We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, excellent food and a nice walk along the river.”
Review of Fenix Restaurant & Events - CLOSED

Fenix Restaurant & Events
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: Australian, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent food and a nice walk along the river.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had dinner here 10th December and had the $65 per person 3 course menu - but I probably should have just stuck to the 2 course $50 menu as I was too stuffed to eat all of the food. Drinks are about $15 per glass (and upwards). Our total meal bill was $170 and this included 5 drinks.

The food is wonderful and the location is fantastic - right by the Yarra in Richmond. Parking is free (we were handed a free pass by the restaurant staff).

The staff are lovely, very friendly. Food is fantastic and good sized servings (not too big not too small).

I had the Ricotta ravioli entre, Pork ribs on sweet corn main and Chocolate mousse dessert. It was all fantastic.

Hubby had Pork and scallops entre, Tuna main and the cheese plate afterwards.

Very happy and well worth a visit and you can go for a nice long stroll along the river afterwards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    21
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As a group of six, we opted for the $69pp shared menu and we were able to choose 3 entrees, 2 mains, 1 side and 2 desserts. All the dishes were superb and we had so much food we could hardly finish it all! We also tried some of the great cocktails and voted the Ball n Chain as our favourite. The service was excellent, all the staff were very friendly and down to earth. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch format and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having learned of this restaurant through Masterchef, we thought it sounded a relaxed place to visit with local friends for Sunday lunch.
The format for Sunday lunch is a set menu at $55 per person. Dishes are not advertised or known to the diners ahead of it arriving at the table. We thought this would be fun, given good reviews of the food quality and we had checked that the food intolerance of one of us could be handled - as indeed it was, very well and without fuss, two dishes needing to be amended so that this person had her specific serving, rather than sharing with the table.
We all thoroughly enjoyed this meal. It commenced with a cured meats platter with breads, hummus, pickles etc and a lamb cutlet on couscous. This was followed by two mains, one at a time, of fish and light accompaniments, then chicken with roast potatoes and tomatoes. All were simple in preparation and presentation and well cooked. Dessert was individual cheesecakes with a mousse, whilst our dairy-intolerant friend had fresh fruit and sorbet.
Service was excellent. Staff know the food well and are happy to pace the meal as guests require; the result of which was that we lunched over about three hours. So it's a great way to catch up with friends and eat in a relaxed fashion.
I would make just one suggestion for improvement: for people not having done this before, it is impossible to know how many dishes / what quantity of food comprises this set menu, so we were a little reluctant to eat all of the early dishes, as quantities are generous. We would suggest wait staff tell guests that there is an entree platter, two mains and a dessert, without revealing the specific dishes because the unknown menu is part of the fun and enjoyment. That would have been very helpful to our being able to fully enjoy each and every dish. Thanks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parnellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Started me cooking again”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed down the river walk at the Amora hotel for our wedding anniversary. We knew of Fenix from Masterchef and had planned to go there one day but did not realise that it was in the area. We were only in the area for 1 day and it was too late to book dinner by the time we noted its proximity so we checked out the website and found that they were open for breakfast on Saturday

Off we trotted on a sunny morning along the river walk looking forward to trying real eggs benedict – and we were not disappointed. It had to be the best hollandaise sauce that I have ever tasted, so buttery and flavoursome without the oily aftertaste.

The restaurant is nothing too fancy but it has a nice simple menu. We enjoyed it and would definitely go back to try the lunch or dinner menu.

I titled this – “Started me cooking again” because as soon as I got back home I was scouring Gary Mehigan recipes on the net and trying to work out his hollandaise sauce flavour. I could never work out hollondaise before and we went back to disappointing packet sauce. Fenix’s hollandaise has inspired me to try again – I now have a benchmark of flavour happiness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wonderful cocktail wedding”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were the guests of a wedding held up on the top floor of the building.The venue was wonderful and tastefully done, overlooking the Yarra with a outdoor verandah for those who don't like loud music or the smokers. We were greeted by very friendly staff with a drink. Food and drink were offered frequently but the food was very slow to start but then after a few hours came in abundance. Your glass was always topped up if you wished. The food was extremely tasty and very different to the normal cocktail food. As we were from interstate would love to try out the restaurant downstairs next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenix Restaurant & Events also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing