We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilo village(Nosy Komba)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Floraly Komba(Nosy Komba)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Chez Yolande(Nosy Komba)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Akiba(Ampangorinana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Anjiabe Lodge(Nosy Komba)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
176
17
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
17
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripperfect placelocal villagea real treatprivate beachoutdoor showershort kayakour entire staydive centreanywhere in the worldincredible wildlifeworth the journeyinsect repellentparadise on earthcouple of dayspersonal touchdining area
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The staff at Tsara Komba are helpful and friendly and spoke really good English. The bungalow we stayed in was amazing with beautiful 360 views and two sitting rooms! Though the path next to the bungalow was like the M5! The food was beautifully prepared but limited in choice especially if you didn't like fish. The activities were good we went snokelling. Make sure you take bug spray as we both got eaten alive at night. Overall a truely wonderful experience with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyblue881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We've stayed the last week of our honeymoon in this nice lodge

Pro's:
Excellent location and great food! It is really a nice location, real paradise. The bungalows are all spacious and have view on the sea. They have a private terrace and a Malagasy decorated bath.
The food was really excellent. For lunch and dinner they usually had the same menu. You can choose between 3 starters, 3 main dishes and 3 desserts. They serve fresh and good sea-food and let you enjoy the local cuisine.
People are friendly and really helpful.

Con's:
Nothing is perfect, here our bad point.
- It was hard to reach the Tsara Komba by phone and mail response time took several days. Usually no problem, but we wanted to change our arrival time and they didn't receive the message. So we had to wait 1 hour at the port of Ankify until we chartered our own boat. At least they refunded the transfer price.
- Breakfast was a bit disappointing. There were only bread and fresh fruits every morning and almost no change. But it was ok, since the other meals are quite generous.
- Price!! It is definitely not for people on small budget. We backpacked two weeks in Mada and enjoyed many nice hotels and trips at a reasonable price. Compared to that, it was really overpriced. A day trip for snorkeling costs over 40$ per person when you book it at the hotel, and you have to do it there, because the hotel is quite isolated. They could have offered excursions for free, because the day charge of over 250$ per person and night is already enough

In the end we really liked it, but will probably not going back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

This is perhaps one of the last unspoilt paradises in the Indian Ocean- absolutely beautiful. The owners have matched beautiful accommodation with excellent food and service in this remote location - all aspects are appropriate to the tropical location without being overdone - the french owners have created an ambience of understated elegance without being fussy - they were there when we wanted service but never obtrusive. We took our teenage family with us - afterwards we wished we had perhaps gone alone !! - this is one very romantic location !!
This Lodge lends itself to relaxation although for some seeking more action the beautiful views and accommodation may be a bit limiting we had to travel some distance by boat to see some really underwater life in the nearby sanctuary. We have kept this secret place to ourself for a while - but I think it deserves to be shared.
Accommodation pricing is still very reasonable - the transfers to Nosy Be has escalated and be warned the price of reasonable wine throughout Madagascar was ridiculous on our last visit - so take your own! (about 1000% markup on our South African wines - perhaps this has changed?)
We will certainly return soon !

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FairCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

That's THE place you have to stay if you go to Nosy Komba :
So amazing, so romantic, so nice, so surprising, so warm people, so delicious food, so quiet and relaxing, so beautiful beach and forest, so confortable lodge, so many things to discover around !
I have only one goal for this year : to go back to Tsara Komba... with my best friends to share with them an extraordinary experience of elegant luxury ...

1  Thank ParisKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews