We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Best hotel we stayed in Australia,stayed in more up market hotels ,but all lacking Richmonds friendly and homely feel, a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverpoolloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

My friend checked in for one night in the cheapest type room as he arrived late and wasn't booked into a decent hotel till the next night. It was horrible - prison cells are more luxurious. There were four bunks and it smelt foul, there were no towels provided and you wouldn't want to touch whatever cover was on the beds. The room was way into the back of the hotel with prison cell windows - absolutely awful - you would need to be a drunk student to even think of staying in such conditions. Maybe the more expensive rooms are fine but don't even think of the economy rooms - unless of course you are a very drunk student backpacker!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaMariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Great location. Short walk to trams. Good sized rooms. Comfy large bed. Brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marigold1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Chose this hotel for a business trip, as my work was in Richmond. The hotel is well located for Richmond and transport links; but my immediate impression was of an establishment that was "tired". This was reaffermed with the cool, slightly damp room I was allocated. It was November and I had no means of keeping the warm room (although there was aircon, it only had a cool option).

The room rate was reasonable when compared, so I cannot complain too much.

Was awoken by some fighting animals outsie (might have been flying foxes?) but thats not the hotel's problem.

Generally, staff good and helpful.

A hotel with loads of potential charm, but no atmosphere. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We had two nights at Richmond Hill Hotel in early November. We were looking for a character hotel in this area and it ticked all the boxes. The hotel was originally a YWCA and was built in the mid 1800’s. They have about 60 rooms over two levels of the hotel. The hotel is rambling, old but comfortable and no doubt would have some stories to tell. There is a nice sitting area out front overlooking the street. Inside a fire place was burning and there are comfortable chairs, tea and coffee and reading material. It is what I would call faded, comfortable grandeur. There is also a small bar open at 5pm for a drink.
We found the staff to be helpful. We had to ask a number of ‘stupid’ questions and they patiently answered each time.
The street the hotel is on is Church Street. What a beautiful and interesting street this is. A short walk to the right finds you on Bridge Rd (the outlet shopping street and tram line into the city) – further to the right you pass a lovely park and then find yourself on Victoria Street. Victoria Street is lined with restaurants – particularly Vietnamese – great atmosphere and lots of choice. Also a few quirky little wine bars. If you turn left out of the hotel, Chapel Street starts just a few tram stops down. You can walk through three suburbs of Chapel Street which winds its way down to St Kilda.
The area immediately around Richmond Hill Hotel has historic and beautiful old churches with soaring spires – leafy and picturesque.
As far as the rooms go – we had a room right at the back of the hotel with an ensuite. The room was very basic – but clean enough and two large sash windows to let the breeze in – it is elevated. This room was a long way back through the corridors of the hotel, but was very quiet and private. If I stayed there again I think I would be tempted to put up with a bit of noise and book one of the rooms right at the front which overlooks Church Street. These rooms have a lovely balcony out front. They do have shared bathrooms – so that is something you would have to be prepared to put up with.
In all, the hotel is good value for money. A brilliant location and a piece of Melbourne’s history.
Caroline.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here as the first stop of a 6 month trip. We booked it before we went because we felt that the location and hotel sounded better than the hostels down in St Kilda. How right we were! Lovely looking hotel with great breakfast dining hall. Very friendly and helpful staff, good wireless internet connection (paid separatey), lovely generous breakfast and all for AUS$95 a night.

The economy rooms have shared bathroom facilities and they were always clean and there was never a wait. The travel links to the centre of melbourne were easy and also really easy to travel to St Kilda.

Thoroughly recommended to couples and those who are looking for a nice laid back cheap option. Cool kids might find it a bit quiet.

I couldn't disagree with Travelgirl9004's review more. If your in Melbourne, you can't do much better for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed in room 68 -- on the corner of the hotel. Accommodations are sparse, not at all as described in Fodors book. Windows were broken and would not close all the way. Had to carry rollboards up several sets of stairs -- there is no elevator. The emergency exit door beside our room was broken and wouldn't shut, which made us feel very unsafe. Not enough parking. Felt like a hostel, not a hotel, but cost $180 a night (normally $120 but was more expensive during the Australian Open). Should have had basics such as a bar of soap, bath mat and wash cloths rather than only 2 bath towels and squeeze soap/shampoo inside the shower. The breakfast in the morning, while lots of items, was NOT good.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Travelgirl9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 162 in Melbourne
117 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 162 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#148 of 162 in Melbourne
212 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 162 in Melbourne
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $65 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing