We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed here for one night for work. It's a nice enough hotel, with a guest-house feel to it.

The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom in my room smelt quite bad though, and the wifi isn't free, which I found quite frustrating as it was a lot of money for a basic hotel.

I paid $140 and this would be great value for money if there were 3 people staying in the room, but not for solo travellers. Next time I will stay a little further away from the office and pay the same rate for a 4/5 star hotel instead.

Breakfast is basic but nice and has everything you need. The atmosphere in the group areas is really nice. And the lady on reception as I checked out was extremely helpful and friendly, so an A+ for service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liztiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    101
    38
    16
    12
See reviews for
40
79
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had an unfortunate situation happen to me and I had to stay in Melbourne for an unspecified time. I accidentally found this Hotel and when I explained I didn't have a set check-out date, they were more than accommodating. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. It may have needed a little updating here and there, but overall, everything was great. Transport was just close, shops nearby and quite close to the hospital if you don't mind a short walk. The staff were wonderful, the building warm and inviting on a cold night with fires burning in a parlour and meals area. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

You may not get your own bathroom. But you will get a good breakfast. The rooms are clean , tidy, and the beds are ok. As usual a little harder than your own bed, but that's hotels the world over. You will not be downtown Melbourne. But you won't be paying downtown prices, and there is tram stop virtually outside the front door. Reception is nearly always available and willing to help. Shopping precincts, in Chapel St, and Richmond itself, are but a tram ride or a short walk away, and plenty of options exist for dining out. Pretty handy I would say.

Room Tip: Pick a room witha balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We didn't spend much time in our room. Overall it is small but clean and comfortable (queen with own bathroom). Beds are comfortable. Provides very basic amenities. Few car parks on site. Close to public transport. Price included continental breakfast. Some areas could do with a little work to upgrade the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you are after a budget hotel and don't plan on spending much time in your room, the price of this hotel reflects that. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

the hotel is tired and in need of renovation.
Room was small and clean but very basic.the bathroom was small and lacked any extras e.g.Shampoos etc.
We were kept awake until approx. 2am by noise from other guest rooms which did not stop even after we complained.
If you are looking for a budget hotel this is fine but do not expect too much.
Breakfast appeared to be ok although we didn`t stay for this.
Not top of our list for the future.

Room Tip: Book a room towards the back of the hotel to avoid tram and road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank younggreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I booked a reservation at the Richmond Hill Hotel.
The staff were very polite and friendly. We had no issues with the staff.
The room was very plain and the bed sheets were rough, did not feel very comfortable. In fact, we woke up with sore backs.

We had our own bathroom but it was very simple.

When going for breakfast ( mind you we paid $155 ) we were told that the menu that was shown was in fact not what would be provided.
We were to eat cereal and toast. Although the menu said there would be bacon and eggs and pancakes.

This was a disappointment for the price as we could have paid $99 in the city.

Our view from the window was of another building in which we saw a group of young boys sitting in a room together smoking various narcotics.

Room Tip: We advise that you choose a room with a queen bed and your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyMonchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great location, close to shops and cafes in both Bridge Rd and Swan St. Friendly staff and delicious continental breakfast. Lots of choice with porridge, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, breads and rolls. Serve yourself in the cosy but large dining room. Tastefully decorated with large mirrors and art deco tourism posters that overlooks the front garden. I booked into a double with share bathroom facilities. The room came with tea-making facilities and a tiny TV. It was the smallest western style room I have ever stayed in but it was again tastefully decorated if somewhat tired and in need of new paint. Bathrooms were basic and in need of a spruce too. That said, it's good value for the location and the breakfast. I will definitely stay here again. The peaceful front garden is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_immersed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 160 in Melbourne
209 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 160 in Melbourne
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing