We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent in every way.”
Review of Isandlwana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Isandlwana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location, top class rooms and fittings, marvellous food, super staff. What more could anyone want? Fascinating trips to the battlefields with Robert Gerrard, who really made history come to life.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandycroft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    26
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
116
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had two nights here and had come to experience the stories and history of the battles of Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift. We were not disappointed.

The lodge is in the most perfect location with breathtaking views across the battlefield and to the mountains beyond. The rooms are a good size and well equipped and the best feature is the private balcony. There is also a small pool and deck for bathing.

We took the full day battlefield tours and had a very interesting and informative day with Rob. We learnt so much about the history of this area and left in awe of the bravery of both the British and the Zulus.

We were on a full board basis and each meal had lots of choice and the service was very good.

This was a really lovely experience and a perfect location. Mike the manager, was very friendly and helpful and was the perfect host.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A wonderful 2 days spent here. Arrived in the teeth of a huge thunderstorm - pulled up into the car park and thought "We're not running up to reception in this!" However , we didn't need to as the ever efficient Corinne (sp??) had spotted our headlights coming up the hill and sent 2 porters with enormous brollies to meet us! We left all the luggage in the car and made a dash for it. Greeted in reception with a drink, and shown to our room (-no 1.. the best one to have as it had a huge picture window overlooking the battlefield). Bags were delivered to the room around 20mins later after rain had subsided.Very slick. DInner was lovely, in fact ALL the food was fab. Make sure you take Rob Gerrards battlefield tour-he really brought it to life. Pat (the owner) was a very gracious host, always enquiring after her guests. We had no firm plans upon leaving Isandlwana, and Pat suggested Spion Kop to us. She kindly called ahead to check they had a room, and made the reservation for us-Great service! We'll be back..

Room Tip: Room 1 - large picture window, balcony and circular bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarewilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

It is an interesting last 6 miles or so to get there with the last 100 yards leaving you wishing for a 4x4 but oh so worth it.
The lodge is very unusual in design and interesting in that the rooms are downstairs, leaving the restaurant area and bar with the most wonderful views over the valley. Bear in mind this is a lodge and not a hotel, so no late service and meals served at the same time for everyone. We went specifically to do the battlefields tour with Rob and were not disappointed. I would highly recommend you to take advantage of this opportunity. If you are there for relaxation, then sitting on your balcony watching the local wildlife is lovely and leaves you feeling very tranquil.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank margoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband & I travelled to this lodge after I'd won a competition with St Luke's Hospice. While the idea of a lodge with battlefields did not really appeal to us, nor did 3.5 hours' drive from Durban , we nevertheless did not want to look a gift horse in the mouth. So, off we went...& were we pleasantly surprised!
On arrival, we were met by the manager (Mike? -it's been a while,sorry), who was so friendly & informative. While he encouraged us to go on the excursions, he wasn't pushy in any way, as he could probably see that we were just happy to be away from the pressure of being around 3 teenaged sons normally;-) So, having established that we were here to relax & enjoy, that is exactly what we were allowed to do for the next two days!
The quality of the food was absolutely divine & the service surpassed all expectations! It was actually so wonderful to be South African & watch proudly how Europeans were absolutely taken aback by the "African hospitality". That chocolate meringue with whipped cream & fruit still makes me salivate....
The views from ones room is absolutely breath- taking! Nothing can beat having that big window across from ones bed framing a perfect landscape. & the fact that it's all completely private...well, that just adds to the magic ;-)
The attention to detail in the decor is nothing short of brilliant - with the spear - shape so well incorporated throughout the room & en-suite. Now, the bathroom, shoo, what a dream.... Stunning is all that comes to mind!
Improvements? Definitely the swimming pool area could do with an upgrade. It feels almost as if it's been forgotten as part of the establishment. Also, perhaps the owners could employ some of the village people to start a a very low-key type of spa there - even just for amateur foot & hand massages, neck & shoulder massages, etc?? Just a thought...
Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing weekend to all @ Isandlwana Lodge. You definitely made me proudly SA!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weedaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This lodge may be a bit of an adventure to get there but worth the drive just to see the building itself. Finally something that's not as homogenised as another hotels and resorts. The staff were professional and lovely and most were from the Zulu village that the lodge overlooks so there is the added feel-good benefit of supporting the local economy.
Rooms and bathrooms were roomy, architecturally unique and very clean and comfortable.
The Zulu battlefields tours with our extremely knowledgeable tour guide, Rob were a highlight.
Highly recommend for a unique relaxing African experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The best hotel to stay at for the Zulu Wars experience. The food is great and the staff are friendly and helpful. There's free wifi, or you can use the one desktop computer in the library. The battlefield guide, Rob Gerrard, is excellent. It is worth the extra money to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms face the battlefield so they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isandlwana
5.1 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
9.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
240 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
132 reviews
12.8 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isandlwana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isandlwana Lodge

Property: Isandlwana Lodge
Address: Portion 20 of Reserve No: 18 No:15838 | Nqutu, Isandlwana 3005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Isandlwana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isandlwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isandlwana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isandlwana Lodge offers twelve luxury rooms all en-suite and tastefully decorated in a mixture of traditional and modern styles. The Lodge is carved into the iNyoni rock formation on top of which the Zulu commander stood during the battle of Isandlwana on 22 January 1879. Enjoy unparalleled views from the crisp early light of a sparkling Zulu dawn to the splendor of the African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Isandlwana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isandlwana Hotel Isandlwana
Isandlwana Lodge KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing