We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you need to stay in Richmond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed in one of the budget rooms with shared bathroom - the room was very basic and pretty dreary (not aided by the choice of paint - perhaps its meant to be a heritage colour??). But the bed was comfortable. The shared bathrooms, whilst nothing to get excited about are clean and functional, albeit a bit small. Staff were pleasant. No lift so keep that in mind if you think you will have trouble getting up a flight of stairs. The lobby is reminiscent of a country homestead - wood fire in the salon and an acceptable continental breakfast was served. If I needed to stay in Richmond I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Trams and cars run along busy Church street. If you're a light sleeper consider asking for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YanniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here recently on a trip to Melbourne. So handy and close to everything. Rooms are older style but very clean. The owners were friendly and helpful with directions. Breakfast not flash but more than adequate. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed for a night in a twin room, with a shared bathroom down the hall. We were delighted with the room - small but quite old world, with nice touches such as a bottle of water. Clean, too, as were the shared bathrooms. Despite it being Easter, and thus a full house, the place was quiet, and bathrooms were plentiful so we didn't have to wait. The included continental breakfast was impressive, with brewed coffee and plenty of choice. A great value hotel in a good location. If you are after modern decor then this won't suit you - the hotel appears to be cobbled together from a row if Victorian terrace houses.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PobblebonkOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First impressions of the rooms are underwhelming
they are small by Australasian standards and finding your room can be a challenge but the hotel is friendly and convenient and it grows on you. Good continental breakfasts and close to everything so we will stay there again .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veiutotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in a single room for two nights with a shared bathroom. Continental breakfast was satisfactory. I wish they had hooks in the bathroom to hang your towel found this very annoying.Room not flash but adequate. Did not know how to turn the tv on as it had a set top box which I had never seen before but staff were willing to come up to my room and help me turn it on. Close to city and Chapel Street. Parking was very tricky and there were limited spaces. If you parked behind another car you needed to leave keys at the reception. I was not keen on doing this as I had a hired car. Found a park on the street. Church Street is a very busy road but did not hear any traffic noise. This Hotel is not new but has an old charm about it. Staff very friendly and for a night or two its fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sax10Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you go to Melbourne, from say the UK, expect to pay about twice what you would in the UK, for pretty much everything (eg city centre beer price is a remarkable £8 a pint!). Given that, the hotel provides good value. I stayed 6 nights, in 2 different rooms, and paid just under £100 a night. True the building was a bit tired, and the gardens at the front certainly could have done with some attention, but the rooms I had (one up from the basic level) were more than adequate. Indeed all the 'machinery' - TV, shower, A/C, lighting - was pretty new and worked without a hitch. And the rooms were spacious enough.

Breakfast was fine, with a wide range of breads, though only really in the 'continental' category. Usually I sat outside at the front of the building, which was also pleasant.

Hotel is in a moderately quiet semi-suburban location, but with good links to the city and St Kilda from trains and trams. I chose for proximity to the real tennis club, 10-15 mins walk away.
Parking looked a bit cramped, though I didn't have a car.

Staff were very helpful and informative.

Wifi, free on my room deal, gets about 7 out of 10. Fair speed, but failed a couple of times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sno878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Friendly enough staff and the location is not too bad either. It is a very old hotel in need of a big renovation. My room did not have air con or a safe and the wardrobe was an open hanger unit. there is a bar down stairs and breakfast was included,
There is limited parking so get in first. The guest lounge is nice and relaxing. This place does not have a lot to offer and it is quite worn, but for the price it is okay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an en-suite or else you share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 162 in Melbourne
117 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 162 in Melbourne
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#148 of 162 in Melbourne
213 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 162 in Melbourne
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $65 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing