The staff were so, so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and thoroughly enjoyable. Our battlefield guide Rob was fantastic, from the initial lecture on the terrace above the battlefield to the forays to the battlefields of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift. Being taken onwards to Fugitive's Drift was a great ending to the day. Trying to imagine the chaos on all these beautiful sights on that day in 1879 was made much easier with Rob's narrative.

Would definitely return!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank comet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Isandlwana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had heard from friends that Isandlwana Lodge was special but they were wrong - it was much more than that.
From the moment you first glimpse the Lodge on the heights overlooking the battlefield of Isandlwana, nothing lets you down.
A friendly greeting for myself and my friends from the staff and owner Pat together with a complimentary drink set the tone for our four night stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the ever attentive staff.
The rooms were spacious, well apointed and of course had the fabulous view across the scene of the famous battle of 1879, in the shadow of such a photogenic mountain.
The dining experience was a delight from the comfortable bar beforehand to the excellent service, great food and wonderful South African wines at the table.
On our last night the entire staff performed Zulu songs and dances for us after dinner.
But the icing on the cake is of course the location. All rooms have stunning views and a five minute drive takes you to the evocative scene of the battle itself. Take a dawn walk through the area and you can almost feel the ghosts of the dead from all those years ago.
This review is so 'gushing' that you might think me a friend of the Lodge owner but I can assure you writing as an experienced traveller , this place will take your breath away.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a line with the same tremendous view over the battlefield.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBlack877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had driven in rain from Durban and our 2 wheel drive car was slithering about in the red mud on the way up from the village. Was it worth it? You bet! Pat met us at the door with a warm welcome. Our very well appointed room had the most stunning views of the village, Isandlwana mountain and the battlefield. We watched sunset from our balcony before a sumptuous dinner. Next day was spend with Rob Gerrard on the battlefields. He tells the story with conviction and accuracy. If you are planning to visit, and you should, spend at least 3 nights, so you can spend some time in the village itself. Don't forget to buy some locally made souvenirs in the 'Wow Zulu' shop next to the museum. Siyabonga, Isandlwana

Room Tip: Ask for room no.1 if you want to watch sunsets from your private balcony. Though all rooms have stun...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

In the heart of Zululand overlooking the awesome expanse of the Isandlwana Battlefield lies this surprisingly elegant and beautiful lodge. I have visited the Zulu War battlefields many times before but this lodge took me by surprise with its elegance, attention to detail, style and pure warmth of service. I was knocked out by the rooms and the use of beautiful wood and elegant details such as coffee plunger, wonderful cookie jar, simple but stylish decor and rustic but elegant bathroom. The living areas are also very well done and exude a warmth that is enticing.
Food was really good, and I mean really good! Simple but scrumptious. I am a man who is driven my my stomach and eating and I was replete.
The views over the expanse of the battlefield just lead one into the whole story of this sad but memorable loss of life at the height of British Imperialism and this is just a prelude to the very moving and well-told story of this clash of Zulu and Brit. What a privilege to have the resident historian/guide, Rob, tell the story of this clash. he is the best of a really talented bunch of guides in the area!
Also a privilege to have Pat, co-owner and developer of the lodge around to chat and ensure we had everything we needed.
All in all, a glorious stay in all respects.

Room Tip: Room 11 was a bit noisy being under what seemed to be the kitchen so choose a room in single digit n...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

After a long drive over bumpy roads from Ladysmith we turned into a large open valley to see the iconic Isandlwana hill (zulu for little house). There on the right of the valley nestled into the hillside is the lovely Isandlwana Lodge. We were there for 2 (wish it had been longer) days of relaxation and visit to the battlefield and memorial cairns.
Rob our 'historical tour guide' gave us great insight into that fateful day and the follow on battle at Rorkes Drift (Many thanks and will be emailing you images from C/Sgt Bourne’s resting place in the next week or so).
If like me you have a military background or like my wife who is a historian will leave you feeling strangely sad about the events of that day but really glad to have been there and experienced it..
This is a great hotel with very friendly staff and fantastic views..
All in all very highly recommended!

Room Tip: All great rooms with views over the Isandlwanan valley
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubeless R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 6th March and were delighted with the high quality room, the delicious food and the magnificent view of Isandlwana Mountain. Having made it to the top of the mountain (quite a climb!), we were pleased to retreat to the comfort of the Lodge and the hospitality of Pat and her friendly and attentive staff. One evening we were also treated to some visiting story-tellers; in true oral tradition we watched and listened as the stories were acted out with real enthusiasm by a local group. Wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms on lower level, built into cliff.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here on March 06 2014 for two nights. We arrived just after two days of rain so getting up to the Lodge proved interesting, slipping and sliding!. What a spectacular place, the view across the plains to the Isandlwana battlefield and the mountains beyond was fantastic.

This is a great Lodge built onto the cliffs with all the bedrooms the lounge, bar and dining room having spectacular views across the Zulu plains. We were met by Corrin who made us very welcome and showed us to our room. What a great room and the views from the balcony were stunning and we happily sat there watching life in the village on the plains below. You could not fault the rooms at all.

In the evening we went for drinks before dinner and met Pat one of the co-founders of the lodge and Rob Gerrard who was to be our guide on the battlefield tour the next day. It was great to have the personal touch and Pat and other staff had their evening meal with the guests. Dinner was very good and the attention and service by all the staff was excellent. You couldn't fault the food at any of the meals

The battlefields experience from start (lecture story) to finish at Rork`s Drift was fantastic. We were fortunate to have Rob as our guide and his knowledge and ability to set the scene and bring the whole story to life was incredible. We sat in a semi circle on the Isandlwana battlefield and listened to Rob narrate the events, it was a moving experience !!

What a place to stay, yes his Lodge was just Wow!

Room Tip: They are all good!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isandlwana
7.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
208 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
248 reviews
9.1 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
12.8 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
29.6 mi away
No photo provided
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#5 of 9 in Dundee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isandlwana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isandlwana Lodge

Address: Portion 20 of Reserve No: 18 No:15838 | Nqutu, Isandlwana 3005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Isandlwana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isandlwana
Price Range: $327 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isandlwana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isandlwana Lodge offers twelve luxury rooms all en-suite and tastefully decorated in a mixture of traditional and modern styles. The Lodge is carved into the iNyoni rock formation on top of which the Zulu commander stood during the battle of Isandlwana on 22 January 1879. Enjoy unparalleled views from the crisp early light of a sparkling Zulu dawn to the splendor of the African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Isandlwana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isandlwana Hotel Isandlwana
Isandlwana Lodge KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing