We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Church St Enoteca

Church St Enoteca
Reserve with
Church St Enoteca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 312 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went for a late lunch and the restaurant was reasonably busy when we arrived at 2pm. The food was excellent including the carne cruda, an Italian take on steak tartare and especially the daily special risotto containing crabmeat and peas. The entrees came reasonably quickly but we had to wait ages for the mains despite there being very few other diners left in the restaurant. The staff seemed to be more interested in conversing with each other than providing service hence the 3 rating. The food warranted 4 and the service 2.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EamonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lunchtime fixed price menu is excellent value at this Richmond institution. $29.50 for two corses, $35.90 for three, including a glass of Italian wine - the three choices for each course somehow manage to cater for most tastes, though there are lots of other options from the pricier a la carte menu if the lunch special doesn't suit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JP947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Kitchen is great. Slightly let down by floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Food is good. Had the Terrine and fish stew. Husband had risotto and veal. Both entrees and mains came out quickly. But service from floor staff was slightly on the slow side. Annoys me when you finish your drink and they still take 5 mins to ask you if you want more. They should be more on top of things. Pet hate of mine... And I admit I am being Pedantic... Is when they give you a dessert menu and then leave you for 10 mins. By the time they came to take our order I was off the idea. Having said all that the food is good and not too $$$. Plus we do live 5 mins away so very easy to get to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Iris, Vic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I visited this restaurant in May 2012 with my wife and two other friends.

We all loved the food and wines...all the meals and wines met our expectations - albeit a little more expensive than we thought it may be. The ambience and service was also excellent. The staff were all smiles and could not do enough to please.

If you are looking for a restaurant to go to for a special occasion together with experiencing an 'up-market' first class experience, this restaurant is highly recommended - but it does come at a high cost. Both food and wine were of high quality and were reasonably expensive, but not over priced.

All four of us ordered the Rib Eye for 2 at a cost of A$90. The quality of the meat was excellent...nice and tender, however there was a little too much fat on the Rib Eye portion for my likes. This meant that there was plenty of excess (fat and bone) left on the plate that I could not eat. If the portion of meat had been trimmed of excess fat, I would have given the meal an 'excellent' rating.

The restaurant is recommended to those people who are seeking something special and don't mind the higher cost.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GazzaGlenIris_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ambient & expensive - not great food value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The ambience & service were great, for food value , not good. i ordered Blue Eye and received the smallest portion of fish I have ever eaten,probably about 100grams or the size of a small packet of cigarettes for $38, it was overcooked and quite tasteless.. Question, why are the entrees about the same size as mains? Establishments like this need to realise that the purpose of feeding people is exactly that , to be fed ,not to leave a restaurant hungry.
About time restaurants were more transparent as to what (size) you will be receiving. As for the Suckling Pig - 3 very small medallions of meat (about 2 mouthfulls) I would definately not recommend this establishment as it represents poor food value

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jezzaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church St Enoteca also viewed

Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to Church St Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing